Scrambled Eggy

Not being one who is consumed with “fire” like Southern California and our media, I have found it difficult to find much to nibble on in the news today. So, I shall have to content myself with yet another serving of Scrambled Eggy.

  • Via LA Times: “The U.S. Justice Department suffered a major setback in another high-profile terrorist prosecution Monday when its criminal case against five former officials of a now-defunct Islamic charity collapsed into a tangle of legal confusion.”
  • Islamo-Fascism Awareness Week vs. The Feminists.
  • Via Kevin Drum: “Is there really as little interest in the Higazy redaction story, from both left and right, as a quick search of Google Blog indicates? Long story short, the FBI screwed up, forced a confession out of an innocent man, and then the evidence of the forced confession was redacted from the court opinion on the case.”
  • Via Reuters: “The State Department does not know specifically what it received for a billion-dollar contract with security firm DynCorp International to provide training services for Iraqi police, a U.S. watchdog agency said on Tuesday.”
  • Via ABC News: “Presidential candidate Rudolph Giuliani hired a Catholic priest to work in his consulting firm months after the priest was accused of sexually molesting two former students and an altar boy and told by the church to stop performing his priestly duties.”
  • Via TPM Election Central: “In Shirley MacLaine’s new book, the actress and longtime friend of Dennis Kucinich makes an interesting claim: During a visit to her home in Washington state, Kucinich said he saw a UFO and heard messages from it.”
  • Also from TPM Election Central: “In a move that will up the pressure on Hillary and Barack Obama to stand firm against the Senate telecom immunity FISA bill, MoveOn and a dozen top progressive blogs will launch an all-out campaign tomorrow to pressure the two Senators into publicly declaring their support for Chris Dodd’s threat to place a hold on and filibuster the bill, Election Central has learned.”
  • Via The Guardian: “Leaked documents seen by the Guardian show that Gordon Brown will be advised today that the target Tony Blair signed up to this year for 20% of all European energy to come from renewable sources by 2020 is expensive and faces ‘severe practical difficulties’.”
  • I guess I missed this bit of humor from Our Leader last week.
  • Eleanor Clift tries — and fails — to rehabilitate Joe Lieberman.
  • It looks like Bush will veto ENDA after all.
  • Presidential candidate Stephen Colbert edges out Bill Richardson in new poll.
  • Finally, via CAP News: “Presidential Candidates Unveil Halloween Costumes.”
22 thoughts on “Scrambled Eggy

  1. Sorry Egreggious, but I am right next to these fires, so I can’t get enough info about the fires and the weather right now.

    For once, the news is covering something it should be. 500,000 people have been evacuated form their homes. This is easily a natural disaster on the scale of Katrina. Where I work the air is kind of smokey, but at home where my home is only about 1 1/2 miles from the fire, it is hard to breath outside and the smell is now permeated throughout my house.

    For now, we are okay, the wind has died down some. So, some thing that is allowing the fires to die down is also what is allowing the smoke to stay and choke us, no wind.

    My daughters school I think may be closed now and we all have sore throats and stuffy noses. I would go stay with my mom, but she is staying with us because of her surgery and her house is closer to the fire, so we are kind of stuck.

    But, all I can say is that I am glad for two seconds that my Gov is a rich white republican. George Bush was on it like stink on shit. The day after the fires outbreak we got word of the Dept of Defense send out airplanes for water drops and our Nat Guard is being pulled back from the border to help fight the fires.

    The stupidest thing so far is Glenn Beck saying that God was just killing off some people who hate America. To which the right wing lunatics are like “Yay burn Hollywood burn” not realizing that Hollywood is not being affected. The places that ARE being affected are places like where I live and further up the hill. All dark red republican areas. Dumb fucks are happy that their own are having their houses burnt down.

  2. Spudge,

    I didn’t mean to diminish the scale of the disaster unfolding in California.

    Obviously, if you live there, you are interested in every detail, as I was when, say, Mt. St. Helens erupted near me.

    And I do find serious discussions of the fire to be interesting. But news coverage here is pretty much confined to images of fire and smoke and commentators going “Ooooh” and “Aaaah”. This doesn’t really tell me much, I’m afraid.

    I hope it doesn’t come across as a lack of compassion that I am not particularly interested in watching every home and every acre of land there going up in flames.

  3. Hi Eggy. Did you see this story?

    This fell right into what I have been reading in “The End of America” by Naomi Wolf. Sounds like Cheney wanted this guy gagged and muzzled until after they are out of office. My hopes are that when these guys leave office they are arrested and made to account for all the illegal crap they did, and for all the lives they ruined, destroyed, or ended.

  4. Boy, this one is worthy of a daily posting:

    Also from TPM Election Central: “In a move that will up the pressure on Hillary and Barack Obama to stand firm against the Senate telecom immunity FISA bill, MoveOn and a dozen top progressive blogs will launch an all-out campaign tomorrow to pressure the two Senators into publicly declaring their support for Chris Dodd’s threat to place a hold on and filibuster the bill, Election Central has learned.”

    We need to push support for Senator Dodd. These guys have GOT to be stopped from giving immunity to cover all the illegal wiretapping. This has to be stopped.

  5. Well said, Spudge. I’m right on the edge of this thing too.

    Don’t worry Eggy, I’m sure nobody took your comment the wrong way at all.

  6. Oh no Eggy, You’re good. I can understand your point too. You are correct, all we are hearing on the news is “Oh boy this is explosive” “This just amazing.”

    All the while, I am scream at the television “Tell us what fucking streets it is between!!!!!!!!!”

    The Santiago Fire is the one that is closest to us. My mom’s house is only two blocks from the fire on the North side, we are a little farther away on the South side of it.

  7. nw – they should be dealt with *before* the end of their term, else the powers that they have abrogated – ‘the tools in the toolbox’ will remain there and gain legitimacy. Do you think President Hilary will refrain from using them if she is the one opening the ‘box’?

    The American Experiment is like the frog in a slowly warming pot…

  8. Wow, Gorn and Spudge. I’m really sorry for everyone being affected by this. These fires are a horrendous nightmare. Stay safe and keep us posted.

    My best friend’s daughter lives down there too. I haven’t heard from her yet..

  9. Terry – I totally agree. Totally! Bruce Fein and John Nichols said it very well. I am just to the point – for whatever reasons – I don’t believe Congress is going to do a damn thing to stop these guys. I don’t know if we can afford another year of them. That is too much time to do too much more damage.
    This book of Naomi Wolf’s talks about ten distinct steps to fascism. We are well through most of them. I heard her talking. She said she doesn’t believe we have a year.

  10. Thanks for the good thoughts, muse. The front line of the Witch fire (aptly named, no offense to our resident TPZoo Wiccans) is staring me in the face, but I’m pretty sure we’ll dodge this bullet as we have a parking lot in between us and the fire, that ought to provide a good fire break.

    About half the people I know have been evacuated from their homes, including my daughter, but so far none of them have been hurt or lost any property.

    I’ve had well-wishers calling from Asia to Europe, which is a very cool thing indeed.

    But, lawdy, the air stinks, the eyes burn, and there’s black crud under my fingernails!

    That damned George Bush!!!

    (No relation to this story, but it made me feel good to say it anyway. :) )

  11. Her list is (each of these are a chapter):
    1. Invoke and external and internal threat
    2. Establish secret prisons
    3. Develop a paramilitary force (Blackwater)
    4. Surveil ordinary citizens
    5. Infiltrate citizen’s groups
    6. Arbitrarily detain and release citizens
    7. Target key individuals
    8. Restrict the press
    9. Cast criticism as “Espionage” and dissent as “treason”
    10. Subvert the rule of law

    This was a great article on her book by the Guardian.
    She goes back to several dictatorships and totalitarian regimes through history and found the same steps taken every time. She points out that none of these (Hitler, Stalin, Mussolini, and others) changes happened overnight. People didn’t believe it could happen or was happening until it was too late. There are SO many parallels to what has been happening over the last 6 years.

  12. “Bush To Be Dictator In A Catastrophic Emergency”

    Well, I think there’s a problem with the tense in this statement. “To Be” should be “Is”, and “Catastrophic Emergency” is a perfect description of the state of the Union under his dictatorship.

  13. Gorn and Spudge the last I heard is they were running out of people to notify homeowners so if you see the fire you need to leave. My daughter and I stay at a place near Forest Lawn Cemetary and the last two times we were there we saw fires but nothing like any of these. Also, there were sprinklers running full time in the hills across from the parking lots. And then there were 100 helicoptors putting it out. Obviously there’s not enough coptors or planes to put out all these fires.
    Our dear president is going to get around to visiting on Thursday. What’s the rush? On the ironic side I heard Pepperdine was being evacuated the other day. That could be why one particular nutjob is missing from TP.

  14. Well if any group of people know how to fend of Blackwater it is the people of LA. After all they keep Sam’s and Walmart out of there and that is for smaller reasons that Blackwater would need to be kept out.

  15. It’s not the people of LA fending off Blackwater, but the people of San Diego, as the proposed location is east of San Diego in the desert just north of the Mexican border. Unfortunately, San Diego is a very “red” area and the perfect proving ground for a private fascist army.

    I can deal with fires and earthquakes, no problem. Just please keep Bush and his storm troopers away.

  16. Toasterhead, I thought the same thing today when I did the ‘Sociopath in Chief” post. I’m sort of joking, but I found myself looking over my shoulder this afternoon..

Comments are closed.