Music Night, December 5, 2014

There’s no question in my mind that my father’s love of goofy humor lives on in me (and my son). He would drag me to the radio to listen to The Goon Show and any other zany British comedians and to see the Marx Brothers whenever the opportunity arose. When we lived near NYC this meant being able to go into the city and watch them in a real theater, including one glorious triple bill.

My childhood was often punctuated by his LP of collected songs by Spike Jones and the City Slickers until I could (and probably still can) spout the lyrics and sound effects of every song. When we were living in Oregon in the late 50s, he took me to see them. At a boat show.

47 thoughts on “Music Night, December 5, 2014

  1. Given the news of late, this song has been much on my mind. I like the live version here for the visuals as well as the music. “It ain’t no secret … you can get killed just for living in your American Skin.”

    • I saw videos of Pretty Reckless a couple of years ago(?) and was very impressed. I have a vague memory of Taylor wearing white lingerie and I think she was only 17 at the time. She has chops. I think I also remember that she’s got a band of long-time professional musicians–old guys that know how to play music.

  2. Perhaps unsurprisingly, this is the best song from the album, and it is the one the radio never plays … (Not the song for Thanksgiving.)
    “Somewhere in the end of all this hate … ”

  3. Leonard Cohen by Johnette…. after the past few weeks….. this seems like America doesn’t it?

  4. From TommytheTurtle’s jazz band concert on Wednesday….🙂. An jazz intellectual is someone who listens to this without thinking of George McFly…

    • It is so sad to lose so many great artists to drugs or alcohol. I read once that many artists suffer from bi-polar disorder. When they are up, they create their best work. And when they are down, they sink so low. The drugs and alcohol are for self-medicating. Unfortunately, too many times the self- medicating leads to “cease to breath”.

Comments are closed.