21 thoughts on “Bannerman’s Island – Sunday Open Thread

  1. Walt, how far up/down the river is this from, say, West Point? I’ve never heard of this place before.

    There are certainly some absolutely spectacular places along the Hudson. When I was in, er, “college” at Elizabeth Seton in Yonkers, the nuns lived in a gorgeous stone mansion with all kinds of historic and religious art, furniture, etc. Believe it or not, there was an indoor swimming pool on the TOP floor, with glorious windows.

  2. JES,
    It is about 15-20 miles south of Newburg. When I was boating on the Hudson, I used to speed down there and start fishing at that point for shad during the spring run. My slip was in Chelsea.

  3. Nope, no S.H.I.T. for me! Actually, I wasn’t really sure what I wanted to pursue after high school, but my parents insisted that I go to college, so Elizabeth Seton in Yonkers was my compromise. Although I left after the first year, I at least made one lifelong friend there, so it was worth it. Surprisingly (or not), I set two records there…I scored the highest on their entrance exam in their history to that point in time; and…my friend and I set the school record for cutting classes. Go figure!

  4. Wow! What a beauty, do hope some one will restore it at some point in time, it would be a shame to have it gone…Seem’s the state could make a sizable amount of money in tour’s..Thank’s Walt for posting this..Blessings

  5. Walt,
    Nothing wrong with the subject, castles are cool, especially this one, because of the connection to the MacDonald clan. I sent this link to my wife but she hasn’t gotten back to me yet. She’s a Campbell, the clan that tried to wipe out the MacDonalds. She has studied their history for years, and I don’t think she knows this place exists. She’s never mentioned it that I remember.

  6. Dear Walt, on the spur of the moment or a long researched story this is quite a find and well worth the posting..Thank you again…BTW I love castle’s, Irish or Scott….Blessings

  7. Good Evening HouseofRobert’s, been swamping out my abode, yard and feeding critter’s….Also working on getting away from the political crap for awhile…Needed to get the song’s back in my heart and head and it’s tough when reading about polatics all the time…Been flying over the Zoo often but not posting anywhere much..

    Our weather, while very cold at night has been sunny several day’s in a row, welcome relief and sign’s spring is on the way…Blessings

    Hope your healing is going well……Blessings

  8. When I went last to the doc, he put me in this velcro boot, but I walk better without it. Just over three weeks, now. I go back to the doc March 2.
    The political has been frustrating lately, but more is going good than not. Our EV is back from her ski trip, so we may get back to normal this week. There hasn’t been an open thread in the mornings, so I have been at TP some as the Thinkfast gets posted at 8am central.
    I just watched a 1943 movie, “No Time For Love” Claudette Colbert and Fred MacMurray. I laughed at that til my ribs hurt! She was a sophisticated photographer and he was a tunnel digger with a bunch of other Irish on his crew. Of course they fall in love, with the culture-clash setting up the humor.
    The guy on Turner Classic Movies said they made about seven comedies together. I never saw MacMurray except on My Three Sons or as a cowboy. Plus the old Disney Movies “Absent Minded Professor” and “Flubber”.

  9. HoR,
    If there is no open thread, you can post wherever you want to. At the Zoo, we have no rules, except for racism, baiting or violence. No need for you to keep to the subject, we don’t.

  10. Wayne,
    I’m sure he was in much that I haven’t seen, this was the first time I ever saw him do a
    romantic screwball comedy.

    Walt,
    Leaving comments on an old thread usually gets them buried, it’s easier to just wait.

  11. HouseofRoberts, ..I remember some of those old film’s, guess I will have to check out the Turner listing’s and watch them again..

    Glad your doing well…

    Yep! thing’s appear better politicaly, I’ve just been at it for way to long, need a rest from it and all the junk that go’s along with it for awhile….Blessings all.

  12. Witch1,
    They have been doing 31 days of Oscar, where all the movies have won at least one. I watched “A Tree Grows In Brooklyn” the other day, and I remembered some of the story from having to read the book for an English class in high school.

  13. House, what did you do to your foot? You know, Wayne and I both work for a footcare company, maybe we’ve got something to help.

    Movie-wise, we caught The Princess Bride again last night, and Blazing Saddles tonight. Love ’em both.

  14. Jane,
    I had surgery number two on Jan. 21. The first one (in August) cleaned out the big toe joint (right foot), but that didn’t turn out to be the solution. This time they shortened my number two toe, in order to relieve the strain on the ligament.

    • House,

      That just makes me squirm in pain. I had my big toenail removed a few years ago because of a nasty infection under the nail, and it hurt so much — even with painkillers. I can’t imagine what you must be going through.

  15. Zooey,
    I haven’t needed the first painkiller. Back in August I asked him to work on the big toe nail on the same right foot, which he wasn’t allowed to do as part of the surgery. I guess it got bad from all the crooked walking I’d had to do. He cut out the sides, but left the middle, and it got infected on one side, but it was never painful. See, the nerves were damaged as part of the surgery, so all I felt was a tingle.
    As for this second surgery, there has been a bit more pain early on, but, already I’m getting around better at the house. Trips to the store are still a bit of pain, but I have a small local grocery in my neighborhood and it doesn’t turn into a hike.
    I’m sorry your experience was so bad, Zooey. I’ve had infections with ingrown nails on both big toes, and they do hurt. It’s the swelling and pressure that makes it so miserable. Once I dropped a transmission on my toe (not from very high, I was getting it off the jack in the floor), and I had to drill a hole in the nail to let the pressure out.

Leave a comment