The Watering Hole, Thursday, January 24th, 2013: A Brief Glimpse into FauxGnus

I decided to hold my nose and take a look at some of the recent stories on foxnews.com, to see what the current spin looks like. While Media Matters is the best source for the real low-down and dirty lies from Fox, I’m just going to skim a bit of the scum off the surface of their cesspool:

First, so-called journalist Wayne Allyn Root discusses “Why I am a newly-minted Member of NRA” (basically because he believes the right-wing hype, and that he’s always been anti-Obama), and uses ‘facts’ and ‘statistics’ helpfully provided by Gun Owners of America, along with referencing a Rasmussen poll. A brief, but telling, excerpt:

“I want to protect the Second Amendment. And I don’t want government telling me what to do. And if any of those rights are going to be threatened, then I realized it’s time for me to stand up for the NRA…Leftist, big government, Nanny State politicians always come to the wrong conclusion about most issues.”

and, after the obligatory Hitler reference:

“The reality is that throughout history, the first thing all tyrants do is disarm the citizens. Then the mass killings begin.”

In another reverse-reality story by entitled “Crabby Obama Caught in Budget Trap” by Chris Stirewalt, the author, who must have come out of a coma after the Bush Administration, unblushingly pulls this bit of hypocrisy out of his posterior:

“But it was the political calculation by Democrats to spend without budgeting – to avoid the process by which the pleasure of spending and pain of borrowing and taxing are intertwined – that has left the president in this bind.”

In “Barack Obama–our Imperial Emperor In Chief”, Cal Thomas shows the depths of his delusion:

“At his news conference Monday [January 14th], a petulant, threatening and confrontational President Obama spoke like an emperor or supreme ruler. All that was missing was a scepter, a crown and a robe trimmed in ermine.
This president exceeds even Bill Clinton in his ability to evade, prevaricate and dissemble. I didn’t think that possible.”

“Judge” Anthony P. Napolitano brings us his particular and somewhat unique interpretation of the Constitution and, in particular, the 2nd Amendment in “Guns and the Government.” Here’s something I’ve never heard floated before:

“The opening line of the Constitution contains a serious typographical error: “We the People” should read “We the States.”

and then the tired old right-wing bullshit (and this man was a JUDGE?):

“The Constitution expressly prohibits all governments from infringing upon the right of the people to keep and bear arms. This permits us to defend ourselves when the police can’t or won’t, and it permits a residue of firepower in the hands of the people with which to stop any tyrant who might try to infringe upon our natural rights, and it will give second thoughts to anyone thinking about tyranny.”

Just for fun, we have crazy ol’ Tom Tancredo promising to smoke a joint.

Lastly (since even I couldn’t stand any more), more fantasy about the United Nations, this time regarding gun control, in “Does UN Arms Trade Treaty Figure in Obama Administration’s Gun Control Plans?” This piece includes the lie:

“The Administration first agreed to take part in the U.N. arms treaty negotiations in 2009—the same year in which it launched the now-notorious Fast and Furious operation, which provided weapons to illicit gun traders, ostensibly to track gun-running operations to Mexican drug cartels.”

[The FandF operation started in 2006 under the Bush Administration.]

This is our Open Thread. Try not to catch teh Crazy!

62 thoughts on “The Watering Hole, Thursday, January 24th, 2013: A Brief Glimpse into FauxGnus

  1. ‘Budgeting’, by Republican definition, apparently does not occur until the current year deficit reaches zero. Their complaint that Obama has not ‘passed a budget’ ignores the fact that every time Congress has passed a continuing resolution to fund government for another period of time, that in itself constitutes passing a budget, and since Obama has not submitted a budget that Republicans would allow to pass, the country has operated based on George W. Bush’s last budget, the 2009 fiscal year budget passed by the House on June 5, 2008. Note that it was a Democratic Party majority that agreed to Duhbya’s budget, which was an over $400 billion deficit, which didn’t include TARP, the supplemental spending for the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq, the adjustment for the Alternative Minimum Tax, or the Medicare ‘Doc Fix’. Add to that the drag on revenue collecting from Bush’s Great Republican Recession of 2008, that hadn’t really started yet as of June 2008, and it’s easy to see why the deficit went over $1.4 trillion in Obama’s first year. After that, he couldn’t really reduce the deficit without taking spending from the economy, which would have cost jobs.

  2. Republicans and their ill-informed supporters often commit a lie of omission regarding the budget deficit. They fail to note that Republicans authorized much of their debt-inducing spending off budget, through emergency supplemental bills. For example, the two wars of choice that Bush started (I firmly believe the full military invasion of Afghanistan was misguided and unnecessary, given how few people it took to actually take out the primary target) were never in any of the budgets Bush signed. When Obama took office, he put those wars on the budget, as opposed to funding through emergency spending bills (because, at that point, it was no longer an “emergency,” it was entirely foreseen), and this made the “official” deficit much larger. For which Republicans then blamed Obama entirely.

  3. Our only chance for national survival remains dependent upon one single hope: that the emergent extreme political right wing that has garnered so much power in the last three-plus decades manages to continue on its current path of self-destruction. Fox News may well be their greatest ally — their ammo-supply dump, sotospeak — in their collective effort to effectively blow their balls off and cease reproducing forever, or so it certainly does appear. Hope springs eternal. Yay Fox, if that be so!

    Meanwhile, I doff my hat and bow in your general direction for managing the immensity of nerve it certainly must have taken to watch enough of Fox to enable you to pen the above essay. It’s something I could NEVER manage to do, or even to ponder the possibility of the off-chance … etc.

    Did you scrub out your barf bucket, or maybe just dump it all into your nearest Republican neighbor’s trash can?

    • I just went to their website articles – I ignored videos (and the TV) entirely. If I had actually watched, I’d be shouting so much that I wouldn’t be able to take notes. And then I would have had to take a xanax and go lay down.

  4. FauxSnooze, fact free and proud of it! Slavishly slavered over by millions of captive viewers in nursing home dayrooms everywhere!

  5. I would watch Fox News. But I’d have to have some kind of outlet pipe hooked up to my TeeVee that deposited the resulting sludge directly into my garden for fertilization.

  6. If banning guns means only the bad guys will have guns, then banning machine guns means only the bad guys would have machine guns. But I don’t recall hearing of one mass murder committed by bad guys with machine guns since Reagan banned them.

    • Great point, BnF. In fact, the whole “If you ban ‘x’, then only bad guys will have ‘x'” is a stupid argument. By virtue of the fact that ‘x’ is banned means that only law-breaking people (a/k/a “bad guys”) would have ‘x’ in their possession.

      Should we also say “If you ban flatulence, then only bad guys will have flatulence”? It’s a ridiculous line of argument.

  7. Women had unsafe, back-alley abortions before abortions became legal. Making abortions illegal will not stop abortions, it will just stop safe abortions.

    • I’d be fine with this if they also required the suspected rapist’s dick to be cut off and stored with the other evidence.
      Actually, not.

    • Why cannot they just perform an abortion and save the fertilized egg as evidence?

      I know. This is all about men in power controlling women any way they can.

      • I’m not a doctor (but I’m playing one on this comment) but why can’t they do an amniocentesis on the early fetus? That would tell them what they want to know. No?

        • They would have all the DNA they need from an aborted fetus. But GOP doesn’t believe in science so they probably figure they’ll wait and see if the baby looks like the rapist. Morons.

      • You know what I don’t get? If the rape caused a pregnancy the rapist left enough DNA on the woman to test. Hey they can test old, really old semen stains remember? They tried to impeach a President over an old stain once. There is no need for the fertilized egg or fetus as evidence in the first place.

        • Exactly, EV!
          These demented souls need to find a better outlet for their religious nuttiness, other than attacking women’s rights.
          I would certainly hope NM is not this crazy as to have this pass into law.

          fatherbob, how do you maintain sanity in a state that has screwy nuts in charge of the state’s legislature?

      • If I read the article on TP correctly, it only bans abortions performed with the intent of destroying evidence.

        So, if a rape victim has an abortion, all she has to do is put everything in a jar and give it to the prosecutor. The prosecutor can then run the DNA analysis. BTW, this is not intended to be legal advise. Should the bill become law, every rape victim in the state will need to work with the DA’s office if she want to have an abortion.

        Meanwhile, someone should introduce a bill requiring the rapist to lodge his testicles and penis with the court pending the outcome of the trial.

    • As much as I abhor violence I would still be delighted to hear that one of the potential victims of this law had punched Ms. Brown in the throat and left her gasping for air. Nothing fatal, mind you, but a blow that would debilitate her for a few hours.

  8. On a whim, I just checked all my e-mail accounts, and found out that my Hotmail account has to be update to Skype, or some such. The e-mail was dated 1-18-13. I never used Skype, don’t want the software on my hard drive, but would like to keep my hotmail just for when I can use it as a login.

    Does anybody else know anything about this?

    • Same here – last week had to re-affirm my hotmail address – didn’t have to sign up for Skype though.
      Just now I signed-in and it let me in with no troubles or asking about Skype.

    • Oh, only if you use ‘Messenger’ (which I don’t) one has to sign up for Skype – otherwise no difficulty.

      • OK. I didn’t know I used Messenger. If I can use hotmail without it, I don’t want Messenger either. I’ll go back and look at it again. Thanks.

        This hasn’t happened yet, but the e-mail telling me about it was only five days ago.

        • House, this is what the message, in my account, stated:

          It’s time to update Messenger to Skype!
          Hello,
          We are retiring the existing Messenger service globally (except for mainland China where Messenger will continue to be available) and bringing the great features of Messenger and Skype together. Update to Skype and sign in using a Microsoft Account (same as your Messenger ID) and all your Messenger contacts will be at your fingertips. You’ll be able to instant message and video chat with them just like before, and also discover new ways of staying in touch with Skype on your mobile and tablet.

          It seems only the ‘Messenger’ part, of Hotmail, is affected by the ‘new and improved’.

          • Yes, I don’t think I use Messenger, since I only use the Hotmail e-mail. I guess I’m OK. You’d think I wouldn’t get an e-mail if I’m not part of it, though. I don’t even use that e-mail, except for login purposes, and I have almost stopped doing that, thanks to TP being more trouble than it’s worth.

    • Ah, and when a company’s employees call themselves ‘microserfs’ – you expect becuase you are a customer some special treatment?

      • Who calls themselves ‘microserfs’? How did I get to be a customer when I’ve never bought anything?

        • Microsofties call themselves ‘microserfs’. And you are a customer, your eyeballs are straying to the ads on the MS hotmail pages and your click are carefully recorded and sold to the mass commercial machine – ‘customer’ is less accurate than ‘resource’ I suppose.

  9. Quote of the Day:

    “My belief that life begins at conception is mine to cling to. And if you believe that it begins at birth, or somewhere around the second trimester, or when the kid finally goes to college, that’s a conversation we can have, one that I hope would be respectful and empathetic and fearless. We can’t have it if those of us who believe that human life exists in utero are afraid we’re somehow going to flub it for the cause.

    In an Op-Ed on “Why I’m Pro-Choice” in the Michigan Daily this week, Emma Maniere stated, quite perfectly, that “Some argue that abortion takes lives, but I know that abortion saves lives, too.” She understands that it saves lives not just in the most medically literal way, but in the roads that women who have choice then get to go down, in the possibilities for them and for their families. And I would put the life of a mother over the life of a fetus every single time — even if I still need to acknowledge my conviction that the fetus is indeed a life. A life worth sacrificing,” – Mary Elizabeth Williams.

    — My wife had an abortion college, years before we met. If she doesn’t have that abortion, we never meet, two great kids aren’t here and my way cool grandson and almost a second one, would be nonexistent.

    http://www.salon.com/2013/01/23/so_what_if_abortion_ends_life/

    • Can someone please reconcile:

      “Life at conception” v. “Don’t count your chickens before they hatch”

    • Badmoonman, my wife had one in college before we met also. I doubt I would have met her if she didn’t. We didn’t have any kids, but that doesn’t diminish the fact that I am thankful for the choice she made way back when. Great article, thanks for posting.

  10. The power of a decent piece of investigative journalism

    If more people like this wanker Breuer were fearful of being exposed as the Wall Street ball washers that they really are, maybe we’d find someone to do the People’s work in there, doing the People’s prosecutions…

    Congratulations Martin Smith… a tip if the Greg Palast Fedora to you. Now who’s next?

  11. Tucker Carlson ✔ @TuckerCarlson
    Feminism’s latest victory: the right to get your limbs blown off in war. Congratulations.

    – – Tammy Duckworth says ‘fuck you, you chickenhawk dandyboy.’ This is all about access to certain career opportunities they were formerly denied. Whadda friggin douchenozzle Tucky is.

    • Ronny-boy is out of his league and needs to return to yesteryear:

      Before his (Johnson) election to the Senate, he was chief executive officer of PACUR, LLC, a polyester and plastics manufacturer.

    • Some of the comments there were funny:

      KnownUnknowns –
      they so DESPERTAELY want Obama to mislead America, they will mislead America just to make it APPEAR as if Obama misled America.”
      — and —
      DaveyJones64 –
      “Or even better is how they do it in English Parliament. Scathing insults with a just a few polite words mixed in to show what mockery it is.

      “Really, Mr. Wilkes I don’ know whether you’ll die on the gallows or of the pox”

      “That depends, My Lord, on whether I embrace your principles or your mistress””

  12. Jonathan Chait sums up today’s filibuster bullshit developments:

    “Basically, what happened here is that the good government instinct met the senatorial ego, and the latter prevailed because it is the most powerful force on Earth.”

  13. We can all agree that the republican/tea party and their propaganda machine are a cancer to our country, our government and our citizens but by God did the senate democrats drop the ball on the filibuster. I swear neither party really wants to get real stuff done, you know real stuff that affects real people.

    For two years I’ve heard the democratic party whine how the republicans are obstructing, how the republicans are the “do nothing” party, how the republicans abuse the filibuster. So when the democrats can actually change things, like making a politician take the senate floor for his/her filibuster and be seen by the public and the democrats failed.

    Now I’m hearing the left wing media gush about President Obama’s inauguration speech, how it took a progressive tone. Well I’ve seen this all before. To me, at this point action speaks louder than words. I want to see Obama come out all FDR on Wall Street and the banksters asses. I want to see Obama’s Justice Department throwing banksters in jail. I want to see some American jobs program announced. I want to see past trade agreements renegotiated, agreements which help American workers and small businesses. Until than I refuse to get sucked in again….after all Obama did nominate Jack Lew as his new Treasury secretary….just what we needed, another fox guarding the hen house.

    • All the talk – talk. As you stated, until there’s real action with nominees who actually care about the citizens (and not corporations) then attention will be paid.
      Reid is a great big disappointment. All talk and no action.
      A total waste of time and energy on this ‘reform’ filibuster…
      FY Reid!

  14. …There were Swedes to the left of him,
    Russians to the right,
    A Czech at the blue line lookin’ for a fight.
    Brains over brawn that might work for you
    But what’s a Canadian farm boy to do?
    HIT SOMEBODY
    What else can a farm boy from Canada do?
    HIT SOMEBODY
    What’s a Canadian farm boy to do?
    HIT SOMEBODY
    What else can a farm boy from Canada do?

Comments are closed.