Another traditional Christmas recipe.

One of the things my family looks forward to each Christmas morning, before we open presents, is breakfast with hot coca and my Sour Cream Twists. Its a recipe I got from my mother, who got it from her mother. They take a little work, but are well worth the effort!

Recipe below the fold..

SOUR CREAM TWISTS

3 – 1/2 c. flour
1 tsp. salt
1.3 c. shortening
1/3 c. butter
1 package yeast
1/4 c. warm water
chopped walnuts
3/4 c. sour cream
1 egg (whole) + 2 egg yolks, well beaten
1 tsp. vanilla
1 c. sugar
1 – 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Sift flour and salt. Cut in shortening and butter. Dissolve yeast in the warm water. Stir into flour along with sour cream, beaten eggs and vanilla. Mix well.

Cover and chill 2 hours or longer. Mix the cinnamon and sugar; sprinkle part on a board. Roll out half the dough into an 8 x 16″ rectangle. Fold into thirds. Sprinkle with more cinnamon, sugar, mixture and roll into 8 x 16″ rectangle. Pat on 1 T. chopped walnuts and fold into thirds again.

Roll out to 8″ (height) x 10″ (wide) rectangle. Pat on 1 T. chopped walnuts.

Cut into 1″ x 4″ strips (slice in half side to side, then ten equal slices up and down = 40 strips). Dip in cinnamon and sugar mixture and twist. Put on cookie sheet. I usually let them sit for a few minutes before I stick it in the oven.

Bake at 375 degrees for 15 minutes.

Repeat with second half of the dough. Makes 40 twists (I usually double the recipe and freeze some in Ziplock freezer bags. Freezes well.)

Very yummy!

Photo by krisdecurtis. Used with permission.
6 thoughts on “Another traditional Christmas recipe.

  1. These sound very yummy. I’ll ask my youngest daughter is she would like to try making these when she visits next week. She loves to bake and she is really good at it.

  2. Muse (this is an aardvark alert which means it’s needs an answer only from you) – do I need to let the yeast sit in the warm water for any length of time before adding it to the rest the of ingredients?

    I made up the part about an aardvark alert.

  3. I do. I put a pinch of sugar in the warm water and then the yeast. I let it “blossom” (or whatever you call it..). Then I add it to the other stuff.
    It never said that in the recipe I got from my mom, but I just started doing it that way anyway.

Comments are closed.