Music Night, August 29, 2014

One of my most cherished LPs in the late 60s was Projections from The Blues Project.

The hunky guy in the middle is Danny Kalb, the lead guitar (second from the left is Al Kooper). After the band broke up Kalb went through rough personal days and never got the recognition he deserved. In 1969 he recorded one album with Stefan Grossman and that LP, Crosscurrents, was a favorite in my vinyl collection. Something jostled in my memory this week and I discovered that Crosscurrents was available on CD–I’m looking at it right now, still in its wrapper waiting to go home with me.

I finally got to see The Blues Project in concert in the early 80s during their reunion tour. Some of their voices had aged badly but their musical chops were still excellent. This video is from an acoustic set of Danny Kalb’s. I think it’s worth a listen with some tasty work at the three-minute mark.

24 thoughts on “Music Night, August 29, 2014

  1. available on CD–I’m looking at it right now, still in its wrapper waiting to go home with me.

    I recall those times when we’d go to Sear’s to get a new 45 or 33 1/3 – the anticipation – couldn’t get home fast enough listen to our new treasure (whatever it may have been at the time)

    • The place to get records when I was a kid was G.C.Murphy’s. We were in there almost every week, for one reason or another. The hardcore audiophiles went to Hornbuckle’s Record Shop, but getting my mom to stop in there wasn’t likely. Woolworth’s was another store with a decent record department we might get to shop in.

        • Yes the temp was lower, and now I’ve got three days off. The inner thigh muscle still reminds me it had a cramp, but I finally got some Gatorade back in the house today.

  2. Ebb is holding our friday night musical extravaganza at the ether level. I offer my go to’s to end another friday..

Comments are closed.