The Watering Hole, Monday, September 10th, 2012: Romney’s Ramblings

I’ve been reading through the transcripts of Mitt Romney’s campaign speeches, and I’ve noticed that he has several recurring themes and lies about President Obama:

- “President Obama sees a different America and has taken us in a different direction.”

- “A few months into office, he travelled around the globe to apologize for America.”

- “Ronald Reagan rallied America with “Peace Through Strength.””

- “We must pass a torch to the next generation…”

- “It’s really an election about the soul of America.”

- “Three years ago, Candidate Obama promised to address the problems of illegal immigration in America. He failed. The truth is, he didn’t even try.”

- “American strength rises from a strong economy, a strong defense, and the enduring strength of our values. Unfortunately, under this President, all three of those elements have been weakened.”

- “This President’s first answer to every problem is to take power from you, your local government and your state so that so-called “experts” in Washington can make those choices for you. And with each of these decisions, we lose more of our freedom.”

This particular speech from January, 2012, in New Hampshire, probably has the most out-and-out lies of all the speeches I’ve read so far (read for yourself.)

Here’s the most hypocritical lie (and one that he reiterated at the RNC):

- “At the time, we didn’t know what sort of a President he would make. It was a moment of crisis for our economy, and when Barack Obama came to office, we wished him well and hoped for the best…”

I’ve also run across various and sundry WTF? lines:

- “As President, on Day One, I will focus on rebuilding America’s economy. I will reverse President Obama’s massive defense cuts. Time and again, we have seen that attempts to balance the budget by weakening our military only lead to a far higher price, not only in treasure, but in blood.”

- “Barack Obama has failed America. It breaks my heart to see what’s happening in this country. These failing hopes make up President Obama’s own misery index. It’s never been higher. And what’s his answer? He says this: “I’m just getting started.”

- “If a couple has a baby, the government will actually give them more support—in the form of food stamps, welfare, or other benefits—if they do not marry than if they do. Our safety-net programs penalize the decision to marry, instead of rewarding it. That’s just wrong. And that’s why I will eliminate these marriage penalties.”

- “God did not create this country to be a nation of followers.”

Romney’s campaign speeches also contain myriad Republican-hot-button-buzzwords, repeated ad nauseum, such as “freedom”, “opportunity”, “exceptionalism”, “entitlements”, “failure”, etc. In addition, Romney makes plenty of promises to uphold or strengthen various rights: States’ rights; corporations’ rights to conduct their businesses unfettered by Federal regulations; and, of course, the overarching rights of a collection of zygotes.

However, thus far in my research (ten speeches), one very important topic stands out which Mitt Romney completely ignores: Women’s issues and rights. Romney’s only mention of women:

- “We live in the most powerful nation that ever existed. And it all goes back to a few men and women who had the courage to stand – and even die – for their belief in liberty and equality.”

and

- “…I will hold fathers financially responsible for their child, whether or not they have married the mother.”

As I mentioned, I’m only ten speeches into a collection of about forty-five, so there’s a possibility that Romney may have discussed support for women’s rights in a later speech. But I’ve got the feeling that that possibility is slim-to-none.

This is our daily open thread — What would YOU like to ramble about?

111 thoughts on “The Watering Hole, Monday, September 10th, 2012: Romney’s Ramblings

  1. Perhaps he started mentioning women when the country started hearing the name Sandra Fluke. Her intent, after all, was to bring attention to women’s issues. Before that, it was easier for the GOP and Romney to avoid the topic entirely. So, maybe if you jump ahead to the day she tried to testify, you might find him mentioning women. Other than Ann, of course.

  2. - “God did not create this country to be a nation of followers.”

    At least he got the first six words right — “God did not create this country …” For Mitt, a straight line clause of six whole words of absolute 100% accurate truth is impressive! There’s a first time for everything, someone once said!

  3. Current tv has royally pissed me off a second time! They moved Joy Behar in after Spitzer, and moved Jennifer Granholm an hour later. Losing Keith was bad enough, but now I’m mad enough to just watch Cenk, then move back to Ed and Rachel live instead of watching Spitzer. I’m certainly not watching Behar, not even when Lewis Black is on.

  4. Thanks for reading all that crap for us Jane, my stomach is not strong enough. And a good catch on Rmoney’s intrinsic mysogyny – what do you expect from a ‘bishop’ in a cult like Mormonism ?

    So now Rmoney is going to keep parts of the ACA? The parts like insurance for families continuing after 18? A partial pre-existing conditions mandate for insurance companies? So he is going to repeal Obamacare, then reinstate it as Romneycare and then declare that he’s saved healthcare from Obamacare??? How can he go on TV and not get a ‘Sorry Mr Romney, that’s total bullshit’ from any thinking American…?? How is this man so close to being (s)elected?

  5. QOTD:

    “”The Republican Party spend 20 debates in the primary competing to see who could build the longest, thickest, tallest, most lethally-electrified fence. And Hispanics said, ‘I detect some hostility here.’

    - George Will in a rare moment of lucidity.

    Now extrapolate George – which other large, groups of people ‘detect some hostility’ from the Teabaggers?

  6. I watched CNN yesterday and they had 2 programs — one on Romney and one on Obama… Somewhere in the Romney piece, they interviewed a woman in the Mormon church trying to get women a more equitable voice in the church, she said that he encounters with Mitt did not go well in this regard…

    On would think that since his mother was so active in politics — running for Senate in Michigan, that Mitt would be more sympathetic to the voice of women, after all his mother was very vocal that women had a right to have a voice…

    OTOH, perhaps his worldview is the same worldview as the Mormon church’s view of women’s role in the world.

    • Questions that will never be asked of Mitt Romney, part xxxx:

      “So let’s assume that if you are President, then when you die you’ll get a planet to rule as a spaceman God and you can have wives and stuff. Do you believe that successful Mormon women get to choose their own planets too? And do they have to share it with a Mor-man (heh)”

  7. You have a stronger stomach than I do, Jane.

    Trivial note: did you cut and paste a previous post’s comment link? This one is still referencing fear.

    • “My tax plan is in a blind trust, I’ve got no access to the information there”

      - Mitt Rmoney

  8. In an interview spanning the entire electoral season, John Heilemann draws a key contrast between Obama and Bill Clinton:

    JH: Obama is an unusual politician. There are very few people in American politics who achieve something — not to mention the Presidency — in which the following two conditions are true: one, they don’t like people. And two, they don’t like politics.

    Kelley Candaele: Obama doesn’t like people?

    JH: I don’t think he doesn’t like people. I know he doesn’t like people. He’s not an extrovert; he’s an introvert. I’ve known the guy since 1988. He’s not someone who has a wide circle of friends. He’s not a backslapper and he’s not an arm-twister. He’s a more or less solitary figure who has extraordinary communicative capacities. He’s incredibly intelligent, but he’s not a guy who’s ever had a Bill Clinton-like network around him. He’s not the guy up late at night working the speed dial calling mayors, calling governors, calling CEOs.

    People say about Obama that it’s a mistake that he hasn’t reached out more to Republicans on Capitol Hill. I say that may be a mistake, but he also hasn’t reached out to Democrats on Capitol Hill. If you walk around [the convention] and button-hole any Democratic Senator you find on the street and ask them how many times they have received a call [from the President] to talk about politics, to talk about legislative strategy, I guarantee you won’t find a lot of people who have gotten one phone call in the last two and a half years. And many of them have never been called.

    I’m not a psychologist, so I don’t know what the root of that is. People have theories about it. But I know in practice he is a guy who likes to operate with a very tight circle around him, trusts very few people easily or entirely. He ran his campaign that way in 2008, he runs his White House that way, and he’s running his campaign that way in 2012.”

    This is the gist of Maureen Dowd’s frustration with the man. But it also helps explain why I like Obama. I’m an introvert with good communications skills (I’d like to think.)

    http://lareviewofbooks.org/article.php?type=&id=903&fulltext=1&media=

    • This guy is totally incorrect. Introverts like people just as much as extroverts like people. The difference is that when a thought enters an extroverts brain, it travels through the brain, over the tongue out of their mouth. One always knows what an extrovert is thinking because they will tell you. Extroverts will also change their mind within seconds as their brain further processes an issue. It’s not the same with introverts. They speak when they have something meaningful to say. I know lots of introverts that enjoy being with people. They just don’t talk as much as extroverts.

      I think Obama does like people. He just isn’t phony like many politicians and media pundits.

      • You said it better than I did, Cats.

        My ex used to accuse me of being a snob in social situations, when I was actually listening and getting to know each person by what they said, and how they said it.

    • Meh. Being an introvert doesn’t necessarily mean that you don’t like people. We’re just more comfortable in one-on-one or small group situations.

      • I agree Cat’s, especially your last paragraph. Heilemann is full of shit, and projecting, and framing the Prez into his own making. Over the years, in my professional life, I compartmentalize people into three personality types; Driver, Amiable, and Analytical. We are a mixture of all three, but one tends to be more dominate, and is more recognizable in the interactions with others.
        Personally when I’m around people I know I’m the Amiable type, but around people I don’t know, I become more the Analytical type, the Observer, The Writer.
        This doesn’t mean I dislike people, but is a description on how I interact socially. Heilemann, again is just projecting his own insecurities about HIS ability to socialize.

    • “I’m an introvert with good communications skills (I’d like to think.)”
      Yes, you DO have good communications skills, bmm, You don’t seem terribly introverted to me, but then, we’re all hiding behind our computer screens. ;-)

      I feel the same way- and I’ve had enough people tell me over the years that I write well, I’m not quite so humble about my skills.

  9. Btw, Obama’s mother was posthumously baptized Mormon in the summer of 2008.

    The President can personally “discuss” this with Willard at the debates.

      • It would truly piss me off if someone rebaptized my mother. I’m going to start baptizing dead Mormons in my faith, I bet they won’t like it either.

    • Was that before or after the LDS Church agreed to stop doing that? I know the excuse is going to be that the LDS Church can only advise people on what to do, they can’t control them. But if that’s true, then why bother having rules at all if you have no way of enforcing them?

      • IIRC, the Mormom church has agreed to stop baptizing the dead several times. There’s no reason to believe they ever stopped, or that they ever will.

    • As an atheist, I don’t have a dog in the hunt of what my ‘immortal soul’ will be doing after I croak…

      But to someone who does… well I can imagine that they are seriously pissed off. Again, I wonder if anyone will ask Mitt how many Holocaust Jews he has ‘stood-in’ for and if he remembers any of their names.

      And I agree with Zooey, they haven’t stopped, they just haven’t been caught again.

    • There’s a lesson here somewhere, and I don’t know that it doesn’t include smoking pot whilst cleaning one’s pistol.

    • If anyone accidentally discharges a firearm they should never, ever, be allowed to touch another firearm. Dad drilled it into me that one checks to see if a gun is loaded every time one picks it up. That includes picking it up after just setting it down after already checking to see if it’s loaded. I don’t know if Dad was ever closer to hitting me than the one time I failed that little test and I can still see the look of disappointment, if not disgust, when I close my eyes.

      I should note that it might be possible to accidentally discharge a firearm that one knows is loaded by dropping it. Dad had a simple cure for that problem too. Remove the firing pin and hang it up as a decoration and never, ever, put another round of ammunition in it again!

  10. Please, please, please continue to make religion an issue! Someone besides the President himself really has to stress the weirdness of the LDS even when compared to the weirdness of fundamentalist Christianity. The President himself should stick with something less confrontational like “I read the Book of Mormon and it didn’t really resemble the Bible I read”.

    http://thinkprogress.org/election/2012/09/10/823311/in-new-stump-speech-romney-suggests-obama-is-anti-god/

      • That’s the thing. The material writes itself and there’s no need to be nasty about it. One merely needs to point out that Mormonism doesn’t really have much in common with mainstream Christianity. The nasty stuff can come from those, like Marion “Pat” Robertson and Tony Perkins, who are actually now supporting Mittens despite their previous declarations that the LDS is a weird cult. Plus, it’s about the only time I tend to agree with the fanatics. There’s no need, politically speaking, for the Obama campaign to assert, as I personally believe, that Christianity is a bit of a weird cult too.

        • Makes you wonder how the Jews reacted after Constantine decided to sign on to Christianity.

          Probably something like: “Christ Moses on a cracker, he believes *what* exactly? Can we *please* have a serious discussion about this Christianity cult bullsh*t?”

        • I’m guessing that the knives will come out in November, after Romney tanks. Be ready for lots of “I never trusted that cultist anyway. If he’d been a real Christian, he would have kicked that colored boy down the street.”

          • Indeed. They also have a ready made excuse because Mittens hasn’t completely embraced the more extreme parts of the GOP platform. Yet. It also adds to my suspicion that they have no intention of winning the White House. What would FAUX”News” do without a black, Democratic, scapegoat in the White House?

    • There are few things that demonstrate the Reich-wing sense of entitlement better than their fast and loose approach to using the intellectual property of others. Whether it’s begging for funds or using music without permission; they just assume they can get away with it and don’t give a rip when they’re called on it.

      • “This was a junior staff confusion that has been updated and resolved,” said Romney digital director Zac Moffat.

        (translation: damn, caught again…)

  11. I seriously doubt this one will make it on the Ed Show, but it’s in response to David Stockman saying the Republicans are the party of fiscal rectitude.

  12. And the RW media is severely defending this Navy SEAL’s ill-advised decision to write a book about the bin Laden raid.

  13. Karyn Frist filed for divorce from former U.S. Sen. Bill Frist last Friday due to irreconcilable differences.

    Along with the divorce complaint, the former senator responded in his own filing that he “admits, with sadness, that irreconcilable differences have arisen between the parties that will prevent them from living together as Husband and Wife.”

    Odd how there’s no mention of teh gay agenda being the reason the divorce.

    • They’ll keep wiping baby-Bush’s nose until he dies.
      The documents will never see the light of day for at least 50 more years.

      This is the Repugnant Party’s modus operandi: lies or sculpted ‘truths’…revealing only that that may be seen as somewhat innocent or not as bad as it truly is (see: Rmoney and the tax forms non-release).

      • The real reason that this is relevant today is that Romney has surrounded himself with the very same guys as Bush had around him. And yet the ONLY person to ever apologize to the American Public about this debacle was Richard Clarke… someone who tried to get the Bush administration to listen.

Comments are closed.