The Watering Hole, Saturday, October 13, 2012 – Pitchin’ a Lie

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but Mitt Romney is a no-good goddamn fucking liar. There, I said it and I’m glad.

Okay, it appears I have said it before. But it’s true. You can see a quick list compiled by Politifact (for what it’s worth), but he’s has told literally hundreds of lies on the campaign trail. And in the famous 47% video, he based an entire answer to a question on a lie. He claimed that all 47% of the people who did not pay any federal income taxes, for whatever reason, were not being responsible for their own lives. That includes the elderly who are retired and living on Social Security, the military who are overseas and putting their lives at risk every day, and the young people just starting out at their first jobs and, like the elderly and the military, not earning enough to owe federal income taxes. It’s not like he said that twelve years ago, it was just this past summer. And it’s not like nobody ever figured out until now why some people don’t pay federal income tax, any competent economist could have explained it in less than five minutes. But there he is lying, again. It seems that’s all Mitt Romney has for a stump speech – lies. Every day, he’s out there pitchin’ a lie.

By the way, this is also our Open Thread (a two-fer). Feel free to talk about Mitt Romney’s Lies, or any other topic you wish to bring up. And enjoy a fun little tune and a parody based on it.

Pitchin’ a Lie
Original Words and Music by Peter Callender and Mitch Murray
Additional Lyrics by Wayne A. Schneider

The dumb goes up when I go by
It’s nearly over now but here am I
Pitchin’ a lie, pitchin’ a lie
Gotta drive it home, make ‘em see the light

It’s not so fair, but why complain?
They’re nearly frownin’ from my time at Bain
Pitchin’ a lie, pitchin’ a lie
Gotta drive it home, get ‘em to my side

Lie, lie, lie, pitchin’ a lie
Lie, lie, lie, pitchin’ a lie

A distant call from far away
My money’s lonely so I’m on my way
Pitchin’ a lie, pitchin’ a lie
Gotta drive it home, keep ‘em satisfied

Lie, lie, lie, pitchin’ a lie
Lie, lie, lie, pitchin’ a lie

The dumb goes up when I go by
But don’t nobody stop and analyze
Pitchin’ a lie, pitchin’ a lie
Gonna take too long, get ‘em to my side

Lie, lie, lie, pitchin’ a lie
Lie, lie, lie, pitchin’ a lie
Lie, lie
Lie, lie
Lie, lie
Lie, lie

[Posted at Pick Wayne’s Brain.]

116 thoughts on “The Watering Hole, Saturday, October 13, 2012 – Pitchin’ a Lie

  1. Chris Matthews this morning on Hardball Weekend, about Romney: “The bigger the audience, the less likely he is to tell you the truth.”

    • Right after that, Alex Wagner said: “He is governed by the loudest, strongest voices in his own party, and he makes fear-based decisions.”

  2. Last night’s Rachel was a very informative show, and I didn’t watch last night, because of the race, but knew I could catch it this morning. If you didn’t see it, I highly recommend going to her website and watch the clips. It lays out the high points of the debate, and also mixes in earlier clips to show Ryan is not what he would like voters to believe.

    • With very little photoshopping, you could make that look like the astronauts were just stopping for coffee and donuts on their way to the space station.

      • “…and a dozen buttermilk crullers. They go really good with Tang. What? Yeah, its to go.”

  3. Romney is a pathological liar. He lies compulsively. I’m not convinced that he is even aware of all his lies because he once said that he didn’t know what he said but whatever it was he was in agreement with it. If I were Ann, I wouldn’t trust him.

  4. People will elect a person who lies, as long as his lies feed their prejudices and biases.

  5. A true measure of the quality of our educational system may be found in the qualities of our elected representatives.

  6. Lies are easier to sell than truth. Lies are accepted on faith. Truth requires facts and thinking.

  7. Back in the seventies, I was employed for six years by a Mor(m)on-owned and operated company. During those years I met probably a thousand or more Mor(m)ons, and out of the whole pack there were exactly TWO that I could actually see as friends. They were honest, hard-working, and straight-shooters — and rare as hen’s teeth.

    Romney as a liar is nothing unusual in the faith of Moroni. He is, in fact, precisely typical.

  8. I know that when Darrell Issa appears on Maher’s show (far too often for me), he’s going to be a highly partisan, rightwing, bloviating gasbag. But he really needs to stop his ‘crickets chirping’ inducing standup shtick.

  9. Matt Taibbi had a typically thorough evisceration of Romney/Ryan after the debate but Charles Pierce at Esquire is no slouch either:

    “There is a deeply held Beltway myth of Paul Ryan, Man of Big Ideas, and it dies hard. But, if there is a just god in the universe, on Thursday night, it died a bloody death, was hurled into a pit, doused with quicklime, buried without ceremony, and the ground above it salted and strewn with garlic so that it never rises again … (He was more lost in Afghanistan than the Russian army ever was.)”

    http://www.esquire.com/blogs/politics/paul-ryan-debate-joe-biden-13626962

  10. Bill O’Reilly: the bullshit never stops.

    Bill O’Reilly’s Outdated ‘Killing Kennedy’
    October 13, 2012

    Exclusive: Fox News’ Bill O’Reilly and co-author Martin Dugard are hoping for another financial “killing” with their Killing Kennedy. But the new book may have a bigger agenda, solidifying popular history behind the Warren Report on JFK’s murder and tearing down his character, writes Jim DiEugenio.

  11. Popcorn watch:

    Billionaire William Koch is facing a lawsuit in federal court from a former top-level employee who claims the energy mogul lured him to a secluded property, where he was imprisoned and interrogated for a period of time, according to a report in Courthouse News.

    John Houston Scott, an attorney for Kirby Martenson, a former executive for a number of Koch subsidiaries, confirmed the story to HuffPost, adding that he guessed the case could go to trial in a year.

    The case was filed in San Francisco, where the Republican-backing Kochs are not deeply popular.

  12. Headline that warms my cockles:

    Former Scott Walker Aide Convicted Of Stealing From Fund For U.S. Veterans

    • The father blamed the school for his children not learning about FDR, WWII, etc.
      This leads me to believe there’s no conversation about world affairs and/or history at home.
      If the parents go to *home schooling* these off spring…lawd help them attempting to enter college.

      (I have a sneaking suspicion the current school has a policy of no political shirts and thus the daughter was invited to leave the classroom)

  13. Announcing the grand opening of Honeybump Soaps!

    A while back, I asked all y’all for your ideas regarding the shop name, and I’m proud to announce TWO winners!

    nwoldguy and vinylspear

    Yay! You’re the winners of one bar of soap a month for a year! So you guys need to get together on dividing up your bars of soap.

    KIDDING! :lol: Email your addresses to me at honeybump_soap@yahoo.com and I’ll send you one of my lovely soaps each month, finishing up in September, 2013.

    • The soap is lovely Zooey. I would prefer more scent, keeping in mind that I’m a smoker and may not have the most discriminating sense of smell. It lathers really well.

      • Thanks, Outstanding. You’ll love the Orange Patchouli soap coming up in about four weeks. :)

        The orange scented soaps are the strongest right now, and I love them with a passion!

          • Nor can I! I’ve got a bunch more soap curing, but I don’t want to put it in the shop unless it’s ready to go. My favorite is the Castille soap, but it has to cure for four months!

      • There are soaps out there that look like cupcakes and cakes, and they really do look tasty! I must admit that the sunny day soap smells orange-y enough to want to bite into it, but I had enough soap in my mouth as a kid. ;)

        • …I had enough soap in my mouth as a kid.

          Those days I do recall. Especially egregious language, such as when I called my cousin an ass, Tobasco sauce was placed on our tongues.

          (although I don’t eat soap, hot sauce is still on the menu)

          • meaning it didn’t turn me off from adding any pepper sauce to food.
            (my language is still colorful)

    • Ah, I suspected that there was coconut oil in the soap because it leaves the skin with a light protective coating. Coconut oil and jojobo are great at keeping moisture in the skin. I noticed that my legs no longer look dry after I wash with your soap and I noticed that the water beads on my skin which indicates good protection. You have done a good job with your soap making. Many recipes use lye and I noticed that there is no lye in your soap.

      • I’m glad the soap is working so nicely for you, Cats. :) Jojoba is amazing, but pretty expensive right now. Maybe one day I’ll be able to add it to my inventory.

        As a matter of fact, I do use lye (sodium hydroxide)! But after the chemical reaction between the oils and lye water is finished and cured (saponification), there is no lye remaining in the soap. Isn’t that cool? And to think I almost failed chemistry in high school. ;)

        • I didn’t realize that sodium hydroxide was the scientific name for lye. :oops:

          When you do start working with jojoba, you will find that a little goes a long way. I sometimes use it for massage.

          • A little goes a long way, and it has a long shelf life — two major pluses in my book!

            You’ll test the first soap with jojoba!

    • You are becoming quite the businesswoman. Nothing like being self-employed. When I worked for GlaxoSmithKline Pharmaceuticals, I made oodles of money but I wasn’t happy. Then I left and started my own business. I would tell people that I was poor but I was happy. Here’s hoping that you are happy, too.

      • Thanks, Cats. I am happier now than when I was working full time, but the stress is there. When that nagging stress disappears, I think happiness will come more easily.

    • Wow, so cool! Although this was totally unexpected, and I had not prepared an acceptance speech; I accept! There are a few people I’d like to express my gratitude towards starting with my parents of course, my 3rd grade teacher Miss Burke, who taught me it was appropriate to lust after older women, Wolfman Jack out of Nogales, Mexico teaching me about the rawness of good rock-n-roll, and teenage hunnies; the Shaman up the river from Puerto Vallarta showing me how he could shape shift into a crow; my ex-wives for proving to me there is a singular cosmic joke, and my children for choosing me to share their path, and to everyone else World Peace! Thank you QZ, thank you Honeybump! SOAP! Yes to the afterglow from using this product. Srlsy Thanks.

  14. Rantorum is still Sick, sounds like.

    Santorum: Gay marriage will destroy church, family

    Ex-Sen. Rick Santorum entered the campaign against same-sex marriage in Washington state on Tuesday with an apocalyptic warning about its potential consequences on America’s families and churches.

    The former Republican presidential candidate spoke to a closed-door Spokane fundraiser for the Family Policy Institute of Washington. He was preceded to the podium by U.S. Rep. Cathy McMorris-Rodgers, a leader in Mitt Romney’s state campaign and member of the House Republican leadership.

    “This is a turning point in American history and, yes, the state of Washington,” Santorum argued. … “This issue will destroy and undermine the church in American more than any other movement,” said Santorum.
    [snip]

    Too bad he’s wrong on that last one.

    • Actually, what undermined my church was all the fighting between the folks who wanted to treat gay people like people and those who felt we just weren’t being mean enough to the gay people.

      • I am neither a believer nor am I a non-believer so I feel I can say this without bias. Belief in a god or an afterlife doesn’t consume much thought on my part because there is nothing to support one belief or the other. Yes, atheism is a belief. It’s a belief that nothing exists beyond the material.

        The crazy fundamentalists and evangelicals seem to dominate the press coverage so it is easy for someone like me to think that religious people are “butinskis” (my word) that are always pushing their beliefs onto others.

        Lately I have been encountering a different kind of Christian. My husband works for a Lutheran organization and I have attended several events sponsored by this organization. The people that I have met have been friendly, kind, generous, caring and never asked me about my beliefs nor did they try to convert me. So that I could use a swimming pool to exercise, I joined the local YMCA. Not putting too much stock into what the Y.M.C.A. means, I began participating in different group activities. I found that the people in the groups to be friendly, kind, generous, caring without ever talking about being a Christian except when I mentioned how friendly people were. That is when I was told by two employees that being friendly and kind was part of the Y.M.C.A. philosophy. These encounters gave me hope that there really are good Christians. I won’t be converting because I am a recovering Catholic and to me that means I have had enough religious preaching.

        One other thing, I have virtually met another good Christian that goes by the pseudonym of OutstandingInMyField.

        • I was raised as a Lutheran. Attended a Lutheran church in a small town in S. Minnesota, and to this day I remain impressed with the broad-minded tolerance of the membership. After I graduated from HS, I went to a Lutheran college in Iowa and learned that not all ‘religionistas’ were as tolerant as the membership in my home town had been. I left after two LONG years, and have successfully avoided church and religious practice (of any kind) ever since. I consider myself to be a nontheist in the Edward Abbey sense of the word. Abbey wrote, in Desert Solitaire, “God? … who the hell is He? … Why confuse the issue by dragging in a superfluous entity? Occam’s razor. Beyond atheism, nontheism.” The atheist does not believe in God; the nontheist maintains there is no God in which to either believe or to NOT believe.

          But that’s just me. I realize others choose to believe, and that’s fine, no problem whatsoever. But I draw the line when believers attempt to force me to adhere to parameters demanded by their particular (or peculiar) belief. That’s simply wrong. And today’s religious right is ABSOLUTELY wrong in assuming that the world must conform to their screwy beliefs. I refuse to hate anyone simply because of their sexual preference, or whether they believe that abortion is ok, or if they happen to be Muslim, or for any other nonsensical reason. Unfortunately, however, I find it rather simple to strongly dislike religious nuts of any dimension whose ‘eternal’ goal is to force others to ‘think’ like them. Sick Rantorum defines that ilk, and I can’t stand the sight or the sound of the fucker. He forces any semblance of tolerance out the window and pushes it off the balcony, and yes, sadly, I hate him for it.

          Strange world, this one.

        • That is very kind of you to say Cats. It touches me deeply. That’s christianity to me, openness to the beauty in each of us.

    • I noticed that a couple trolls have commented. One claims that “libruls” are the real hateful ones because we won’t vote for a Mormon. The other claims the guy with the hateful shirt is a “librul infiltrator”. I have not, as yet, seen any claim that the event organizers asked the guy to leave and/or cover his shirt with a jacket.

        • Indeed it is. I went out in the fog to fly it in zero wind conditions and, aside from my glasses fogging up, it was a fantastic session. The new one is a stunter instead of a glider and it’s the best stunter I’ve ever flown. It will climb vertically clear out of sight and does every stunt I’m capable of. It will hover with very little effort, flies upside down as well as it flies right side up, and with a little more practice I’ll be able to hover it at chest height and pluck it out of the air. I even made about a hundred geese really, really, nervous!

            • They should know better than to punch it up the middle four times in a row.

              I guess you were pulling for Stanford, while I was just against ND. Their only remaining tough game is Oklahoma, who annihilated Texas today.

    • I’ve passed the 1550 miles-walked-so-far in 2012, should hit 1600 several days prior to my upcoming 70th b-day! Also dropped 120 lbs of lard in the process; helped settle the dust, I’m thinking. ;)

      • That is awesome, frugal. I had never had any weight issues, besides being too damned skinny, until recently when age and medications caused me to put on some pounds. I’ve always done a lot of walking but I still couldn’t stay ahead of it. Luckily, I was able to take most of the weight off by eliminating sweetened soda and drastically limiting my beer consumption. It really surprised me, though perhaps it shouldn’t, at how many empty calories are in our beverages.

          • I’ll let you know if I find such an animal. Alas, “light beers” have almost no flavor and what flavor they have is bad. So? I go with the strongest beers I can find and just buy six-packs instead of twelve packs or cases and (gulp!) limit myself to six beers a week. I do, however, drink my fill about once a month just to keep my mind muddled!

    • I don’t have to drag myself, several coolers, tables, a large tent, crates of produce and flowers, and sometimes a 13 year-old all over town trying to peddle farm products for at least another 5 months.

  15. Oh WOW…check out The Atlasphere, an online dating site for Objectivists, “where admirers of Ayn Rand’s novels from around the world can meet easily and affordably — 365 days a year — to network, find shared interests, and perhaps, through our online dating service, even fall in love.”

    Profiles include blurbs like: “You should contact me if you are a skinny woman. If your words are a meaningful progression of concepts rather than a series of vocalizations induced by your spinal cord for the purpose of complementing my tone of voice,” and “I am rational, integrated, and effacious. So far, I’ve never met a person who lives up to the standard I hold for myself.”

    http://www.theatlasphere.com/

    • Sounds like an online dating site that will remain so. How could severely selfish people ever maintain a relationship?

      • Heh, heh…Alex Heigl provides yet another reason not to be a devotee of Ayn Rand:

        “I have to think Ayn Rand must never have had any truly satisfying sex in her life, because, as anyone who’s ever had an orgasm can tell you, you’re not really thinking about yourself, and certainly not the glory of yourself, at that point. (Maybe later.) You’re not really thinking about the other person, either, except for maybe with some vague gratitude. The point is that you’re not thinking. Sex, and its occasional bedfellow, love, remains the great equalizer: everybody loses a little bit of themselves to their partner, and they get something back in return. The more you give, the more you get.

        Love is the same way — when you’ve found someone you can’t help but put above yourself, someone whose needs and wants and weird little foibles you would die to fulfill and preserve, you lose yourself as an individual. In this instance, Rand’s “I” is the ugly word, the monster. People tend to give couples shit when they shift, all giggly and happy, into “we,” but that’s an important moment — it’s a mindset shift as much as a romantic one.”

        http://www.nerve.com/love-sex/why-liking-ayn-rand-makes-you-a-terrible-lover

  16. Nothing out tonight but the raccoons, possums and skunks, I guess.

    EV, your boy made pole in Korea, so I’m hoping to see him in the lead after the first corner. I had a three hour nap to be able to watch some of this race, but I don’t know if I can finish it.

Comments are closed.