Sunday Roast: Fear

Fear.  What does it mean to you?  What does it mean in your life?  Is your life influenced by fear?  Even just a little bit?

Fear:
1. a distressing emotion aroused by impending danger, evil, pain, etc., whether the threat is real or imagined; the feeling or condition of being afraid.

2. a specific instance of our propensity for such a feeling: an abnormal fear of heights.

3. concern or anxiety; solicitude: a fear for someone’s safety.

4. reverential awe, especially toward God: the fear of God.  Synonyms: awe, respect, reverence, veneration.

5. something that causes feelings of dread or apprehension; something a person is afraid of: Cancer is a common fear.

My biggest fear is speaking in public. It doesn’t matter how many times I tell myself to picture the audience naked, or that I don’t know these people and I’ll never see them again in my life. My brain gets it, but my body does not. No matter how confident I feel walking into the room, as soon as I begin speaking, my knees will begin to shake, my face goes beet red, and I start talking a mile a minute so I can get the fuck out of there.

Fear is an emotion induced by a perceived threat that causes animals to move quickly away from the location of the perceived threat, and sometimes hide. It is a basic survival mechanism occurring in response to a specific stimulus, such as pain or the threat of danger. In short, fear is the ability to recognize danger leading to an urge to confront it or flee from it (also known as the fight-or-flight response) but in extreme cases of fear (horror and terror) a freeze or paralysis response is possible.

Yep, that’s me moving out of a public room in which I have spoken.  I know what causes it:  I have a fear of being perceived as stupid.  It doesn’t matter if it’s reasonable or not, that’s why it’s a fear, all y’all!

The oldest and strongest emotion of mankind is fear.
~H.P. Lovecraft

What we fear comes to pass more speedily than what we hope.
~Publilius Syrus

Courage is not the lack of fear, but the ability to face it.
~Lt. John B. Putnam Jr. (1921-1944)

That’s it in a nutshell, isn’t it? Fear keeps you alive; we create what we fear; and fear cannot rule over us if we face it.

Like an old friend once asked me, “What’s the worst that can happen?”

This is our daily open thread — What are you afraid of?

137 thoughts on “Sunday Roast: Fear

  1. At my age, I’m not ‘afraid’ of much of anything anymore, although I do find myself to be constantly grossed out by TEH STUPID.

    Did you hear that, Mitt? Ryan? Mitch? Boner? Priebus? Sarah? Batshit? Steve King? All y’all?

  2. I’ve had about a dozen people retweet this so far, and I’ve also gotten two snarky replies from people.

    Make that 20 retweets and 10 favorites.

    • If “Corporations = People” then your statement reads:

      “People can survive without People, but People can’t survive without People.”

      This is why your tweet is incomprehensible to your target audience.

  3. What do I fear? Politicians taking away seniors safety nets like Medicare, Medicaid and Social Security. I also fear greedy people because their greed is never satisfied and they will do anything in they attempt to satisfy their greed.

  4. Walter Shapiro from CJR.ORG on UP: As of Friday, the Romney and Obama campaigns qualify for something the FCC calls ‘the lowest unit rate for ads’, and Superpacs, party committee, everybody else doesn’t qualify, which basically means for the next two months, a dollar given to the presidential campaigns buys you a lot more ad time than a dollar that Sheldon Adelson gives to a Superpac.

  5. I have no fears for myself, only for my children and grandchildren. I especially fear for my lovely innocent 13 year-old in an increasingly less compassionate country. I sometimes wonder if I should have left him in Chimaltenango.

  6. Interesting that the first thing one must do in studying Shamanism is face one’s fears.

  7. i think my biggest fear is people who are frightened by EVERYTHING. Frightened people make stupid decisions that affect everyone around them.

  8. Now in another edition of how Star Trek teaches us about life, there was this episode where the crew de-evolves (I know, this one was not watched so much in the flyover red states) into earth animals and Picard regresses towards a monkey – one which increasingly is fighting against the inherent fear of everything that as a monkey is an evolutionary tool helps him survive, but as a human, gets in the way of facing complex human issues….

    ..our fear is an evolutionary tool, we almost need to be afraid of something…

    • The episode was called “Genesis,” and it was directed by Gates McFadden (Dr. Beverly Crusher). It is one of our favorites, in part for the dry, clinical, almost dismissive way Data informs Picard that his transformation will result in some member of the Primate Family, “…perhaps a lemur or a pygmy marmoset.” (Then walks away.) You are right. Throughout the episode, Picard must resist his “instinctive” fight or flight response to flee. When he explains to Data how Worf”s attack on Troi might have been some kind of Klingon animal way of marking one’s mate, his mannerisms are hyperactive, his reasoning on the level of an animal’s (luckily one of the smarter ones), his speech rapid. The acting by everyone as they transformed into their own particular creature was superb.

      Definitely one of our favorites.

      Not that there aren’t other things in Life that are important.

    • Actually, it’s not as bad as you might at first think. How much of the audience for Obama 2016 was the same as for any of the Michael Moore movies? Jane and I haven’t even seen some of Moore’s latest works, but I intend to buy them eventually. Are we comparing strictly box office numbers? I know there are no DVD sales yet of Distort D’Newza’s film.

      Not only that, but where else would conservatives go? What other nationally-released conservative documentaries are out there? My point is simply that many of us liberals have not spent money on every M. Moore film, which means any one of them could still generate more income for him. The only way D’Newza is going to make more money from this film is if some RW billionaire buys up shitloads of the film to be given away with a subscription to Newsmax, or something like that. That’s where many of Sarah Palin’s books end up – as free gifts for subscribing to something else. I would think it a disincentive, but I don;t think like they do.

  9. “Mitt and I do recognize that we have not had a financial struggle in our lives,” Ann Romney said in an interview with Mitt Romney that aired on NBC’s “Meet the Press” Sunday. “But I want people to believe in their hearts that we know what it is like to struggle. And our struggles have not been financial, but they’ve been with health and with difficulties in different things in life.”

    This makes him so much more endearing/not. No matter how much the mittens attempt to portray themselves as human…it won’t work.

      • House, did you watch MtP – and was she interviewed by her husband?
        (I don’t/can’t watch the phonies).

        • Not interviewed ‘by’ her husband, they were both interviewed by David Gregory. I didn’t recall hearing her answer, I must have missed it. It was on but I wasn’t closely watching.

    • I know Mitt struggled to hose the dog shit off the roof of the family station wagon and out of the dog’s cartop “kennel.” I’ve never had to endure that level of hardship myself, but I do indeed feel a strong sense of compassion … for the dog.

      • Now that’s funny. Queen Ann said the dog just loved it. He couldn’t wait to bet in the kennel. And he just shit all over because he’d eaten turkey off the counter. However the dog went miss either a) upon arrival he ran away or b) he was given to a family member shortly after that.

    • We should believe in our hearts that the Romneys know what it’s like to struggle — just because they say so.

      I have no doubt that Ann’s health issues have been a struggle for her and her family, I totally get that. The thing I have never heard from either of the Romneys is EMPATHY.

      Believe us, we’ve struggled. But we are completely unable to put ourselves in your shoes in order to try to understand how others struggle with similar issues, but without the financial security they’ve always known.

      That’s what people wanted to hear, Ann. Not “believe in your heart that we do struggle.” Now STFU.

    • I have no doubt that they have struggled. I also know that Ann Romney suffers from MS, but is in remission now… probably as a result of having access to good healthcare and catching it early. She won’t have a good road ahead if MS makes a resurgence. But, other than Ann’s MS and the everyday struggle of helping her children grow up, what have they struggled with? The pain of watching several of their children not be able to conceive children naturally? Thank goodness they had access to health care and the costly in vitro fertilization procedures…

      But what else? They have nothing to point to as any indication that they “feel people’s pain” — especially in a bad economy.

    • I’m not positive, but think it’s what’s commonly referred to as a Collared Lizard. It posed patiently for me several years ago when we were visiting the old Sinagua ruins at Wupatki National Monument near Flagstaff, AZ. Cool dude, he was!

  10. My worst fear is probably people. As in plural. The more of them together, the greater the concern. It takes a special sort of people to be able to band together and retain the awareness of the individuals involved while promoting a sense of togetherness.

  11. I could say that my biggest fear is that Mitt Romney and his cronies will steal the election because I know he can’t win legitimately. But really my biggest fear is spiders and then Mitt.

  12. My daughter goes to school with a decidedly liberal lean. It was founded by Marshall Field with the Roosevelts because so many colleges wouldn’t let Jewish students or any minority in. It also has a large African American population that is very concerned about the election and it sounds like they will be very unhappy if this election is stolen.

  13. Taylor, my little angel, already told some conservative she was an idiot during freshman seminar. The teacher just smiled. It was harder for her in high school because it’s a Republican district and they’d gang up on her.

      • With no traffic about 25 minutes. With traffic 90 minutes. She’ taking the train home to see the dogs right now and then we’ll drive her home.

  14. I spent the morning making soap, and my apartment and hands smell amazing. :)

    Outstanding and Shayne, patchouli soap is coming up in about 4 weeks!

    • patchouli

      The aroma is wafting through the interwebbingtubes…
      a reminder of high school. Yes, the smell of patchouli oil was still lingering in the ’60s. At least in my city.

      • I used about half the amount of scent called for, and I think it’s just the right amount. I don’t like a strongly scented soap — if it has to have scent at all.

        We’ll see if the scent holds up during the drying time!

          • I’m up by about 4am every weekday and I walk outside to listen to the (relative) Los Angeles quiet and look at the sky. I spend a few minutes soaking it in knowing that soon it will be a cacophony of noise.

            My parents used to live on da U.P. of Michigan and it was rural. On many nights you could go outside not far from the house and not be able see your hand in front of your face.

            I am SO living i the wrong place.

            • It’s nice to be the first up in the neighborhood. It’s a different feeling at that time of the morning.

              Maybe one of these days you’ll retire, and you can live wherever you want. :)

    • As I posted the other day, government employment is at a 45 year low. This is one of those easily verifiable facts you can find on the intergoogles, which apparently cannot penetrate the GOP Bubble.

      Rand Paul is an idiot and so are a vast number of people in Congress.

    • It’s impossible to pound a fact through the thick skull of a Reichwhiner.The gutting of government payrolls by GOoPers is a big reason why unemployment is still so high.

    • And this is why the RW Media is so dangerous. People don’t always take the time to read the actual articles. You’ve seen the kinds of e-mails Newsmax sends out. You’ve seen how what’s in the Subject Line not only doesn’t match the headline within the e-mail itself, it gives a very misleading perception for those just “skimming.” Later, what do people think they know about what happened or what was said? They think they know what they glean from the headlines they skim. “Apparently people are not satisfied with Obama’s birth certificate.” “Joe Biden said something racially offensive.” “Newt can still win this thing.” This is why RW propaganda posing as a legitimate news organization is so dangerous to Democracy.

  15. Juan Cole sez:

    NASA’s 5-minute video explains why the last decade has been the hottest ever (we did it) and what climate change means for our hot, thirsty future. It is entitled “Piecing together the Puzzle” and is narrated in a slow, calm voice. But it should be entitled “Run for the Hills!” and should have been narrated by Jennifer Granholm.

        • Don’t think the update has been posted:
          via LGF

          But wait … it gets even better:

          Danielle Blake@DCPlod
          That pic just got better. RT @laurameckler: Pizza shop owner says he’s a Republican who voted for Obama in ’08 & will in ’12. #goodstaffwork
          9 Sep 12 ReplyRetweetFavorite

    • If you click on “More info” in the upper right of the video, a little box drops down to tell you that this was posted by the TeaPartyOrg, that they have 93 subscribers, that since this was posted yesterday it only has 72 views (despite being “promoted” in that Raw Story article, though Tea Party people probably never read a liberal news blog like Raw Story) and that it has 4 likes and 18 dislikes.

  16. I have to agree with OIMF…most of my fears center around my kids being able to have a productive and happy life. I don’t care what they do in life ( ok, I don’t really want them to make a living as a stripper…) But I do want them to be happy.
    And in order for that to happen, our country has to continue to move away from injustice and towards more equality for everyone as well as re-establishing a safety net for everyone that might fall through the cracks….

  17. Now that the Vikings game is over I’ve been plowing through the videos and have to say that Rand Paul’s stupidity is only surpassed by the dishonesty of Mittens and R-Ayn. I continue to be amazed that anyone can consider voting for any GOoPer.

  18. So, have I missed anything? I did get to see Obama’s speech, and that was it on the convention. I heard about the Clint Eastwood debacle… (They’d have been better off having Bush and Cheney speak, and that’s not saying much.)

    While I readily admit, I don’t have any basis for proper comparison, I do think Obama hit it out of the park; and I can’t fathom that Romney delivered a speech anywhere close to that.

  19. Think Cloud Atlas looks convoluted? This should be titled Cloud Atlas Shrugged.
    Finally a Hollywood movie that stands up for the rights of hardworking blue collar workers across the nation:

    • What an insanely ignorant, naive, and totally diaper-filled vision of the world. I never read the book (don’t see a need to) but what happened to the high speed train they wanted to build in Part 1? What’s this about some new energy source? Is that how the original book went? What an amazingly stupid plot line.

      Oh, and after Part 1′s horrible reviews and box office performance,t he director promised us there wouldn’t be a sequel (even though it was called Atlas Shrugged, Part 1.)

    • Haven’t you heard? The Bushes have been flushed down the memory hole. Raygun was the last Republican president. The first since Ike. JFK, LBJ, Jimmy Carter, and Clinton messed everything up. (spit!)

    • He didn’t see that coming, please?
      The article reads as if someone had to explain to Burns that everyone has a 1st Amendment right.
      Shameful on his part for wanting to silence anyone with a differing opinion.

      For the first time I read the young man grew up in California!

      The 36-year-old football player traces his support for the issue to his upbringing — he spent his mid-teen years living with his family, who are straight, in an LGBT dorm at the University of California, Santa Cruz. Ayanbadejo’s step-father was the dorm’s headmaster.

      Way to go Brendon!

    • Ug. I wonder if the “librul media” will let him walk away with his stupid “I have my 1st Amendment rights and he has his”. I’m not a constitutional scholar but I’m pretty sure that calling someone’s boss and asking them to shut you up falls outside the realm of free speech.

    • That’s weird. That site knows I exist. They have my first initial as my middle initial, but they have my street right.

    • I’m there. They’ve obviously pulled the information from property records as I’m found in several locations. They must use credit info as well, as some of my aliases are typos that existed only briefly on credit apps. Some of these sites, like Spokeo, also attempt to correlate interest information, probably from magazine subscriptions and such.

  20. To be honest, I’m surprised this has already gotten five retweets. But it is how i feel.

    • It is what should be happening – corps are not people. The SCOTUS that made the ruling are puppets to the Kochsuxer types.

  21. Good night, Everybody. I leave you with two things. The latest count on the retweets of my Manchurian Candidate spoof tweet was 76 retweets and 32 favorites. You can check those stats on any tweet by clicking on the time stamp, or right-clicking to open in a new tab or window. Not just mine, anyone’s whose tweet is posted as a tweet, as opposed to being a copied screen grab. BTW, you can also copy the URL of the “opened” tweet, paste it in a comment, and it appears as a tweet. That’s how you do that, for those who didn’t know. Works on any tweet posted into any website as a tweet, and not a copy of a screen grab where the buttons are not interactive. If you can hover your cursor over one of the buttons displayed, and it’s going to let you click it, then you can do that with the time stamp and copy the tweet’s URL into your comment here. And that’s how you post tweets into a comment, so that everyone with a Twitter account can retweet it to their followers without leaving The Zoo. ;)

    And I leave you with a demonstration of this technique:

    photo/1

  22. Am convinced SUV drives need to be road tested, yearly, by the DMV.
    The effen behemoth is not a damn compact and shouldn’t be parked in that designated spot.
    Here’s a clue – the ass end of the ugly thing is a foot into the narrow aisle. When you have difficulty opening the door and end up dinging the car parked next to you.
    Oh, and pay the extra $25.00 for turn signals that work.
    There’s no need to come to a complete stop before going into that drive way of the supermarket.

    If you can’t drive the damn thing – buy an effen scooter or ride a bicycle!
    Arrogant asshats.

    • My apologies to anyone at theZoo who drives one of these vehicles. I’ve no doubt you are considerate and know how to drive.

Comments are closed.