Music night. Happy Birthday, Lucia

I think that my “theme” for Friday nights has become an educational experience for me, giving me the opportunity to randomly discover music I’d never heard. For the rest of the people who visit here, these videos are a place holder, but I’m enjoying the process so neener neener.

Lucia Micarelli is a Julliard-trained violinist working the musical seam of ore between rock and classical music. She has toured with Josh Groban, who produced her first album, as well as with Jethro Tull and Trans-Siberian Orchestra. Because TSO has a westcoast and an eastcoast troupe, the concert master I met backstage was not Lucia Micarelli. However, the concertmaster I did meet, Anna Phoebe, has also toured with Jethro Tull. None of which is particularly relevant.  More videos below the jump and as usual, feel free to share music.

Continue reading

The Watering Hole: July 9 – Books

Finding a new authors and new books to enjoy is always one of my greatest pleasures. It happened again. I have fallen in love with a book.

Stephen Clarke

1000 Years of Annoying the French

Other books on my nightstand make quite a motley collection:

Ken Follett, Pillars of the Earth

Val McDermid, Fever of the Bone

Douglas Preston, Blasphemy

Stephen King, The Stand

Any suggestions what to read next?

This is our open thread. Just say what’s on your mind.

Down in the Foxhole

I truly believe the trio on “Fox & Friends” are doing the nation a huge disservice. Oh, sure, they’re entertaining because they don’t know what they’re talking about. But they’re dangerous because they work hard to convince their audience that they do know what they’re talking about. And their audience (as far as the ones they’re intending to reach) are not the type inclined to do their own fact-checking. For that they rely on Bill O’Reilly and Glenn Beck. Luckily for us there’s Newshounds (motto: “We watch FOX so you don’t have to.”) So I wrote this parody about the dimwits (and by “dimwits”, I mean Steve Doocy, Gretchen Carlson, and Brian Kilmeade, in case anyone thinks I’m being vague) on “Fox & Friends”. I hope you enjoy it. (And I thank you, Jane, for your help.)

Down in the Foxhole
Original words and music “Down on the Corner” by John Fogarty,
Additional lyrics by Wayne A. Schneider

Early in the mornin’, just about breakfast time
Over on the Fox set, they’re startin’ with no minds
Three dips on the TV, tryin’ to stir you up
Rupert picks a theme out and they all begin to harp

Down in the Foxhole, out comes deceit
Gretchy and the Dumb Boys are spinnin’
Keep it simple, tap the heat

Brian hits the stupid, and people just got to smile
Continue reading

Republican Girl

This could really be about any of them. Sarah Palin. Michelle Bachmann. Liz Cheney. Phyllis Schlafly. They’re all out there, so detached from reality. Maybe you can name some more. :)

As usual, thank you, Jane, for your help.

Republican Girl
Original words and music “American Girl” by Tom Petty
Additional lyrics by Wayne A. Schneider

Well, she was a Republican girl
Raised on premises
She couldn’t help thinkin’ that she
Was a little more Pro-Life than all else
After all it was a Continue reading