Friday Open Thread

Merchant Banker: [on phone] Hello? Ah, Mr. Victim, yes, I’m glad to say I’ve got the go-ahead to lend you the money you require, yes. Uh, we will, of course, need as security the deeds to your house, of your aunt’s house, of your second cousin’s house, of your wife’s parents’ house, and of your granny’s bungalow – and we will, in addition, need a controlling interest in your new company, uh, unrestricted access to your private bank account, the deposit into our vaults of your three children as hostages, and a full legal indemnity against any acts of embezzlement carried out by any members of our staff during the normal course of their duties.

Monty Python’s Flying Circus


Note: Join us here for open discussion of any topic. See other threads below to join in on new topical discussions.

33 thoughts on “Friday Open Thread

  1. I’ll take wheat RUCerious, Oso and I are having our’s toasted with butter as usual….LOL..Blessings

  2. Article in today’s cnn.com:

    “Bush calls for confidence”

    Yes, in a time of crisis, who instills more confidence than George W. Bush?

    Don’t know if I should laugh or cry.

  3. gorn ~ remember when he as bragging about spending his political capital after a 50.8% election victory?
    How much capital doesn’t he have left?

  4. Anybody remember this skit on SNL prior to the 2000 election?

    http://www.dailykos.com/story/2008/9/23/224051/159

    I remember watching it back then and chuckling at how it reflected my fears about the outcome of a potential Dubya presidency, but at the time I didn’t think he would actually win.

    It is incredible and scary how visionary this skit was, right down to Dubya’s complaint about things being “hard”, war, domestic destruction, economic collapse, civil division, and even a hunting accident involving Dick Cheney (though reversed!)

    Dubya’s proposed solution? Ostrich meat.

    How did they know that all hell would break loose only months into Dubya’s tenure? Burning buildings, war, flooded cities, environmental crisis, financial calamity, divisive civil and political climate, and even a hunting accident. Life imitates art.

    Once again, do I laugh or cry?

  5. That was good, Gorn. I didn’t see the original one. The writers were certainly correct in their thinking. OMG… Obama MUST win. With shoot first, maybe think later McCain close to the nuke button and Sarah “End of Days” Palin near the nuke button, I’m afraid it will be all over for this country if McAnger wins.

  6. Why doesn’t CNN have on the screen: Breaking News- Palin investigation report due any minute?

    At Mudflats they have been waiting since 9:15 am Alaska time, (10:15am Zoo time, “Drumming fingers on desk….looking at clock….drinking coffee…”

    First post from the thread:
    upnorth minnesota aka hose Hussein hotrod (09:21:07) :
    “what’s that sound? 1000’s of mudflatter’s fingers drumming in anticipation.”

    Are we not all mudflatters today?

  7. From Mudflats:

    derDunkelRover (12:06:36) :
    “From Alaska Daily News Blog
    Update 12 noon Kyle reports the Sen. Kim Elton, D-Juneau and the Legislative Council chairman, stepped outside for a bathroom break and was asked how it was going inside. “I’m not going to characterize it,” he said. “I’m tempted to, but I won’t.” None of the others coming and going from the room have had anything to say.

    Then Jeff Turner, an aide to the Senate majority, came out and said it would be at least another hour until any official word emerges from within.”

    and:
    mudslide pike (12:07:32) :
    “There are two reports. The 262 page for the public and the second over double the size with all the personal information. They will be releasing the 262 pager soon.”

    We should be getting the word very soon!

  8. This from a commenter at Crooks and Liars:

    I am a teacher in California and today I received this email:
    The McCain 2008 Campaign in Santa Clara County is offering an educational program targeted for motivated high school students. Can you please distribute the attached information to your students? Election Day is coming up and Absentee ballots have already been mailed, so we appreciate any efforts to distribute this information quickly! Deadline to apply is Oct 16. Students do not have to be able to vote to participate.

    Thanks so much for your help!

    Clay Schluchter
    High School Student Coordinator
    Santa Clara County – McCain 2008
    clay_schluchter@yahoo.com
    650 380 4036

    Santa Clara County Republican Party
    522 N. Monroe Street
    San Jose, CA 95128

    http://www.svgop.com/

    This came through my district email account. I cannot believe that they want me to use my class time to recruit students for a candidate that will destroy public education.
    I say lets flood his email with responses.
    clay_schluchter@yahoo.com

    Nice.

  9. Monty Python is never outdated. Their work transcends time because people never change. They influence my work to this day. I definitely see the MP’s humor as relevant to the antics of the current squad of inept bankers and politicians.

  10. MsJ, you know how kids like to rebel from their parents’ beliefs. On the other hand, don’t be surprised if the sun comes up in the west for awhile…

  11. More on the ACORN story I put up links to in the early on yesterday’s Open Thread:
    From Mudflats commenter Hockey Puck Moose Pucky “THAT ONE” HUSSEIN (13:14:52) :

    http://www.dailykos.com/story/2008/10/10/75639/882/410/626072

    Explains some of the reasons why the bogus registrations HAD to be turned in, even if ACORN suspected they were fake.
    Anybody here is welcome to pick up where I left off, and turn this into a thread. I’ll catch up after work.

  12. I got my ballot in the mail today. I’m voting tonight.

    Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeessssssssssss we will…

  13. “County elections officials tell the newspaper that it was a typo that made it by three rounds of proof-readers. They also said the error affected just a few hundred voters, and that they will re-send corrected ballots on request.”

    You kidding me? If I were a proof reader on those ballots, the first thing I’d do is check the names and parties for the presidential tickets. Three rounds missed it? That defies belief.

    BTW, I also notice that McCain is on that ballot twice. He’s listed both as the Republican candidate and the Independent candidate. Odd. I guess it’s cause he’s such a maverick he doesn’t know which party he is heading.

  14. gorn, will you liveblog that? :D

    I am going to log off now, Tired and a long day tomorrow and Sunday. Keep up the good work all and see you on Monday!

    Joanne, I try and call Monday!

    Good Night!

  15. Live blog my ballot? I think that would put everyone asleep. Remember that I live in California, Land of Propositions. Our ballot is longer than John McCain’s medical file, and with about as many warts and festering pustules.

  16. gorn, well recently someone had a pic of his ballot submitted to reddit. For Obama.

    house, you got me thinking and I’m a slow thinker as you can see by the days I have let go by until the post, but you definitely got me thinking. That post is yours.

  17. Gorn, I was hearing about some voter registration forms that were incorrect, having the SS# and driver’s license # in the wrong fields, resulting in a rejected registration. I can’t remember if it was a caller on Hartmann or a guest, but I heard it.

    If McCain was on the ballot for two different parties, they couldn’t combine the totals as votes for one candidate. That could result in votes thrown out for McCain.

  18. A comment from someone on another board about Sarah’s alleged SAT score report:

    ‘Her best language is “Authentic Frontier Jibberish”.’

    I thought that was pretty funny, ubetcha. Reference to Blazing Saddles.

  19. neoke 17 – I got your request for The Pretender up. Enjoy and have a great night!!

Comments are closed.