Watering Hole: Tuesday, September 11, 2012 – Buzz

Two years ago, hornets built a nest in one of our spruce trees.  After a few weeks, the nest was destroyed by something either rain or a critter.  Last year, the hornets built a nest on the lower branch of a tree.  It was a sturdy nest which withstood a hurricane and an early, heavy, wet snowfall.  By February, the nest was destroyed.  We had a dry winter so I don’t know what caused the destruction of the nest.  This year, the little buggers tried something different.  They made their nest on the underside of the electric panel that is attached to the telephone pole.  They are resourceful.  It is a well designed nest.  They even managed to incorporate one of the wires into their home.  I find their design and building skills to be fascinating.  They don’t frighten me because as long as I don’t mess with their nest, they just buzz right past me without stopping to bother me.

My guess is that a raccoon got into their other nests.  Getting into this nest could be a shocking experience.

This is our Open Thread.  Speak Up on any topic that you choose.

(Until after the election, my political posts will be a separate post from the Tuesday Open Thread so keep an eye out for additional postings.  It can happen any day and at any time.  Other Critters will also be doing additional political posts.)

176 thoughts on “Watering Hole: Tuesday, September 11, 2012 – Buzz

  1. The new gravatar is a result of an encounter I had with a screech owl.
    I hit something with my truck very early morning and went back to see what it was.
    I thought it was a tree rat.
    Two other cars had driven over the animal but I guess they straddled it.
    When I reached down to pick it up I saw it was a small bird and not a tree rat.
    It looked like a baby owl.
    I felt horrible.
    I carefully put it in a towel in a small ice chest with the lid propped open.
    After an extensive search for wildlife rescue I found a place that could actually provide coherent answers.
    I took it to them and they informed me that it was a sceech owl and that was as big as they get.
    The lady told me that avid bird watchers may live their entire lives without ever seeing one and only hearing them.
    They do make a loud screech.
    The wildlife rescue center contacted me several days later and informed me that the little guy (it was male) was flying and eating.
    After a period of observation it would be released back into the wild.

      • i remember seeing a couple of those as a kid. they roosted in/near an abandoned barn next to our place…i haven’t seen one since that summer

    • We also rescued one my husband found in the middle of the road. It had a broken wing, a vet set it for free but couldn’t find a rehabilitator to take it. It lived in the house all winter. We bought it mice and released them into the “owl room”. When it healed we put it in the loft of the barn, figuring when it could fly out the upper vent it was ready to leave. It did so withing 24 hours. It was a really great experience, though I’m not sure what it says about me that I had a room in my house I was willing to let an owl live in.
      You did good vinylspear, I’m glad the little guy is ok.

  2. There’s a Richard Dawkins article at Raw Story with QOTD potential. He engaged in a ‘Twitter War’ about Mitt Romney’s Mormonism.

    • I find Dawkins a bit of a zealot and intolerant (is it possible to be a zealous atheist), but a very compelling argument maker. I stopped hiding under my agnostic wet blanket after studying some of his work (Selfish Gene) and his arguments for atheism. I have to say thought that he and Christopher Hitchens had all the firepower on words and wit – off to read it now.

    • I didn’t see the Twitter war, but I have seen him on Youtube anwsering questions about the fraudulent Book of Mormon:

      Bible – text written in a variety of ancient languages up to 100 or so AD – when translated it still sounds like it was.

      Koran – text written in a 7th century Arabic – when translated it still sounds like it was.

      Book of Mormon – text written in ’16th century English’ during the mid 19th Century. Hey wait a minute? Are we supposed to believe that old Spaceman Spiff from the Planet Bollocks set his Unversal Translator to the wrong century when he found Joe Smith lying drunk in a field in upper New York?

  3. I’m afeared of hornets somethin fierce. I think it goes back to my stepping on a yellowjacket when I was about four. Hurt like hell for a day or so, as the stinger festered in my heel…
    They nest under the cross beams of my backyard fence, and I give them a REAL wide berth.

    • Yellow jackets are aggressive and will keep attacking you. I noticed that the hornets aren’t that aggressive. We didn’t realize that they were in the tree a few years ago until we went over to the tree. We were playing the lawn game washers right next to the tree. The hornets kept buzzing past us but never stopped to bother us. I hate yellow jackets. That is the only insect whose nest I will spray with poison. All the other insects are free to go about their business.

      • A poultice of spit and baking soda does a good job of reducing swelling if it is applied soon enough after a sting.
        Plantain grass rubbed into a paste works too.

        • I was at a campground about 20 miles south of Bellingham in June and they had a garden of local plants and herbs and an explanation of what the local native tribes used each for in their medicines. Absolutely fascinating.

        • My son got stung by a yellowjacket when he was three.. It got trapped behind his eyeglasses and stung him in the eye a few times… His eye was swollen shut for a week, but he was ok… I still have pictures of him with that eye….

    • We had to remove two wasps nest this summer. One was under a piece of plywood that I had leaning on the garage in the space between ours and the neighbours garage. This space is classic wasted space and I was going to cut down all the weeds and grass (3 feet high1). The plywood had fallen down and the wasps built a nest underneath it. The neighbour had seen quite a few wasps and we couldn’t find the nest earlier in the summer. They have a one year old so we go rid of it.

      The second nest was located underneath our back door! We put a concrete patio in last year and there was a small hole under the door frame above the concrete. That’s too close for comfort!!

  4. Good article in the NY Times Opinion section this AM, re Bush vs paying attention.
    The Deafness Before the Storm
    Gist of the story is that lots of warnings contained in daily briefings were met with shrubstantial indifference by Incurious George.

    • I read that. They were only interested in getting Saddam Hussein and Iraq’s oil so they brushed off the warnings. And to think that some of these people are now advising Romney.

      • I posted that at another blog and some wisea** replied: “Well, what are their names?” I told him that although I am not in the habit of doing other people’s research for them, I would happily oblige him…so I listed 8 men that were in the Bush/Cheney Administration… I doubt that he will google any of them, but maybe some others will.

      • Gotta wonder if Las Vegas has a line on the odds of (shudder) President Romney attacking Iran unilateraly.

    • Cats is right – a lot of these same clowns are on the Romney team. A very very good reason to keep that man from the White House….

      Second point, the deification of Condi Rice – who I think should go down as the worst NSA in history. Not just just for her total lack of attention to her job in 2001, but for her role in the lead up to Iraq 2003 and the lies she told about the pivotal SOTU in January 2003. I am reminded of her incompetence and venality every time I see her face – and last week’s Condi-worship was nauseating.

      • Whew, for a second there I read “the defecation of Condi Rice..” Almost hurled.
        Agreed that she lacked all credentials for being the head of any gummint agency or cabinet position.
        Do they have a secretary of piano playing?

    • Daily Mail summed it up on front page – they had 7, count ‘em, SEVEN briefs from the CIA which warned thme in terms even more explicit than August 6th, 2001. And yet ….

      …. I can remember the summer of 2001, back in late June, there was noise in the press about something coming, the CIA were nervous etc. It was after USS Cole and the press were smelling something in the air. And yet, in the White House? There was brush needing a-clearing and ragheads needing a dusting.

  5. Also on Raw Story this AM, Pat Robertson continues to make a complete fool of himself. Nothing new here, just sayin…
    Pat Robertson to humiliated hubby: ‘Well, you could become a Muslim and you could beat her’

    During the diatribe, Robertson reveals his true mysogonistic self…
    “I think this man’s got to stand up to her,” Robertson continued. “He can’t let her get away with this stuff. And, uh, you know, I don’t know… I don’t think we condone wife beating these days, but something’s got to be done to make her…”
    Let’s ask Willard, who stood cheek to cheek with Patsy last week how he feels about Patsy saying…”Now, what do you do with that? Well, you can’t divorce her according to scripture. So I say, move to Saudi Arabia.”

    • Unreal…

      Clearly, the woman isn’t happy in the marriage or she wouldn’t be treating the husband this way, perhaps sitting down with his wife and trying to get to the heart of the matter might be more productive…

      But no, the man has to hike up his testicles and stand up to her… or become a Muslim and beat her…

      Why do people ask this man for advise in the first place?

    • Really, Pat? There’s doubt in your mind about whether or not “we condone wife-beating these days”? And since Scripture doesn’t allow for divorce (was Joseph divorced or widowed?), you think the guy has to move to Saudi Arabia? If he has to become a Muslim in order to get a divorce, why does he have to move out of the country? Don’t you know there are Muslims in this country, too, Pat? (I know you don’t like the thought of it, but there are.)

      To borrow a phrase from one of my favorite movies, “By Grapthor’s Hammer, what an asshole!”

    • “I don’t think we condone wife-beating these days but something has got to be done.”

      Implication being that they COULD condone wife beating in THE GOOD OLD days…

  6. TommytheTurtle and the dog were stung a few weeks ago on our favourite walk by North Creek, a nest of smallish yellowjackets (‘wobs’ I would call them). I was glad they didn’t get at AndytheTurtle, who was just as near and would have a hard time getting back up the creek bank to get away. Wobs don’t build nests for the most part though, this lot had a hole in the ground.

  7. The flag here at work is flying at half-staff today in honor of the lives lost on 9/11. If I had a hat, I’d take it off and observe a moment of silence.

    To my mind, the worst part of 9/11 has been the aftermath, particularly the use of those lost lives for political purposes–not to mention how it was used as an excuse for two ground wars, neither of which has much hope of ever ending. A friend of mine, who lived in Brooklyn at the time, with a hillside view of Manhattan, posted about his memories of the day (he shared photographs from across the river on the day itself with our circle of friends). One thing I didn’t remember was that his wife was working in the south of Manhattan and had to make her way through all the smoke and debris on foot and came home thoroughly coated with ash from who knows what.

    So, no hat, but a moment of silence for me.

    • No moment of silence on Fox – they want to know why Obama didn’t use the words ‘pray’ or ‘God’ – except that he did. The bastards are still lying on the day for policital purposes.

  8. It appears that MSNBC is repeating the coverage of 9/11/01.

    This gripes my ass because it’s so fucking lazy, and says nothing about where we are now, and all the shit that came down after that day. I hope they don’t continue it all day.

    • I think that’s how they do their annual tribute to those who died, by replaying themselves from that day. What I want to know is when the 9/11 repeat coverage ends and the new programming start. Will there be new Ed, Rachel and Lawrence shows tonight?

  9. Cool post, Cats. Like you, I’m impressed with their amazing building skills! They accomplish so much working together — people should take a hint.

    I’ve never been stung by a bee, wasp, yellowjacket, etc. People all around me get stung all the time, especially by yellowjackets around here, but they leave me alone. Probably because I’m not afraid of them, and don’t panic and wave my arms around trying to get them away from me.

  10. No one, and I mean no one is more consistently wrong than this guy:

    Dick Morris@DickMorrisTweet
    Romney is going to have a great convention. It’s going to be incredible. He should gain a 5 or 6 point lead. #GOP2012
    27 Aug 12

    • Maybe you can find a way to get an e-mail to Jeb Bush and ask him for his thoughts. Did Jeb know his brother was warned multiple times that what eventually happened would happen? When Jeb said his brother kept us safe, did he really mean, “Relatively safe”?

      My tweet directed at (but not addressed to) Jeb Bush where I answered his “He…kept…us…safe!” with my own, “No…he…did…not!” is still getting re-tweeted.

  11. I’m sick of BushCo whining that they had no way to know what happened on 9/11 could happen. WTC had been the target of a terrorist bombing. An Al-Queda plot to crash airplanes into buildings was discovered in 1995. A little imagination and a directive to security and intel agencies to concentrate resources on pursuing the leads they had could have helped. Condi and crew just weren’t interested.

    • They caught the Millenium bomber by ‘shaking the trees everyday’ according to Al Gore…. I’d like to think that Chimpy doesn’t sleep at night because of this…. btu I know he doesn’t have any trouble sleeping at all – sociopaths never do.

  12. Tough to keep your stories straight when you constantly have to lie. Over the weekend, Paul Ryan talked to Eric Singer, a Colorado reporter, about medical marijuana:

    ‘I asked Congressman Ryan: “In Colorado we have medical marijuana. Under a Romney Ryan ticket, what happens?”

    Ryan: “It’s up to Coloradans to decide.”

    I said: “So even if federal law says marijuana is illegal, you’re saying?”

    Ryan: “My personal positions on this issue have been let the states decide what to do with these things. This is something that is not a high priority of ours as to whether or not we go down the road on this issue. What I’ve always believed is the states should decide. I personally don’t agree with it, but this is something Coloradans have to decide for themselves.” ‘

    A Romney spokesman later walked back this comment. Think Progress puts the episode in context:

    “Ryan woke up on Friday as a congressman with a firmly anti-marijuana voting record. He abandoned that view during a trip to a swing state where the marijuana issue is hot, and then backtracked the very next day. And he did this all in the very same weekend when he proclaimed that he did not vote for the defense cuts he recently voted for.”

  13. QOTD:

    “It is becoming clear that if President Obama is reelected, it will be despite the economy and because of his campaign; if Mitt Romney wins, it will be because of the economy and despite his campaign,” – Charlie Cook.

  14. And right on cue, Bibi rattles his sabre:
    “Signaling a deepening dispute with Washington over issuing ultimatums for Iran’s nuclear program, Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu said Tuesday that those who won’t make such demands on Tehran “don’t have a moral right to place a red light before Israel.””
    from WaPo.
    The article goes on to say that Netanyahu has been pressing the Obama administration to spell out the point at which Iran’s nuclear program could face an American military strike.

    • “Netanyahu has been pressing the Obama administration to spell out the point at which Iran’s nuclear program could face an American military strike.”

      Obama’s most dangerous opponent in the November election is Bibi. I like how Israel’s Likud Party dictates how they think we should conduct our foreign policy.

    • I have to ask — again — why the worry over what Iran might or might not be up to? IF the fearmongers are right and Iran winds up with a nuclear bomb in their arsenal, so what? Who f***ing cares? I mean, IF they make one, and IF they then decide to use it (or even threaten to use it), the reality is that the whole of Persia could become an ashpile within moments. Back in the Cold War era we called it MAD, Mutual Assured Destruction, and countries that possessed literally THOUSANDS of nuclear bombs never used them. In fact and of course, the ONLY country that’s EVER inflicted nuclear horror on another nation has been that staunch guardian of freedom, of democracy, of god and apple pie, the US of A. It almost appears as though no one else is really stupid enough to try it. Is there any reason to suspect Iran is any different?

      I tire easily of sabre rattling, esp. when it has absolutely zero basis, when all it is is a bunch of little men slamming their dicks on the table. Or pretending they have one to slam, whatever.

      Israel has nuclear weapons, I do believe. Perhaps we should attack them? Ask Bibi about that.

  15. The names of the 9/11 victims were read aloud again today in New York. When will this practice stop? Every year since 2002 we go through this. When were the names of the Pearl Harbor victims read aloud? Wait, they weren’t? How unpatriotic, how uncaring.

    We’ve become a self-absorbed people, a nation enamored of long goodbyes, drawn-out memorial services and general navel-gazing. No one will forget 9/11 but at some point you have to tune things out.

    • This is a tough brave question…. and so is asking why it happened… instead we’re supposed to ask why Dog is’nt talked about by Obama…

    • I agree. I thought the reading of the names should have been done once — on the first anniversary of 9/11. After that, it’s important to begin moving forward. By now, 9/11 should be a day of remembrance of those we lost and hard lessons learned.

  16. Fall weather?

    We are fast approaching another record high temp here on the frozen tundra. It’s already 91, the old record, and while the prediction is for 92 i would be willing to bet we overrun said prediction. It has been so dry that any grass that hasn’t been watered a lot is already gray-brown and dormant. Even the local golf courses are finding it hard to keep their greens green. But that’s not the funny part.

    The funny part is that the local “librul media” has been running stories about how the harvest shouldn’t be impacted by the drought conditions. Between the testimony of my farmer friends and personal observations I would have to say “bollocks”.

    One old friend has the saddest story. After 42 years running the family farm he has decided to throw in the towel at the age of 62. He put the farm on the market last week, hoping for a developer who wants to build homes, and started plowing his dead crops under yesterday. By next spring he hopes to have a house in Hawaii but his retirement will be much less secure than he had planned because of the recent poor harvests and finally tossing the towel in the ring 5 years before he planned. He can’t take the risk of eating more of his reserves with lost harvests.

    Driving around in the country one sees massive dust clouds wherever a farmer is actually working in a field. Trees that begin their shut down based on available water are turning brown while those that need low temps to go dormant are most likely going to be wasting resources on leaves that don’t have enough water to build up a winter reserve of nutrients.

    Potholes? Almost a thing of the past. I visited a couple old favorite duck hunting spots over the weekend and they are filled with very dry grass and are either completely dry or are reduced to a small mud puddle in the middle. No ducks to be seen.

    It is obvious to any observant person that our climate has already changed as much or more than the more dire predictions. The relatively dry prairie zone has moved about 100 miles north and brought invasive species and other sources of stress on the biosphere along with it. But that doesn’t make the news.

    • Washington state apple growers have a bumper crop this year with fantastic yields. Prices are very good for them because harvests elsewhere are very poor. Unfortunately, they have nowhere near enough pickers to get the work done before the fruit rots.

    • 95 degrees and climbing. Now we are edging close to the highest temp ever recorded in September.

      The local apple growers seem to be doing O.K. I guess that apples are fairly drought resistant and the dry weather inhibits rotting so they have plenty of stock for the cider mills. The drawback for me, personally, is that dry weather apparently results in sweeter apples and I prefer them a bit on the tart side. I would guess that they have a higher sugar to water ratio in dry conditions but I’m not certain. Hmmm. Time to read up on apples!

    • Here at 7000 ft at the base of the Rockies Front Range, today’s temp is (again, almost every day since late May) over 90F. The good news, if it truly happens, is that tomorrow and Thursday the temps are predicted to top off in the mid-60s, with some decent rain probabilities (finally!). Time will tell, vamos a ver. Fingers crossed.

      Maybe if it all happens it’ll head for Minnesota. Don’t hold your breath, but hey, it could happen!

    • It sounds like local officials have bent over backwards to facilitate Jim getting the mess cleared up for his dad. Lord knows they can’t offend anyone, at least any conservative, with a national audience no matter how small.

        • Indeed. I have a sick feeling that Cramer will now be a very vocal supporter of disenfranchising voters because, in his dad’s case, it was resolved. I can just hear him saying “the system works,” and “no one will ever be hurt”.

  17. Now the FAUX”News” freaks are outraged because President Obama, allegedly, didn’t use the word God in his 9/11 address. Have I recently mentioned how much I hate these people?

  18. Courtesy the Mudflats:

    Mitt Romney has given up his home state of Michigan.

    Mitt Romney has given up his home state of Massachusetts.

    In other news, the President has opened up a lead in Romney’s
    home state of Colorado…

  19. Egyptian protesters tear down a flag at our embassy. Wingnuts everywhere blame Obama.

    • Of course it’s Obama’s fault (spit!). These things never happen as long as the president props up our pet dictators. Oh sure. A few dozen people may have been gunned down in the streets but our precious flag would not have been desecrated.

    • I really can’t generate much outrage over his lying any more. It’s the spineless wimps who refuse to call him on it that piss me off. At least there are a few, like Soledad O’Brien and Norah O’Donnell, who have apparently grown tired with GOoPers lying to them. I just hope they don’t get shut down by their bosses.

    • Why? My first guess is a dysfunctional local media who have propped him up because his national reputation, even before Mittens picked him, gives them a false sense of relevance. I’ve been watching the same phenomenon with Batscat Bachmann here in Minnesota. Even if they mention the crazy shit she says it’s always phrased something like: “the outspoken Congresswoman responds to the evil libruls attacking her because she’s the best Christian in the world. In other news; there will be food at the state fair”.

  20. Oh crap! I accidentally caught about 20 seconds of local hate radio and it appears that the subject of the day is: ” EVERYTHING SUCKS BECAUSE OBAMA HATES GOD!!!!!”

    Nothing about respecting the memories of those killed 11 years ago and most definitely nothing about how President Obama has made being a leader of Al Qaida the most dangerous and fatal job on the planet. Just “OBAMA HATES GOD!!!!”

    • Not to mention the countless thousands of innocent non-Americans killed for no good reason. All so that Commander Jockstrap could mug for cameras in a faux uniform and serve one more term than his daddy. I’m all but certain that Americans yet unborn will pay for it with their blood.

  21. Per Rachel: American embassy and consulate under attack in Libya and Egypt. One American official reported dead.

    Why? Blasphemous video on YouTube.

    Seriously people, grow the fuck up! This is insanity.

      • From the Onion article to which I linked above:

        “I tried to put it in the simplest possible terms for you people, so you’d get it straight, because I thought it was pretty important,” said God, called Yahweh and Allah respectively in the Judaic and Muslim traditions. “I guess I figured I’d left no real room for confusion after putting it in a four-word sentence with one-syllable words, on the tablets I gave to Moses. How much more clear can I get?”

        “But somehow, it all gets twisted around and, next thing you know, somebody’s spouting off some nonsense about, ‘God says I have to kill this guy, God wants me to kill that guy, it’s God’s will,'” God continued. “It’s not God’s will, all right? News flash: ‘God’s will’ equals ‘Don’t murder people.'”

    • I would also say it’s a pretty good reason why religious “militias”, regardless of faith, should be stomped out of existence rather than given a platform and invited to appear on the “news”.

    • It’s not that simple. Fallout can be found in soil layers and tree rings and ice cores around the planet. 1954 and 1961 are particularly “dirty” years that can be used as a reference when comparing disparate samples.

      • There was no proper investigation of the attacks on 9/11. Therefore, we’ll never know the whole truth.

        I don’t buy into the “Bush planned 9/11″ line of thought, but I have always believed he and his crowd let it happen. It suited their purposes. I do think they were shocked at the magnitude of the carnage on that day, but they took that gamble. With American lives.

        • I’m having an argument with someone on Twitter right now. I am not bringing our conspiracy theories (besides the official one), but I don’t buy that the planes alone brought down both towers. And why was the steel carted off to China without anyone examining them?

          • It’s difficult not to assume the worst about Bushco but I still think that “criminal incompetence” is the most likely verdict. That’s bad enough but the following war crimes tend to make it pale in comparison.

            BTW. I heard an interview with an engineer, who had allegedly been fired from the WTC build for asking uncomfortable questions, who made a very strong case that the wreckage was discarded because it would have revealed criminal behavior among the contractors; including using low-grade steel and flammable “fireproofing”. It just strikes me as being more likely than people running around the burning buildings setting explosive charges. Of course; I’m not sure that a reason other than a few hundred-thousand pounds of jet fuel, flammable building materials, and the impact is really needed.

            • That makes sense, pete. The buildings weren’t detonated, they were shoddily built. The wreckage had to go away so the insurance company couldn’t look at it, and decide they weren’t going to pay up.

            • William Rodriguez (“The Last man Out Alive”), who does have his detractors, said that while checking out the building, he came across a locked floor that contained suspicious equipment in it. Too many unexplained coincidences make it hard to believe the Bush Admin account, such as the fact that Bush’s first cousin headed the firm that handled security for the towers. (If they wanted to plant explosives, they had a way to get in. IF.) And Cheney’s wishy-washy accounts, accounts that contradict sworn testimony, make it hard to believe them, too.

              The only thing I’m sure about is that we were not told the truth. The official story contradicts itself in too many important areas. We can’t even be sure if the account of the bravery of the Flight 93 passengers is true (I treated it as if they were in my poem below.)

        • They didn’t know and they didn’t let it happen. You’re giving the Bushies far too much credit.

          In their world, according to Karen Hughes, “we create our own reality.” Couple that with small-government proponents, “don’t mess with Texas” and you have the blinding hubris that “could not have imagined planes being flown into buildings.”

            • Sigh….once again:

              “To see what is in front of one’s nose needs a constant struggle” — George Orwell

            • Groupthink is definitely a problem with that crowd, but really, is it possible that none of the GWB saw it? None of them? The CIA and FBI were practically hitting them over the head with big red flags.

              I know the neo-cons were very happy after the fact.

            • I never believe in conspiracy as I know few that would be smart enough or quiet enough to pull off one.They missed the warning because they simply weren’t interested, BushCo was only interested in intel that confirmed what they already planned to do. If they didn’t have it, they’d try to intimidate the intelligence community to manufacture it for them.

            • And they certainly did do that! Lawd knows, the GWB crowd couldn’t plan their way our of a wet paper bag, nor could they keep it secret.

              I guess when you put it that way, badmoodman’s comment rings truer. It wasn’t so much that they couldn’t see it, they just weren’t interested, and that turned out to be such a tragedy for so many people all over the world.

            • I tend to agree that they weren’t interested in anything that did not relate to Iraq. I do believe that it was Bush’s intention all along to, one day, eventually, invade Iraq. Even after the attacks that day, his primary concern, according to Richard Clarke and others, was whether or not Iraq was involved. I do believe he used the country’s painful desire for revenge as a pretense for invading Iraq, one way or another. Even after being presented with evidence that Iraq had nothing to do with 9/11, and that they didn’t really have the stock piles of WMD that Curveball lied and said they had, his response was, “Fuck it, we’re going in anyway.” It wasn’t necessary to send the full weight of our military into Afghanistan, but it sure made it easier to just move them next door and invade Iraq. If there was one thing Bush said that I believe was true, it’s when he said of bin Laden, “You know, I truly don’t think about him that much.” For Bush, invading Afghanistan was a pretense for invading Iraq. The 9/11 attacks gave him an excuse to send troops to that region. Bin Laden was never a target or concern of his.

  22. On second thought…

    Paul Ryan will begin airing ads defending his House seat in Wisconsin, the Associated Press reports. The ads will begin airing Wednesday.

    • Hedging his bets, eh? Sounds like he doesn’t think he’s headed to Ye Olde Executive Office Building. He may not be heading back to Congress, either. And, as Martha Stewart would say, “That’s a good thing.”

  23. (ran out of ‘reply’ buttons)

    OutstandingInMyField
    on September 11, 2012 at 7:53 pm said:
    I never believe in conspiracy as I know few that would be smart enough or quiet enough to pull off one.They missed the warning because they simply weren’t interested, BushCo was only interested in intel that confirmed what they already planned to do. If they didn’t have it, they’d try to intimidate the intelligence community to manufacture it for them.

    So be it, Outstanding!
    They wore blinders.

Comments are closed.