The Panderer

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

This could apply to almost any politician running for office, but I’m sure that some of you out there will see one of the current presidential candidates in it. John McCain being the most obvious, of course. (What do you expect? I’m a Liberal!) It’s to the tune of the famous Dion classic, “The Wanderer”. I hope you enjoy it.

I want to thank my wife, Jane, for her help with some of the words. And I want to thank my friend and fellow Critter, Nwmuse, of The Zoo, for the suggestion.

By the way, I don’t know who came up with the idea for the video, but it sort of connects.

The Panderer

Original Words and Music by Ernest Peter Maresca, 1961
Additional lyrics by Wayne A. Schneider, 2008

Oh, well mine’s the type of lie that will make you settle down
Where voting people are, well you know that I’m around
I need ‘em so I feed ‘em cause to me it’s all a game
I huck ‘em and I jive ‘em, I don’t even know their names
They call me the Panderer – yeah – the Panderer
I pander round around around around

Oh well there’s Libs on my left side and there’s Conserves on my right
Dishonesty’s the girl, that I’ll be with tonight
And when they ask me which lie I loved the best
I tear open my coat and show a Flag Pin on my chest
‘Cause I’m the Panderer – yeah the Panderer
I pander round around around around

Oh, well I roam from town to town
Make a promise without a care
And I pander like a clown
With my two-fisted lies so old and thread-bare

Oh, I’m the type of guy who likes to please a crowd
I lie right to their face, I hope that it’s allowed
And when I find myself failin’ for some words
Yeah, I pop right open that mouth of mine, I fling around some turds
Yeah, I’m the Panderer, yeah a Panderer
I pander round around around around
Let me go

Oh, I’m the type of guy who likes to please a crowd
I lie right to their face, I hope that it’s allowed
And when I find myself failin’ for some words
Yeah, I pop right open that mouth of mine, I fling around some turds
‘Cause I’m a Panderer, yeah a Panderer
I pander round around around around
‘Cause I’m a Panderer, yeah a Panderer
I pander round around around around
‘Cause I’m a Panderer….

9 thoughts on “The Panderer

  1. “And when they ask me which lie I loved the best
    I tear open my coat and show a Flag Pin on my chest”

    Oh, Wayne, that was just priceless. I doff my hat to you, my friend.

  2. I love all your parodies, Wayne, but this one is my most favorite — so far.

    Like Gorn, I really like the flag pin part. :)

  3. Thanks, everyone. I, too, was quite pleased when the “flag pin” part came to mind. It fit the theme fo the song nicely.

    And if you enjoyed that one, there’s another one up on my Brain. It’s about how we’re heading toward the same false justifications for war that we heard before. Enjoy “Intel Paranoia”.

  4. Wow, Wayne – this is fantastic. I’m hooking up a link at Pa 4 change. This should be over at C&L. It’s one of your best. Thanks for sharing. You have quite a talent.

  5. Pingback: The Panderer… « Pennsylvania for Change

  6. Wow! You are amazing Wayne….This one is the best..Blessings…Cable going in 3….2…..1.

  7. Thank you all. I have often said that I don’t feel I’m a good judge of my parodies, but I think if you check out the two links below, you might find some others that you like even more. The first link is to the parodies on my old blog, and the second is to the parodies on my new blog, some of which I copied over from the old one.

    I hope everyone will find something they like. And don’t forget, you can bookmark those pages once you get there and you’ll be able to find the parodies quicker the next time. Thanks. Enjoy.

    http://pickwaynesbrain.blogspot.com/search/label/parody

    http://pickwaynesbrain.wordpress.com/category/parody/

Comments are closed.