Don’t hummingbirds fly south?

Apparently not…

I have had to keep bringing in the feeder and running it under warm water to thaw it out so the poor bird doesn’t starve..

It has stayed in this tree throughout the last three days of snow and ice storms, only leaving the branches to feed at my patio. I am glad the weather is about to warm up.

This was from three days ago:

This guy had black under his beak and gray on his chest, and maroon red on top of its head.

UPDATE: The green one is back.. (Plus, things are starting to thaw out).

Wow! Here is yet another player… Entire head is red.

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

14 thoughts on “Don’t hummingbirds fly south?

  1. Thank you for sharing photo’s of your little feathered friend Lady Muse…Is it always alone .?..All the bird’s here have been feasting at my feeder’s this winter..Going through more food than usual because of the cold weather….No humming bird’s though…Blessings

  2. What type of hummingbird is this? We don’t see this particular bird on the east coast. It does look a little like a wren of some type but I can’t be sure from the pictures.

  3. Cats, there have actually been two hummingbirds, though by yesterday there was only one.

    The first was all green with a little black. The second (in the photo) was gray, some black, and red on the top of its head.

    I just ran and opened the blinds, and the green one was back and sitting on the feeder. I may have to run snag another picture and add it to this post.

  4. Wow! Lady Muse, I wonder if these are youngster’s that missed the migration…Have my bird book out but not sure what they are…Size, bill size and other marking’s along with male or female typing…Cute little bird’s….Blessings

  5. Lady Muse, do’s the one with the fuschia head have a green throat, if so it may be a Rivolis male..They are a little bigger than some other’s…The green or other one could be his mate…Just a guess from my book…Blessings

  6. Any light color on the breast or red below the eye’s Lady Muse.? You might be able to identify on one of the bird site’s….Think Walt and a couple of the guy’s that post are better at the bird stuff than I am..I mostly enjoy and can pick out the common one’s.. Blessings

  7. Sometimes they won’t fly south, especially if they have a food source.

    When I used to feed the hummers, I’d take in the feeders at the end of summer.

    Yours must be pretty hardy, muse!

  8. Wow, I just got here and I will need some time as I have the luck of a single eastern species whereas you folks have a bunch each unique in their own ways. I agree that feeders should be maintained in accordance with the basic ecology of birds and in many parts bears as well. Hummers in general are suprisingly robust in their ability to stay late and arrival earlier. Once I know what species you have I will be able to say more

  9. I would suggest based on your location that your green one and your red headed one are male and female Anna’s hummingbirds. As to the black chinned fellow well maybe he is a black chinned hummingbird. I am not real familiar with that species so I will have to look into it…

  10. Actually I think that black gorget individual may just be the other Anna’s male morph. I suppose it is possible that it a longshot Costa’s but I think the “eyebrow” would show in the pic. Whereas Anna’s is a year round resident in the NW coastal lowlands I am sticking with that

Comments are closed.