Give me liberty, or give me… Huh..?

My Saturday morning ‘WTF’ moment.. I am starting to look forward to hearing this lady speak, only because I can’t wait to hear what insane thing she will come up with next. I keep expecting men in white coats to come up behind her and lead her away while she laughs hysterically.. Too funny.

And they’re coming to take me away Ha Ha
They’re coming to take me away ho ho he he ha ha

It’s actually kinda scary to consider there is anyone like Bachmann in Congress charged with the responsibility of legislating.

Raw Story:

Rep. Michele Bachmann says that because of a new energy bill “the federal government will virtually have control over every aspect of lives for the American people.”

11 thoughts on “Give me liberty, or give me… Huh..?

  1. I can’t figure out if she honestly believes what is coming out of her mouth, or she has figured out that the only way anyone pays any attention to anything she says is when she comes out with something totally outrageous.. Then she gets ALL kinds of attention and press..

  2. I don’t know, muse. I mean, there are some people who believe that silly adage “any publicity is good publicitity”. But wouldn’t that only be true if you didn’t care what people thought of you? Or if you wanted to people to not know “the real you”? If she thinks the publicity she’s getting for saying these things is good, then she must have a really weird agenda. I would be bothered if the entire nation, upon hearing my name, immediately thought the words “batshit insane.” (I have accepted the fact that my family and co-workers have this reaction, but not the whole nation.) But at least the crazy things I say are either done intentionally for humor purposes, or they are my liberal pie-in-the-sky dreams for how this planet might be made better.

  3. I think Shelly really does believe what she says. She has been deeply immersed in the capitalist dream of America these past few decades. Somehow freedom means freedom to do whatever it takes to make money and enjoy the privileges it buys. This right supersedes all others.

    As an analogy, everybody gets 1 box of chocolate covered cherries a week. Some will ration them out to themselves, a cherry or two a day. Some will share them or barter with them because they really aren’t that into them. Some may hoard them, just so they know they have them.

    Shelly and company are the group who gobble them up and then look for ways to get more. Their obsession will make it not only possible but necessary for them to do whatever it takes to get more.

    This is why capitalism has to be regulated. Every form of human interaction on the group level needs to have rules, responsibilities and obligations as well as rewards because while we may be created equal, we aren’t all the same.

    And that is why Shelly and company are terrified. Their system has been slowly advocating a classed society with the highest class living beyond the rules. They are projecting the fear that their agenda is falling apart.

  4. There is something about the look in her eyes that reminds me of some of the pictures of Charlie Manson. Sort of like the lights are on, be very afraid of who is home.

  5. Rep. Michele Bachmann says that because of a new energy bill “the federal government will virtually have control over every aspect of lives for the American people.”

    Does she think every American lives for their blow dryer…like her? :lol:

  6. This woman is either heavily medicated or, if that’s her natural state, should be!

  7. Where was she when the Patriot Act was passed? NSA Wiretapping?

    “Rep. Michele Bachmann says that because of a new energy bill “the federal government will virtually have control over every aspect of lives for the American people.””

    Does that mean this energy bill will outlaw abortion once and for all?

    Will it require the terminally comatose have to stay on life support indefinitely?

    Will States be forever barred from allowing and recognizing gay marriage?

    Will it require everyone to become “born again christians?”

    If what she says is true, the Conservatives have finally prevailed on their entire social agenda.

  8. The sad thing is I hear her husband is a psychologist. I’m surprised he hasn’t had her commited. Although if he married her maybe he’s certifiable too!

  9. I think she’s very sincere, and that’s scary. I bet she didn’t make a peep when the Patriot Act came up. That was the time to talk about freedom and tyranny. An energy bill is not sweeping legislation. To talk about every little thing as if it were a big sweeping deal, and to apparently believe that to be true, is to be a nut. I have to wonder if the first thing she thinks of when she gets up in the morning is “freedom”. Lady is not firing on all cylinders.

Comments are closed.