The Watering Hole, September 9, 2010: Fart sounds

In a vicious effort at censorship, Apple has released new guidelines for the iPhone apps store: no more fart apps.

Apple’s newly published guidelines for the App Store review process provide a candid, plainly written summary of the company’s policies on iOS software, including the blunt statement in the introduction: “We don’t need anymore Fart apps.”

As promised, on Thursday Apple published its App Store Review Guidelines, a document that details what is and is not acceptable for App Store software. It covers a number of topics, including the functionality of software, use of features such as push notifications and location services, and integration of Apple-controlled programs like Game Center and iAds.

In its opening introduction, the document makes clear the “broader themes” that Apple uses in reviewing App Store submissions. The company clearly stated that it is concerned about children having access to inappropriate applications, and is also interested in keeping the quality of software at a certain level.

“We have over 250,000 apps in the App Store,” the document reads. “We don’t need any more Fart apps. If your app doesn’t do something useful or provide some form of lasting entertainment, it may not be accepted.”

Yet another reason to get an Android phone. Can you believe that?

This is our OPEN THREAD.

94 thoughts on “The Watering Hole, September 9, 2010: Fart sounds

  1. On Youtube, I like to look at the ‘Recommended For You’ selections, so I’m not clicking on that video.

    I think I’ve figured out why we get involuntarily logged out on WordPress sometimes. I think the cookie times out. Once in a while, I get a graphics glitch, and I clear it by deleting the cookies and deleting my browsing history. Usually I restart as well. Afterward, of course, I always have to log back in here, at TP, and C&L. One time I tried just deleting all the cookies, except those three. I checked, and I was still logged in. Then I deleted them, and I was logged out. So if you’re getting logged out randomly, it could be the way your browser handles cookies. I’ve had it happen to me too, using Chrome. I haven’t tried to change any settings, but it may be the way the site creates the cookie, and some time out, while others don’t.

  2. I’ve done something right today. My most recent post on my blog has pulled in either a teabagger or larouchie. They spit all over some of my threads so I just marked it as “spam”.

  3. Cats, how could anyone argue/counter what you’ve written? It is an excellent essay/post!
    I too want my country back from the hate-mongers and those intolerant of others.

  4. We should be treating Muslims just like neo-Nazis, according to yet another Idaho nutball hatemongering “Christian.”

    I see no reason why our policies toward Islam in the West in general and America in particular should not be a mirror image of our policies toward the neo-Nazi movement.

    Whatever steps we take in public education and law enforcement to reduce the threat of Aryan supremacists are the same steps we should take in reducing the threat Koranic Islam poses to the West.

    Bottom line: whatever the FBI does to keep white supremacists in line is the same thing it ought to be doing to keep Islam in check.

    h/t Little Green Footballs

    The nutbag isn’t “fringe”, either, but mainstream enough to be onstage with the usual band of GOPers.

    And Fischer isn’t just some kook on the fringe. He’s one of the scheduled speakers at the conservative Value Voters summit this month alongside Mitt Romney, Michele Bachmann, Mike Huckabee and other top GOP politicians.

  5. zxbe, the hate-filled “Jones said he would be willing to reconsider his decision, only if he gets special attention from the U.S. government”

    Didn’t this nutcase say gawd was in charge?

    Since when do the religious zealots allow the the government to usurp the deity?

  6. Wayne, that is excellent news. About time someone took action against all the hate spewing monsters.

  7. Changing gears…

    Murkowski is considering a write-in campaign.

    By all means, she should do this. I would have to believe it would just cause the vote to split between her and the Palinista candidate, and perhaps hand the seat to us.

  8. If you know something upsets someone, and you go ahead and do it, who’s to blame?

    Great question

    Respectfully, I would have to say it depends on what that conduct is.

    For example, if you wanted to build an Islamic Center near a tragedy that involved Muslims defiling their religion, should you go ahead and do it even if it upsets people? Consider that the people who would be upset about it are upset for all the wrong reasons. Their opinions are not ones we should respect because they are based on fear and ignorance. Should fear and ignorance be given the same respect as well-reasoned arguments?

    I say screw the bastards and build the Islamic Center anyway! :)

    • If you know something upsets someone, and you go ahead and do it, who’s to blame?

      Great question

      Respectfully, I would have to say it depends on what that conduct is.

      It upsets my sister that I’m not a Christian, and she will continue to be upset. I guess I’m to “blame” for that, but it’s not my problem.

  9. If you know something upsets someone, and you go ahead and do it, who’s to blame?

    I think I upset the bitblt troll on TP on today’s Quran-burning thread.

    He started getting all biblical — which is fine if he keeps it to himself, but he didn’t. So I laid out my thoughts and he didn’t like it much. I accept blame, mainly because I don’t really care that he’s upset — I figure he’s been upset a lot on that matter, in fact.

    It’s interesting how there is no room for discussion with biblical-philes, esp. if an adversary (such as myself, on occasion) should choose to promote a non-biblical approach to the thinking process, then them’s fightin’ words and the shit quickly gets shoveled into the fan.

    Hard to figger sometimes.

    • Frugal, buttblight is one of the most dedicated churchies on TP. He usually only shows up on “gay” threads, so he must be feeling kinda backed up…

  10. The Quran burning has been canceled, but the recreation center in NY will be moved from its planned site in exchange. Jones and the Imam are to meet soon to discuss terms.

  11. bitblt is panicking about Shariah law now. Apparently, obsessing about the homos isn’t enough for him–which is pretty funny given that the fundie Imams share his hatred.

  12. Zooey, “buttblight” is very defining. I’ve seen him there, but never found any reason to pay attention to him (far as I can recall at least). But today, well, what can I say. The guy is apparently hopeless, embedded in a mental tomb. I tried to add a little cement. Hope it worked. :)

  13. Breaking News Alert
    The New York Times
    Thu, September 09, 2010 — 5:13 PM ET
    —–

    Florida Minister Cancels Burning of Korans on 9/11

    The pastor planning a burning of the Koran on Saturday said
    he will cancel the event, adding he plans to meet with the
    imam planning to build an Islamic center near ground zero.

    Read More:
    http://www.nytimes.com?emc=na

    • Frugal, the report on MSNBC says that he’s canceling the book burning because he has the imam’s “word” that the NY community center will be built elsewhere. I don’t believe a thing he says.

    • Nor would I, Frugal.

      Even the slightest bit of thought tells me that all Cultist Jones has to do to get even more media attention, is to lie about an agreement with the Imam. In the teabagger/moran brain, the bells go off, they start drooling, and then a spark — Who shud ah buleve? A man of gawd, or a terrrist?

  14. The only Terry Jones worth paying any attention to. Anyone else is just hoping for 15 minutes of fame

  15. OK, I screwed that one up, let’s try again.

    The only Terry Jones worth paying any attention to.
    Anyone else is just hoping for 15 minutes of fame.

  16. So Jones said he talked to Rauf. Rauf said otherwise.

    Did Jones get punked perhaps? Righties aren’t too bright when it comes to people calling them up. Just ask Palin.

      • Okay, here’s the upcoming Fux shitstorm: Why is the NY Imam lying about his intimate four-hour meeting with the Most Reverend Jones? Is he really that desperate to save a few words on a page?

        • “I am glad that Pastor Jones has decided not to burn any Qurans,” Imam Feisal Abdul Rauf said in a statement. “However, I have not spoken to Pastor Jones or Imam Musri (of Florida). I am surprised by their announcement. We are not going to toy with our religion or any other. Nor are we going to barter. We are here to extend our hands to build peace and harmony.”

          http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/39074573/ns/us_news-security/

  17. Jones is almost certainly lying, confident in the knowledge that Faux Noise will back him and the teabaggers will believe anything shovelled down their gaping gullets by the paid professional liars at Faux and Whirled Nuts Dully.

    On to sports …

    • That was fantastic, Gary. I’m laughing like mad!

      I think I’ll send that to my Philosophy prof. He was so patient with me…

  18. My daughter found a neat jpg and I posted it on my blog. The Golden Rule as expressed by major religions.

  19. Thanks to Hooda’s daughter. That’s a beautiful reminder of all we have in common.

  20. I don’t know Zooey, but please keep the guns away from him. Just saw the opening of Rachel and she’s going to show it tonight.

  21. Funny thing about that video, besides the candidate, is the snickering from the crowd.

    • Hee hee, yeah. Priceless!

      I know the country treasurer in my county. She’s a Republican, but even she would say it really doesn’t matter at the local level — and she’d be laughing her ass off at that dingleberry.

  22. Yessir, in the old days we sort of tolerated the whackadoos, told them that’s nice when they stood on the corner babbling their nonsense.

    Today the media trots them out and backs them for election. Guess it makes the 5 o’clock news more exciting.

  23. Oh—my—God….

    Is he going to start crying..? Is he trying to SCARE people??? Do you hear the people in the background laughing nervously..?

  24. Next on that guy’s agenda…”Vote for me or I’m gonna start biting the heads off baby chicks until you do!”

  25. The treasurer candidate claims to have a masters degree in communication.

    He should see if he can get his money back.

  26. Each time I see that video, I can’t help but think of a mixture of Gene Hackman/Lex Luther/Republican Candidate…

  27. NP Zooey. Today, I’m on top of my multi-tasking. Been up since 4AM. Expect the crash soon.

  28. Well, Jones is now saying he was lied to. (Truth=he was too stupid to understand what he was being told.)

    And he’s thinking of proceeding with the burning.

    This guy won’t rest until he’s started World War III – Christians v Muslims.

  29. Also just in:

    A federal judge has struck down the military’s ban on openly gay soldiers, calling it unconstitutional.

  30. Happened to me last night Zooey. And P. D., who has never been an offensive poster, has had all her posts deleted. The trolls seem to come out about this time every night.

    • Outstanding, it’s an attempted blog take-over by the Pee gang. They’ve found a way to have multiple accounts, and they’re voting us down quite easily.

      I wrote Faiz about it earlier. I’m not sure he gets it.

  31. He’d better take it seriously Zooey, I’ve seen other blogs (well back when they were message boards) killed by stuff like that.

    • Outstanding, Faiz told me a while ago that we might not like what he had in mind regarding trolls. It’s possible that what he had in mind is to give them free reign.

      If CAP doesn’t want to do a blog anymore, I guess letting the trolls take it over might be a good way to get out of it.

  32. I refuse, anymore, to fuck with TP at night when the trolls take over. Life’s too short, and they’re too brainless to entertain. If TP doesn’t work the problem they can count me out for good.

    Bottom line is that they have a SEVERE problem. They can surely correct it if they so choose, but if they don’t it tells me more than I care to know, much less deal with.

    Meanwhile, for any classical music fans out there, we watched a great one tonight: The Art of Piano, Great Pianists of the 20th Century. From Horowitz to Arrau, from Rachmaninoff to Rubinstein among many others — original footage, absolutely marvelous.

    Yeah, I’m a classical music nutcase, seldom listen to anything but. I’m like Shadow our cat in that regard — she loves it, runs from any other genre.

    Cats are gifted.

    ZZZ time. I am no longer a night owl. Not until I wake up at (typically) 2:47 AM. Old age sucks.

    • Frugal sez:
      Bottom line is that they have a SEVERE problem. They can surely correct it if they so choose, but if they don’t it tells me more than I care to know, much less deal with.

      Imagine being of such a mind that they would choose NOT to correct such a thing. Wow. Pathetic.

  33. Pity, it was fun while it lasted. At least it led me here, and you folks also provide and direct me towards interesting reading.

  34. Having multiple accounts at TP is trivial: you register X email addresses at a free system such as Yahoo, you register each one at TP, presumably with a fake name. you respond to the email to activate your account, then you open them all at once with multiple tabs or windows from your browser taking care to only ever type from one of them. You periodically refresh your windows, and then do a sweep of vote downs (or up of your fellow parasites).

  35. ‘Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell’ Unconstitutional, Federal Judge Rules
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/09/09/dont-ask-dont-tell-unconstitutional-ruled-judge_n_711508.html

    “RIVERSIDE, Calif. — A federal judge on Thursday declared the U.S. military’s ban on openly gay service members unconstitutional and said she will issue an order to stop the government from enforcing the “don’t ask, don’t tell” policy nationwide.

    U.S. District Judge Virginia Phillips said the ban violates the First and Fifth Amendment rights of gays and lesbians. “Don’t ask, don’t tell” prohibits the military from asking about the sexual orientation of service members but requires discharge of those who acknowledge being gay or are discovered engaging in homosexual activity, even in the privacy of their own homes off base.

    In her ruling, Phillips said the policy doesn’t help military readiness and instead has a “direct and deleterious effect” on the armed services.

    The Log Cabin Republicans, a 19,000-member group that includes current and former military members, filed a lawsuit in 2004 seeking an injunction to stop the ban’s enforcement. Phillips will draft the injunction with input from the group within a week, and the federal government will have a week to respond.
    (continued)”

    Ironic that it is Logcabin Republicans that are getting this accomplished…
    … When an Executive Order could have started this process.

    Time to celebrate, none the less…

  36. p.s.
    To my above linked article the question remains…
    … Will the Administration appeal the ruling?

  37. I love Spam. But then, you all knew I’m a weirdo.

    Speaking of Farting, I can’t help it but this series makes me laugh. The sound effects are just perfect for the facial expressions this guy makes. Sure it’s sophomoric, but it’s funny!

Comments are closed.