The Watering Hole: December 23, 2014

Oh my name it is nothin’
My age it means less.
The country I come from
Is called the Midwest
I’s taught and brought up there
The laws to abide
And that the land that I live in
Has God on its side

Oh the history books tell it
They tell it so well
The cavalries charged
The Indians fell
The cavalries charged
The Indians died
Oh the country was young
With God on its side

Oh the Spanish-American
War had its day
And the Civil War too
Was soon laid away
And the names of the heroes
l’s made to memorize
With guns in their hands
And God on their side

Oh the First World War, boys
It closed out its fate
The reason for fighting
I never got straight
But I learned to accept it
Accept it with pride
For you don’t count the dead
When God’s on your side

When the Second World War
Came to an end
We forgave the Germans
And we were friends
Though they murdered six million
In the ovens they fried
The Germans now too
Have God on their side

I’ve learned to hate Russians
All through my whole life
If another war starts
It’s them we must fight
To hate them and fear them
To run and to hide
And accept it all bravely
With God on my side

But now we got weapons
Of the chemical dust
If fire them we’re forced to
Then fire them we must
One push of the button
And a shot the world wide
And you never ask questions
When God’s on your side

Through many dark hour
I’ve been thinkin’ about this
That Jesus Christ
Was betrayed by a kiss
But I can’t think for you
You’ll have to decide
Whether Judas Iscariot
Had God on his side

So now as I’m leavin’
I’m weary as Hell
The confusion I’m feelin’
Ain’t no tongue can tell
The words fill my head
And fall to the floor
If God’s on our side
He’ll stop the next war

(These lyrics are a bit different than those being sung)

This is our daily open thread.

55 thoughts on “The Watering Hole: December 23, 2014

  1. Good poem…. “Gott mit uns” – the inscription on the belt buckle of Hitler’s Wehrmacht

    • Sucks bad, doesn’t it? My Mom died Christmas Eve 2005.

      And my mother-in-law could pass any hour now. I’m not a big fan of Christmas anymore.

      • It totally sucks. I wasn’t a big fan of Christmas anyway, but now it’s just another day. I respect that other people still enjoy the holiday.

        • My eldest brother will forever be 45 years old…he died Christmas Eve ’95.
          My nephews were young when Kev died. They each have two children.
          If it weren’t for the young ones, then and now, Christmas wouldn’t be but another day.

    • My father was born on this date in 1913, 101 years ago, but he died 35 years ago in 1979. That means I only knew my father for half of my lifetime so far and getting less!

      • I was lucky to have my parents as long as I did. 🙂

        It’s interesting that my grandparents were younger than your parents. 😉

      • My dad was born in 1905, died in 1981 @ age 76. I was short of 39 on that date, so I’m already past the half-a-lifetime mark.

        Christmas? It’s the fourth day after the solstice so the days are already getting longer. Other than that? Yeah, well, y’ know.

        • The fourth day after the solstice…..otherwise just another day off.

          I’m pleased the granddaughters are so excited.

          Not so pleased so many people are suffering who shouldn’t be. It may be a good day to drop a letter to Boehner and share a bit of Christmas misery with him.

    • I’m sorry so many of you have these bittersweet memories this time of year. All my loved ones die in the fall. I reckon as I get older I’ll come to fear September and October.

    • For your Teabagger relative at the Xmas table:

      “Gas prices at $2.60 and falling, unemployment below 6%, stock market at a record high….. have to love that Obama Recovery!?”

      “I don’t see any recovery…. what Obama Recovery”

      “Oh so that Reaganomics Trickley-Downy thing not working too well eh?”

  2. Well thankfully our long, national nightmare is over.

  3. WTF is going on with kids these days? Actually at 18 they are expected to be adults…

    Washington state high school student died early on Sunday after agreeing to let himself be punched in the face to settle a dispute with a friend and schoolmate, KIRO-TV reported.

Comments are closed.