Sunday Roast: Fatal crashes increase around April 15

(Photo Source)

According to an article in Time, a research study by Dr. Donald Redelmeier of the University of Toronto shows that fatal car crashes increase about 6% on and around tax day.

Examining 30 years of road crash data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, researchers led by Dr. Donald Redelmeier of the University of Toronto compared the number of fatal car accidents occurring on tax day (April 15 or whichever weekday that taxes are due), one week before and one week later. Their results show that 19,541 people were involved in fatal crashes on the 30 tax days — that’s 404, or 6%, more than on the non-tax days the researchers studied.

The study posits various possible causes, such as fatigue, stress, and distraction, but doesn’t mention the one cause I thought of first:  Suicide. 

I guess we can’t really know a driver’s intentions regarding suicide, unless they leave a note or proclaim on the way out the door, “There are only two sure things in life — death and taxes — and they can’t get taxes out of the dead.”  Well, they can, but that kind of ruins the drama of the moment. 

I also wonder if such crashes could be attributed to drivers be distracted by enjoyment sunny Spring days, and looking at bright yellow daffodils after a long gray winter. 

I’m not saying the study is bogus, after all they did look at 30 years worth of data, this is just the way my brain works.  Or not…

Like it says in the article, being stressed out sometimes causes us to forget basic safety precautions, so be careful out there.

This is our daily open thread — Got your taxes done?  Tomorrow’s the day!

77 thoughts on “Sunday Roast: Fatal crashes increase around April 15

  1. As for my “fatal crash”, today is colonosopy cleanse day for me. Oh joy. And just for grins, I added an endoscopy too. Might as well have tubes shoved into both ends.

    Meanwhile, enjoy Mitt’s latest “fatal crash” (Marlon Perkins has nothing on me):

    Women who stay at home to raise their children should be given federal assistance for child care so that they can enter the job market and “have the dignity of work,” Mitt Romney said in January, undercutting the sense of extreme umbrage he showed when Democratic strategist Hilary Rosen quipped last week that Ann Romney had not “worked a day in her life.”

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/04/15/mitt-romney-mothers-welfare-moms_n_1426113.html

    • If the Democrats proposed a program that provided free child care so poor mothers could work, and then found them jobs, Republicans would block it.

      • I’ve done some consulting work for County Offices of Education in California regarding Child Care – Economic Impact Reports – Needs Assessments – Resource Guides. Subsidized child care exists in this state, but the “starve the beast” philosophy wins out – as tax revenues decrease, so does subsidies like child care. As a result, more and more low income families turn to grandparents or other family members to care for their children so mom &/or dad can go to work.

        The biggest problem is with single moms. Minimum wage doesn’t pay enough to provide for food, clothing, shelter & child care.

        So, what’s the Republican solution? Eliminate birth control, eliminate abortions, eliminate the minimum wage, and eliminate child labor laws. Cut back on education spending, prevent public schools from teaching anything about sex, other than abstinence only, forbid hand holding, price college out of reach of everyone but the 1% and eliminate student loans and grants.

        I guess I just wish the millions of Americans who vote Republican would be forced to live under their policies, and leave the rest of us to live under ours. Is that too much to ask?

  2. QOTD:

    “I think I’m right in saying that he’s {Sean Hannity} the dumbest person who’s ever been paid to speak on television.” — SNL head writer Jim Downey.

    • While I agree that Sean Hannity ranks high on the list, I have to wonder if that honor might not actually belong to Brian Kilmeade, of Fox & Friends (whose co-host, Steve Doocy, could be added to them as a third name among the top five dumbest people ever to be paid to speak on television.)

        • Let’s be fair.
          Mann Coulter belongs on that list too.
          Sarah Palin gets a runner up award because she quit.

            • Nah, you just gotta give greed, money, possessions, fear, bigotry and mysogynism, and a willingness to kill all with whom you disagree a higher priority than caring for your fellow humankind.

              Teh rich aren’t stupid, they just have a different moral compass…one that points to amassing wealth at all costs. Interestingly, they use “religion” to convince the rest of us to have a different moral compass. Take the quote we have from Martin Luther King, Jr. at the top of our banner. The rich see selfishness as a virtue. They are insulated by their wealth from seeing the price paid by others for their selfishness. They see themselves as blessed with material comfort and security. And they are.

              What do the poor have hope for? A deferred reward and punishment system – where they will get to live in comfort and secuirty in heaven while teh rich burn in hell.

            • Nah, you just gotta give greed, money, possessions, fear, bigotry and mysogynism, and a willingness to kill all with whom you disagree a higher priority than caring for your fellow humankind.

              Yep. Like that. Just like that. Like I say, to be a Republican you gotta be dumb.

    • Ummm….Sarah Palin gets paid to speak on television….

      Jus’ sayin’
      ;)

    • My thought is the one I put up in the first post today:

      Women who stay at home to raise their children should be given federal assistance for child care so that they can enter the job market and “have the dignity of work,” Mitt Romney said in January, undercutting the sense of extreme umbrage he showed when Democratic strategist Hilary Rosen quipped last week that Ann Romney had not “worked a day in her life.”

      • Ah. Well, you kinda lost me with the tubes going in both ends thing. :shock:

        And I was wondering what Ann thought about Mitt believing what she did for a lifetime was undignified.

        • It’s not undignified if you’re wealthy and don’t need to work.

          Please remember the formula the GOP uses for this:

          Rich mom who stays home to take care of kids: hard-working.
          Welfare mom who stays home to take care of kids: lazy.

        • Come, come now, Surely Ann knows by now that Mitt needs to say anything that he possibly can to elected… isn’t there some doctrine in Mormanism that says lying is wrong, though? Or is it only wrong if it doesn’t work?

  3. On Melissa Harris-Perry, they played a game of ‘Who Said It?’ between Mitt Romney and Mr. Spock. She read a quote and her panel had to guess which one said it, Spock or Romney.

    I thought she missed a golden opportunity to use a signature Spock line: ‘The needs of the many, outweigh the needs of the few, or the one’, if only to draw the contrast between the needs of the 99% and the 1%.

  4. Roger Ebert contemplates loved ones he’s lost:

    “Early one morning, unable to sleep, I roamed my memories of them. Of an endless series of dinners, and brunches, and poker games, and jokes, and gossip. On and on, year after year. I remember them. They exist in my mind–in countless minds. But in a century the human race will have forgotten them, and me as well. Nobody will be able to say how we sounded when we spoke. If they tell our old jokes, they won’t know whose they were. That is what death means. We exist in the minds of other people, in thousands of memory clusters, and one by one those clusters fade and disappear.”

    A commenter raises an interesting distinction:

    “Many Native American peoples had two words to describe the dead. One word for those who had died- but still had someone living who remembered them, and another word for those who have died and no living person was left who remembered them.”

    http://blogs.suntimes.com/ebert/2012/04/i_remember_you.html

    • Odd thing (or not) I do recall the laughter. Not always the speaking voice – definitely the laughter. Even after nearly twenty three years I still ‘hear’ my Mom’s laugh!

      The ‘love of my life’, dead nearly ten years and I can recall his laughter – “Marc” was one who laughed with glee!

      Laughter is a big part of my life. I attempt to find humor in just about everything. Perhaps that’s the reason I hear “dead people laugh”.

  5. This year gives us two extra days to fret, then crash and burn as taxes aren’t due until

    April 17, 2012* 2011 Federal Tax Return
    Tax Day for Tax Year 2011 – Filing deadline and due date for Federal Income Tax Returns.
    Start Federal Tax Return

    *The traditional tax return filing deadline is April 15 of each year, but April 15, 2012 is a Sunday and April 16, 2012 falls on Emancipation Day in the District of Columbia.

    • At least, with e-filing, I no longer have to drive to meet my future-ex, to sign the tax returns at the post office shortly before midnight as we mail the tax forms.

  6. Creepy commercials by cars,com. One has a little face peeking out from a woman’s hair singing, and another has a second head wiggling like a snake next to the potential car buyer’s head.

    • (scratching head – wondering what was being “smoked” a/o “consumed” during that idea session)

  7. Hmm, so the Captain of the Titanic was having trouble with his tax return then?

    I paid in this year….. ouch.

  8. I reckon everyone really is doing their taxes. I finished mine a few weeks ago. I paid, to the feds and VA, about 15K. It still seems a good value for the services I receive.

    • But, 50 NASA scientists who are not climate scientists, who may not in fact even be scientists in any discipline, say we should just continue to spew whatever into our atmosphere.

  9. I this item about DC schools today and at first I blamed this young man’s experience on the fact that everyone knows DC’s schools underperform. Then I got to thinking, these are the charter schools that are supposed to provide a choice when the public schools are inadequate. Then, I realized that I went to the most ghetto high school in Richmond VA. We had school shootings in the 70′s. I was part of a 5% white population in a minority student body. Yet, we were taught critical thinking and higher mathematics. Sure, not everyone was focused on education, but those of us that were could obtain an education that allowed us to compete in college. What the hell have we done to our public schools?

    • Drunken sunburned OIMF leaves out words, though you must admit that for once she made an effort to not post an ugly link to something.

      • I commend your successful HTML, and I read the first two pages of the article, before I was thwarted by a subscription page I couldn’t get around. I wondered if the young writer ever identified the schools his better prepared peers came from?

    • Charter schools are bullshit. I don’t have facts to back this up (channeling Herman Cain), but I wouldn’t be surprised if they test worse than the public schools. We really need to stop with all the goofing around with education, and put it under federal control. It’s in the national interest to have an educated population, and the states are fucking it all up.

      Mmmmm, wine….

      • I don’t have any facts either, but the whole thing smells to me as though we are teaching in order to pass tests, not educate. My child is somewhat deficient, I doubt any language arts teacher could get him to discuss character development in a particular book. My “normal” children were not challenged to do so either and that was some time ago. I tried to make up the deficit, but really never noticed how much we’d slipped in what we expected of our schools and our children until I read this. My worst of the
        worst school of the early 70′s was perhaps better than the best we have now. We’ve stopped seeing our children as our most important resource.

        • …smells to me as though we are teaching in order to pass tests, not educate…

          Thank GWB and his destructive GoOPers for:

          NCLB No Child Left Behind

          The Act requires states to develop assessments in basic skills. States must give these assessments to all students at select grade levels in order to receive federal school funding. The Act does not assert a national achievement standard; standards are set by each individual state.[

Comments are closed.