The Watering Hole: December 18, Capitol Reef National Park

Tower and rock layers at Capitol Reef

On this date in 1971, Capitol Reef National Park was established in south-central Utah.

Capitol Reef encompasses the Waterpocket Fold, a wrinkle in the earth’s crust that is 65 million years old. In this fold, newer and older layers of earth folded over each other in an S-shape. This wrinkle, probably caused by the same colliding continental plates that created the Rocky Mountains, has weathered anderoded over millennia to expose layers of rock and fossils. The park is filled with brilliantly coloredsandstone cliffs, gleaming white domes, and contrasting layers of stone and earth.

The area was named for a line of white domes and cliffs of Navajo Sandstone, each of which looks somewhat like the United States Capitol building, that run from the Fremont River to Pleasant Creek on the Waterpocket Fold.  (Wikipedia)

This is our daily open thread, so feel free to comment about anything on your minds, and ignore my geology fetish.

21 thoughts on “The Watering Hole: December 18, Capitol Reef National Park

  1. Hey what’s with the Google Ad in your face? Was it the war on the dollar, or did WordPress cut over that real estate to the ad men?

  2. More than once. I’ve copied and pasted them into comments here on the open thread on two occasions. It’s always when using Google Chrome, never on Internet Explorer.

  3. I was only able to find them on the Nov. 21 open thread, Zooey. I copied and pasted them just as I found them.

    • Keep me posted on this, will you House & Turtle?

      I’ll stop using Google Chrome if this keeps up. I wonder why I never see them?

  4. HoR,
    I use Google Chrome Beta and have no ads pop up on me. I do have the Kaspersky Pop-up killer. In links, sometimes pop-ups are embedded for the organization that put up the source. You cannot bypass these because of copyright laws. I do get a warning bar that allows me to let a pop-up get through.

  5. I took the bus to New York City yesterday. When I stepped out of the Port Authority building (this is where the bus depot is located), the first thing I saw was the new New York Times building. Beautiful and very tall. Next thing I noticed was that I didn’t need me sunglasses. With the exception of about 2 hours, the sun doesn’t shine directly onto the streets and sidewalks. The buildings are too tall which blocks out the direct sun rays. It’s been over 25 years since I’ve been to NYC. Yesterday was very cold and very windy. I think I’ll wait until the Spring for my next visit.

  6. I have a date with a cold fish. Can you all do me a solid and post your favorite Elvis Costello song when the music starts flowing? Thanks-

  7. It was at the head of this post Zoo, on the home page. right between the ‘This is the open thread…’ and the gold stars….

    … Ads by Google, ‘War Against the Dollar’….

    IE7

  8. I have IE8 and no ad pop-ups appear in that browser. Could you copy source code for the thread and post a link to it on the web? As an alternative, high light the Window and paste it in a comment. (Alt-PrtScn does the copy to the Clip Board.)

  9. Hey who the hell is doing music night?

    I’m going to post and handful and run.

    Get yourself in the mood with Slade.

  10. Then at this time of the year, I nearly always turn to Alan Hull, Lindisfarne and this beautiful and haunting reminder of what it should be all about.

    Thanks lads for the times, Alan, RIP:

  11. And if this catchy melody from Christmas doesn’t get stuck in your head…. to all those warriors a long away from home, hoping it will be over soon and you can come back to your families.

  12. Hear hear TtT!

    Where are we doing Music Night tonight? Are we making a new thread or continuing the Cheap Trick thread from yesterday?

Comments are closed.