McCain’s Fighting Words

Last night, during John McCain’s Not-Too-Subtle Call to Arms acceptance speech, a speech that lasted less than 50 minutes, John McCain used the word Fight or Fighting or Fought a whopping 32 times.

Below, I show you every instance of John McCain’s willingness and desire to fight, fight, fight.

In my life, no success has come without a good fight, and this nomination wasn’t any different.

All you ever asked of government is to stand on your side, not in your way. And that’s just what I intend to do: stand on your side and fight for your future.

I’ve fought corruption, and it didn’t matter if the culprits were Democrats or Republicans. They violated their public trust, and had to be held accountable. I’ve fought big spenders in both parties, who waste your money on things you neither need nor want, while you struggle to buy groceries, fill your gas tank and make your mortgage payment. I’ve fought to get million dollar checks out of our elections. I’ve fought lobbyists who stole from Indian tribes. I fought crooked deals in the Pentagon. I fought tobacco companies and trial lawyers, drug companies and union bosses.

I fought for the right strategy and more troops in Iraq, when it wasn’t a popular thing to do. And when the pundits said my campaign was finished, I said I’d rather lose an election than see my country lose a war.

I don’t mind a good fight. For reasons known only to God, I’ve had quite a few tough ones in my life. But I learned an important lesson along the way. In the end, it matters less that you can fight. What you fight for is the real test.

I fight for Americans. I fight for you. I fight for Bill and Sue Nebe from Farmington Hills, Michigan, who lost their real estate investments in the bad housing market.

I fight for Jake and Toni Wimmer of Franklin County, Pennsylvania.

I fight for the family of Matthew Stanley of Wolfboro,

I fight to restore the pride and principles of our party.

Instead of rejecting good ideas because we didn’t think of them first, let’s use the best ideas from both sides. Instead of fighting over who gets the credit, let’s try sharing it.

On an October morning, in the Gulf of Tonkin, I prepared for my 23rd mission over North Vietnam. I hadn’t any worry I wouldn’t come back safe and sound. I thought I was tougher than anyone. I was pretty independent then, too. I liked to bend a few rules, and pick a few fights for the fun of it.

When they brought me back to my cell, I was hurt and ashamed, and I didn’t know how I could face my fellow prisoners. The good man in the cell next door, my friend, Bob Craner, saved me. Through taps on a wall he told me I had fought as hard as I could. No man can always stand alone. And then he told me to get back up and fight again for our country and for the men I had the honor to serve with. Because every day they fought for me.

I fell in love with my country when I was a prisoner in someone else’s. … I loved it because it was not just a place, but an idea, a cause worth fighting for.

And I will fight for her for as long as I draw breath, so help me God.

I’m going to fight for my cause every day as your President. I’m going to fight to make sure every American has every reason to thank God, as I thank Him: that I’m an American, a proud citizen of the greatest country on earth, and with hard work, strong faith and a little courage, great things are always within our reach. Fight with me. Fight with me.

Fight for what’s right for our country.

Fight for the ideals and character of a free people.

Fight for our children’s future.

Fight for justice and opportunity for all.

Stand up, stand up, stand up and fight.

I don’t know about you, but I have had enough fighting over the last five plus years.

I want a president who values reason and detante.  I want a president who understands that the economy isn’t a fight to be won, but a dynamically changing, living and breathing component of our country’s sustainance.  I want a president who know that our health is one of the core pieces of America, that it impacts every aspect of our ability to achieve.  Without healthy people, you cannot have a healthy economy, life, or ability to succeed; in other words a healthy America.

I want a president who understands that fighting is a last resort, one which is used to protect imminent and verifyable threats to our nation.  I want a president who doesn’t resort to fighting first and reexamining later.  I want a president who gets it.

I do not want a president who uses fighting for each and every situation presented him (or her). This isn’t the World Wrestling Entertainment, it is a country, this is America.

And I am sorry Senator McCain,  I do not want you.

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

3 thoughts on “McCain’s Fighting Words

  1. MsJ, I agree.

    As I have stated many times before, John McCain is still fighting the Vietnam War. He feels like he missed out on his chance to fight because he was locked up for 5 years and when he returned home, the war was over. It never ended for John McCain.

  2. Bellicose & Belligerant. McIIIrd, the more wars presidential candidate. Truly, the PTSD candidate.

Comments are closed.