I Have A Dream That Our Time For Change Has Come

As I watched the historical event of Barack Obama become President last night, the first thing that came to mind is Martin Luther King Jr.’s speech “I have a dream.”

I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: “We hold these truths to be self-evident: that all men are created equal.” I have a dream that my four children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character. I have a dream today.

Though I can only appreciate this speech from watching old films; I was just as moved last night, as I was the first time I watched Martin Luther King Jr. deliver this heartfelt speech.┬áIt brings me great hope, that as a nation, we have once again proved, we can live up to our ideals. That we can achieve the dream that Martin Luther King Jr. and so many others – who have fought so valiantly – envisioned that our country could be.

Change will not be easy for some people; but this is exactly what needs to happen in this country, in order to get back to the principles and accountability that the majority of us have missed. Where the likes of George Bush and the Karl Roves’, are not tolerated, they are sent to jail for their illegal crimes.

Lastly, to all the hundreds of thousands of volunteers that made this dream come true, you have my deepest gratitude for all of your hard work and effort. Without you and all the grassroots campaigns, this would not have been a reality. You have proved that anything is possible once again, in this land of opportunity. In the immortal words of John F. Kennedy, “We have the power to make this the best generation of mankind in the history of the world.”

11 thoughts on “I Have A Dream That Our Time For Change Has Come

  1. I haven’t been able to stop crying tears of joy. Many of the international papers last night prominently displayed our election. I also read their editorials that proclaimed Obama is the hope of the world. I am going to leave it at that for now because I am tearing up again and I suspect I am going to be posting all day!

    YES WE CAN – YES WE DID!!!!!!!

  2. I Can’t remember just when or where but think Robert Kennedy some time in 68 predicted that in 40 year’s we may see a black man as president……The time finelly came…Blessings

  3. Good Morning beatingdrum :) I have a headache this morning I have cried so much. I went through a half a box of kleenexs.

    I have been tearing up all morning also. We have all waited for this day and I think most of us were so worried about election fraud that added to the emotional roller-coaster we have been on.

    It is so good to see you :) Have a wonderful day..

  4. Good Morning witch1 :) This has been an incredible 24 hours I’m never going to forget.

    I’m so happy that my daughter’s first Presidential election to vote was this one. She will grow up in a world much different than the one we have witnessed. Not only can a woman run for President, but any American can run for that office also no matter what his skin color is.

    The endless possibilities now, give me great hope that we can fix most of the problems that have been created over the last eight years.

  5. Good Morning Lady Freedom, Know you are much younger than I am but imagine if you will I was like your daughter when I voted for JFK.. I have come full circle to finelly see what we worked for along with MLK to achive this day so long ago…

    I don’t know about everyone else but I am drained and also peaceful today..Drained because I stayed up nearly all night to watch our history being made and peaceful because I see there is hope the war’s will end and all can be righted….

    My buddies will be out some time this week to fish and I imagine there will be much talk of what can now be done…I called Kat’s last night shouting to NH and all who would listen, the dark miserable hold on our live’s will soon be over…My work continues to the full moon, shining light on Truth and Peace…Have a wonderful day, Thank you for all the work you do…..P.B. & J.

  6. Thanks witch1 :) I’m tired also, in fact, completely worn out. I stayed up last night also. Rest is in order for today.

    Peaceful is the perfect word witch1, that is how I feel now..

  7. Good morning Freedomrebel! How does it feel to live in a blue state? At least I can say I live in a blue House district, Alabama 5th went to our Democrat running to replace a retiring Democrat, so all is not dim. And I’m now a 39 percenter instead of a 35!

  8. Good afternoon House of Roberts :) I had to go rest for awhile, I couldn’t get rid of this bad headache.

    It feels wonderful to live in a blue state again. That is great news House.. We are getting more democratic strongholds here, because of the high job losses this state has sustained. Recently, we lost another 800 jobs in the Dayton area, which is usually GOP country. They have changed their mind now.

  9. You’ve earned a break, FR, just take it easy ’til you feel up to doing things. Sorry your head hurts. I’m just now better from my fall bout with sinus, things are picking up at work, as usual.

    Echoing Shayne on ‘Cats and PA, great job!

Comments are closed.