Dog’s Mead, an old English puzzle

From the Diversions Can Be Fun Department:

I ran across this old number puzzle in a lab magazine of some sort way back in the middle-sixties when I was working in aerospace. Several of us in various labs took a shot at solving it, a task which no one managed to complete in less than a week. But we all finally got it! Some years later I gave a copy to each my dad and my nephew, and they both managed to get it as well.  But by far the majority of folks I know who’ve tried it have either given up or ripped it to shreds in frustration!

Thought I’d post it here, see if there are any takers. :grin:

I do apologize for the somewhat limited quality — it’s a scan of a Xerox copy of a typewritten version of the original that one of the secretaries at Martin-Marietta typed for us over her lunch break, iirc.  It is readable, at least, maybe even printable.

4 thoughts on “Dog’s Mead, an old English puzzle

  1. hmm,

    Thought I’d post it here, see if there are any takers.

    He pens with a, twinkle in his eye, smile.

Comments are closed.