The Watering Hole, Monday, March 17, 2014: Why All The Hate?

If you’re like me, not only are you incredibly smart and good-looking, you wonder why so many people on the Right hate, just viscerally hate, the President of the United States. The knee-jerk reaction is to say it’s because the Haters are (Insert Randomly Insignificant Criterion Here) and the President is Not, and that for most of the haters, the randomly inserted insignificant criterion would be race. Not necessarily. There’s a lot of people who hate the president, and there’s certainly a chunk of them with an IQ well below the three-digit range who think the color of his skin is reason enough to hate him. Thankfully, despite this group’s inability to grasp the concept of birth control, Natural Selection will prevent them from becoming a majority in this country. But they don’t account for all the Haters. Some of the Haters claim to be Christians who think the President is Not One of Them. They think he’s a Muslim. What’s really funny about that one is that these are the same people who said Obama shouldn’t be President because he sat in the pews of a Christian church for 20 years listening to the hate speech of Reverend Jeremiah Wright. Well, Uptighty Righties, which is it? Is Obama a Muslim, or a Christian who listened to a kind of hate speech that differs from your own? None of your other reasons to hate him make sense, either. At least, none of the reasons coming from the Right. Some of us on the Left certainly have our problems with a number of areas of his Governance, but we don’t hate him for it. We’re disappointed as all get-out, but we don’t hate him. But you do. Why?

I hear many of you claim he’s a “Communist,” a “Marxist,” and even a “Fascist,” all at once. And I laugh, because if I don’t, I’ll start shaking my head in sadness until I’m overcome by sobbing fits, despondent over the intense stupidity of my fellow human beings. You can’t be a Marxist and a Fascist at the same time, and if you don’t know enough about them to understand why, you should really stay out of the political arena. I would also not only recommend, I would beg you to stay home on Election Day, or least don’t go near the polls to cast a vote. Your political awareness is on par with that of sea urchins, who are at least smart enough not to advertise their ignorance. I just can’t see how America’s best interests are served by letting you have a say in who governs it. But you’ll notice (or, more likely, I’ll have to point out to you) that I’m not calling for you to not be allowed to vote. That’s how many on your side of the political aisle solve an issue like that. If they don’t like the way they think someone is likely to vote, they make up some bullshit reason to deny him the right to vote at all. Our side doesn’t do that, nor do we put out fliers telling you the election is being held on another day. We just ask you to do what’s best for your country, and don’t vote until you learn what you’re talking about.

You can’t govern a country based on denying rights to the people who aren’t like you, especially when about 75% of the country is not like you! This is a Republic, and you are a small percentage of its citizens. We don’t need to put anybody in Congress who thinks like you because there’s something wrong with the way you think. You need mental health treatment. And we hope you’ll be happy to learn it’s covered thanks to Obamacare.

This is our daily open thread. Feel free to discuss what you think we should do about all the Haters, or anything else you want.

53 thoughts on “The Watering Hole, Monday, March 17, 2014: Why All The Hate?

    • There are a lot of waterfront restaurants where I live and sitting outside in the shade by the water with my dog enjoying an afternoon shrimp snack and a beer is something I enjoy.
      The wait staff informed me one day that I could no longer bring my dog while I dined outside enjoying the scenery and taking it all in.
      I have never returned to that place.

      Hate is taught to the mentally/emotionally weak.

      Wait until your life is saved one day by one of “those people” pulling you out of a wreck or properly diagnosing an illness. Then ask them about their perspective on life and racial issues.
      I would love to see the expression on the face of a KKK member after a life saving blood transfusion from a blood match that wasn’t from a white person.
      I’m the kind of guy that would do that just to screw with them.

      Driving through the boonies this morning and passed a Baptist church with a confederate flag flying in front of it.
      I wonder how their attendance is doing?

  1. The evangelical christians who now control the republican party have been taught to hate any and every one who is not one of ‘the chosen’. They will actively hate all non republicans, and republicans who do not uphold thier ‘social values’. They don’t even recognize their own conflicting values, as they readily forgive the most heinous breaches committed by one of their own, but visciously condemn the slightest transgression commited by ‘the unchurched’.

    • those evangelical “christians” will be among the lucky 144,000 who will be beamed up…right?

      lesseeee now….world population is 7.2 billion, give or take a few million….that’s a whopping .00002% the bible says will live an eternal life.

      i think i’ll stick with lottery tickets.

  2. Oh, and BTW, the president isn’t Irish, either. All the more reason to viscerally dislike him.
    /snarkch

  3. So, they can track your phone to within a few feet of you but somehow manage to lose a 226 million dollar airplane?

    • They can’t track your phone while it’s turned off. The pilot turned off the ‘company cellphone’.

      • The airplane was stolen.
        They are always in touch with dispatch.
        I strongly think it’s headed to a chop shop on a grand scale.

        • Yeah, I’m wondering if a guy in a wheelchair with a fluffy white cat on his lap is the mastermind.

  4. BMM covered the signal from Obama that the US was preparing its Strategic Petroleum Reserve – presumably as a warning to Putin about what the US thinks of any energy problems resulting from his adventures in Crimea and Ukraine.

    Here’s an opinion piece from Euromaidan on that subject – some decent analysis of the geopolitics and a useful stick to beat your local teabagger over the heat with when they bleat “Oh build the KeystoneXL that’ll do it”….. Again (as I pointed out on the tweeter this weekend to a Bagger who I was willing to talk until he used the words ‘f**k’ and ‘stupid’ to make a ‘point’). http://euromaidanpr.wordpress.com/2014/03/16/why-did-the-us-open-up-its-oil-reserves/#more-4887

    KeystoneXL will do absolutely nothing for the geopolitics of Ukraine/Russia – it enriches the Kochs and their partners at the expense of US taxpayers, mid-West drivers and the Plains States environments – end of story, that’s it.

  5. Hate and Fear works and it sells.

    It’s a powerful tool used by those in power to control the masses. It works. Thinking of Orwell’s 2-Minutes Hate and Hate Week in 1984. We’ve gone to the next level. We have 24/7 hate.

  6. When I was 6 or 7, there was a bigger boy in the neighborhood who hated me with a passion, and he would take every opportunity to hit me (if no one was looking) or say mean things.

    I was crying one day, after “Tony Baloney” ran over me with his bike, and asked my mom why he was so horrible, not just to me, but to everyone. If I close my eyes, I can still see her face and hear her voice: “Being mean and hateful is easy. It takes no effort at all. Being caring and nice to people takes effort, but it’s worth it because it makes the world a better place. Be nice to everyone, and if they prove they don’t deserve it, then be polite.”

    She never directly said anything about Tony Baloney, and, funnily enough, I never saw Tony Baloney again. That’s probably a good thing, because I felt bad about calling him Tony Baloney, and was going to tell him I was sorry — and he probably would have hit me. 😀

  7. Is it ironically hypocritical or hypocritically ironic? Rupert is calling for a (gulp!) boycott of Guinness fro pulling their sponsorship of the St. Paddy’s parade. So. If we common folk call for a boycott of a company over their overt bigotry we are “enemies of the 1st Amendment” but, when a company makes a move to avoid charges of bigotry, boycotts are just fine and dandy.

    http://mediamatters.org/blog/2014/03/17/rupert-murdoch-urges-boycott-of-guinness-for-it/198506

  8. When an individual is protesting
    society’s refusal to acknowledge his
    dignity as a human being, his very act
    of protest confers dignity on him.

    Bayard Rustin
    17 March 1912 – August 1987

  9. “The Lord works in strange ways.” Somebody said that once; I forget why. Or who, for that matter.

    Former House stenographer says she didn’t lose it last year when she interrupted the proceedings:

    “I got up, and I do remember walking to the dais and speaking, and standing at the podium where the president speaks as God would have it, but I did not lose my mind. I did not have a breakdown.”

    She said she knew well in advance “God was going to speak through me” during an important vote.

    • They live amongst us…. they live up the street from us…. we see them at work….. they are everywhere….. and they are barking, bugfook nutz

    • Having a dissociative disorder doesn’t necessarily mean you’ve lost your mind, although it might appear that way, and it most certainly doesn’t mean “god” is speaking through you.

      It means you need treatment for a mental health issue, woman! Her husband is friggin’ clueless, and is not helping at all.

      • I figure it this way: if ever I should say ‘god speaks through me’ it can only mean one thing — I’m nuts. The only other option is that when I’m talking I’m actually god, which could explain everything except one little detail: since god doesn’t exist then I must not exist either. That’s a tricky one, given that as far as I know I actually do exist. So . . .

        If I ever make the claim, I’m probably simply nuts. The easier path is sometimes also the most reasonable. Esp. when ‘god’ is involved. Something like that.😯

        • And if not nuts… then I am a racist/bigot/fascist/homophobe/xenophobe and I don’t have the stones to come out and just say so….. but God spoke to me about it and he’s speaking through me (as I drag your homo/commie/n***er ass down the road behind my pick up yeehah)

  10. Why doesn’t NBC find a crappy game show for Luke Russert to host? I turn over to get Ed Schultz and Russert subbed for Alex Wagner today. Blech!

  11. Maybe it’s the devil that’s in the details?

    CNN’s Don Lemon Wonders Whether Something ‘Supernatural’ Happened to Malaysian Plane

    CNN anchor Don Lemon and Decoded host Brad Meltzer bandied about the idea Sunday afternoon that something “beyond our understanding” happened to Malaysia Airlines flight MH 370, that “something” being perhaps supernatural maybe?

    “Especially today, on a day when we deal with the supernatural,” Lemon said. “We go to church, the supernatural power of God…people are saying to me, why aren’t you talking about the possibility — and I’m just putting it out there — that something odd happened to this plane, something beyond our understanding?”

    • And this is from the “grown up” news network. But? It’s not the best theory I’ve heard. The best one, so far, is that Emelia Earhart finally got so pissed off about being left to rot on that damned island that she whittled a bamboo spear and took down the first plane she saw.

      On a more serious note: has it ever occurred to these people that the ocean is really effing big even if we know where to look? Have they forgotten about the poor guy who floated around in his boat for a year and a half?

      • As is often the case amongst a certain crowd, it’s far simpler to say god did it. That way, no more worries, the answer is clear. Whether the origin of the universe or a pregnant virgin, god did it. Case closed. God can do anything and everything, whenever he feels like it. Why? There are some things we’re not meant to know. I asked one of ‘those’ folks one time where god came from. “Oh, God is eternal, He’s always been there always will.” When I suggested that the invention of “god” was an extra and totally unnecessary step, the conversation came to an abrupt end.

        Funny how mythology so often overwhelms conscious investigation. I guess because it’s so much easier. We need more evolution. LOTS more evolution.

    • TN is on par with FL.

      Officers caught up with his wife at a hospital, where she told them she had decided to live her life for God, who told her to stop smoking marijuana all day and night. According to God, she said, weed is only for relaxing in the evenings.

    • I guess the five hours of rain delay was too much for her.

      The race was delayed by more than five hours by rain. The start was delayed by two hours, and the field ran just 117 laps before the race was halted by more rain. It was red-flagged for three hours, 18 minutes before resuming under the lights at 7:17 p.m.

      He probably watched all the pre-race, then the fill-in coverage, then switched from Fox to Fox Sports One, for the rest of the coverage and the final restart. The total time was maybe ten hours?

        • Bristol is one of the ‘old school’ tracks. It’s been on the Nascar circuit for decades. It’s also one of the most difficult tickets to get, especially the night race later in the year.

          It even rained at Phoenix two weeks ago.

Comments are closed.