Chuck Todd: Arrogant Washington Elitist

When I was watching Obama speak last night, the first second* question presented to the president was by Chuck Todd, the White House Correspondent from NBC.

For those who cannot watch video’s, this was Chuck’s question:

Some have compared this financial crisis to a war and in times of war past Presidents have called for some form of sacrifice. Some of your programs whether main street or Wall Street have actually cushioned the blow for those that were irresponsible during this economic period of prosperity, supposed prosperity that you were talking about. Why, given this new era of responsibility that you’re asking for why haven’t you asked for something specific that the public should be sacrificing to participate in this economic recovery?

I thought I had heard him wrong.  No, I thought I had to have heard him wrong!  Alas, I heard what I thought I had heard.

Further:

When the president responded by pointing all of the many ways in which Americans are already sacrificing in the midst of an economic crisis, Todd wasn’t satisfied. In a follow up, the NBC White House correspondent asked why Obama has called on “specific” sacrifices from Americans. And again, the president explained, “[T]he American people are making a host of sacrifices in their individual lives.”

I’d write my own response to this, but since John Amato said said exactly what I was thinking, I will use his outrage instead:

Typical Villager question. No normal person would ask for the American people to suffer and make additional sacrifices through a period where their wages have declined, job losses are skyrocketing and health-care costs are astronomical. These inside-the-Beltway pundits seem to talk to each other rather than for us. It’s like we don’t exist to them. They all seem to live in Broder’s universe, and we’re mice in a cage waiting for some scraps. I’d like to know what the press corps would sacrifice if the president asked them for one.

American’s are sacrificing in every aspect of our being every day of our lives. Unless you’re an American who lives in Chuck Todd’s world.

*Correction. Todd was the 2nd person to ask a question of Obama last night.

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

13 thoughts on “Chuck Todd: Arrogant Washington Elitist

  1. Chucky was looking for a specific chunk of red meat that could be tossed to his fellow sharks. Evidently the strawman business is being hit as well.

    • You know, I am honestly starting to think that these clowns are so far inside the bubble that they actually believe what they say. When they report 500,000 jobs being lost they see jobs and not people who had those jobs. When they talk about economy, it is only the markets, and the things which affect them, and not the things that are affecting MILLIONS of people across the nation (and around the world).

      I didn’t think they were that tone deaf. I thought it was selective hearing. But I am really starting to think they are that clueless.

      And that is an even sadder state for this country.

  2. Well, GWB made us sacrifice by telling us to go shopping. ;)

    I think Chuck Todd should sacrifice for his country by giving up his job.

  3. Bless you, MsJoanne, for having a good heart but I don’t think they are clueless. They are nicely functioning sociopaths, something this country has been breeding for decades. They live in their I/Not I world where selfish is the credo. If it is beneficial to me in any way, it is good. If it isn’t, it is either evil or unimportant.

  4. They had no balls when it came to questioning Bush. Now they think they’ll be tough on Obama. The problem is they are dull from giving Bush a pass. Obama is formidable and is able to answer their best without breaking a sweat (although, Helen Thomas could probably give him a run for his money.) His bitch slap of Henry is case in point.

  5. Chuck should have gone after Congress to tighten their belts. Their recent congressional pay raise of $4,700 is more of an increase than the average worker will see for a very long time. Our legislators take home $169,300 a year now, Chuck could have asked what kind of justification is there for taking a pay raise in the middle of the worst recession we have seen in recent history. That would have been a more prudent question.

    • Now THAT would have been a damned good question.

      Unfortunately, I think few that were in the hall last night make less than what the congresscritters make, so it is a complete non issue to them. And those that do make less, well, they had other things on their mind (e.g., Stars and Stripes).

    • FR, thanks! Forgive the little mutual admiration society I am about to indulge in, but damn, it is good to see your pixels back around here. Your posts were sorely missed. I totally love every post you write!

  6. Thank you so much MsJ =) Life has been terribly complicated, that is the short version…

    Back at ya! I just wish I had time to comment on everything you write. I love it when you give them hell!!!

  7. The rich man in the temple boasted about how much he gave, while the poor widow gave all she had.

    Republicans would ask the widow to sacrifice even more and shower her sacrifice upon the rich man.

  8. “Some have compared this financial crisis to a war ….”

    —and by some I mean me, just now, and because I’m pretty sure around 4,500 wall street traders have been killed in your War on Wall Street—

    “…and in times of war past Presidents have called for some form of sacrifice.”

    –like in WWII, when we fought the DAX and the Nikkei, and stormed the beaches of Normandy to liberate the CAC—

    “Some of your programs whether main street or Wall Street have actually cushioned the blow for those that were irresponsible…”

    –by which I mean the home-less-owners–

    “…during this economic period of prosperity, supposed prosperity that you were talking about. Why, given this new era of responsibility that you’re asking for why haven’t you asked for something specific that the public should be sacrificing to participate in this economic recovery?”

    –Why haven’t you asked all the union workers and burger flippers and carpenters and delivery people to give up their executive jets and all those bonuses and their offshore tax havens?
    Why is it only Wall Street bankers and traders who are sacrificing and suffering? In Gods’ name, man, WHY?!!

  9. BTW, MsJoanne, Ed Henry should be included in
    interview with the president).”

    Ed Henry, (who looks like the lead contralto of a Glee Club) was the one who asked Obama why it had taken him two days to comment on the AIG bonuses (of about 10 days ago?) to which Obama replied “Because I like to know what I’m talking about before I say anything”.

    Despite being bitchslapped by one of the most popular presidents in US history, Ed seems to think he just earned a campaign medal and he’s just written a breathless movie treatment of his ‘story’ for the CNN website:

    HENRY: “I was heading into this event with the same strategy: make news on something unexpected (I won’t tell you which topics I was working on cause it would ruin the surprise for a future presser or interview with the president).”

    (Great preamble, Ed! So your mission, your duty as a reporter, was to ,i>make news?
    And your strategy is to compile what you think are relevant questions about week-old news? The old “element of surprise” gambit, eh? )

    AS HENRY IMAGINES IT: –The Corps was nervous, cigarettes were shared as a silent bond, each man knowing it might be his last.
    We had our orders, but as wet behind the ears Lieutenant I was eager to make my mark if HQ’s strategy didn’t pan out.
    I had some plans of my own, but I kept them under my hat…er… helmet hoping to God and Betty Grable I wouldn’t have to use them.
    A dog barked in the foggy distance. The low nervous chatter was silenced, the only noises now were the sounds of final weapons checks and last minute twitters and e-mails being pounded out on Blackberries. And then I just waited, for the signal I though would never come…—

    HENRY: “The pressure was on now because the president had called on me. Someone handed me a microphone, millions were watching, and it’s scary to think about changing topic in a split second because you might get flustered and screw up.”

    (OMG! OMG! I can’t believe it! He’s right there! OMG!)

    AS ED HENRY IMAGINES IT:

    “I saw Sgt. Chuck Todd tossed like a rag doll by a Panzerfaust, his leg blown off, but he was still alive, calling out for his booking agent. He talked a lot about sacrifice, and now he’d made a sacrifice of his own. But he was a fighter, and somehow I knew his contract wasn’t up yet.
    But it was up to me to lead the Corps now.

    Someone handed me a Garand, it was still warm from whoever gave it up—if I survived I’d have to take that soldiers’ press pass from around his neck and deliver it to his parents who probably still lived inside the Beltway.
    The awesome responsibility that had suddenly fallen on me was terrifying for a split second and I hoped my cameramen had zoomed-in enough to capture the emotions playing across my youthful face as I grappled with moment.

    And then I sprang my secret plan!

    HENRY: “So I waited patiently and then decided to pounce with a sharp follow-up. From just a few feet away, I could see in his body language that the normally calm and cool president was perturbed.
    But it’s in moments like that, we sometimes find out what’s really on a president’s mind. In this case, he’s not happy about the scrutiny on AIG. So he did slap me down a bit. “

    AS ED IMAGINES IT: “I’d seen the Obergruppenfuhrer stagger from my shot, and with him out of action the resistance seemed to collapse.
    But I had to make sure and I ran forward with just one round left. Just as I reached him I saw his body language suggest that he was pulling out his 9mm Walther.
    Instinctively I fired straight ahead! But it’s in moments like that you discover that when a rifle is pointed downwards, shooting straight ahead means shooting yourself in the foot.
    With a steady gaze the Obergruppenfhrer fired, right between my eyes.

    The bullet passed right though my skull, but missed all my major organs!
    Before I could reload the Obergruppenfuhrer was gone and the fight was over.
    Doc “Wolf “ Blitzer stuffed a rag into the empty space in my head and declared me fit to write this thrilling combat report, all about me.

    Sure the liberal press called the engagement boring, but they weren’t there, they just watched live on their TeeVees.
    But I’ll never forget that day, and the sacrifices Chuck Todd talked about, and I don’t intend to let anyone else forget that day either!
    After all it was the reason I joined the Washington Press Corps in the first place—to make news!

    After all isn’t that what all of us in the 1600th Pennsylvania Avenue ‘Fighting TV Journalists’ are fighting for–the freedom to take the freedom we take for granted , for granted? And a better contract?

    .

Comments are closed.