The Watering Hole, Tuesday March 31, 2015 – Environmental News and Food Politics

Back after last week’s unexcused absence.

 

Item 1

OK, let’s blame the cookie but not the gun…

Guns don’t kill, cookies do.

Item 2

Don’t know if it is true, but supposedly written on WC Field’s tombstone is the phrase “I’d rather be here than in Philadelphia.” Well, after turning up this story, I’d say he might have been on to something. But not to worry, most of the victims were lawyers.

What do you call 100 lawyers sickened at a banquet? A start.

http://www.foodsafetynews.com/2015/03/nearly-100-people-sickened-after-attending-philadelphia-banquet/#.VRrVwI5vC1w

(With apologies to those among us who toil in the law.)

Little surprises in each morsel.

Open thread.

 

 

 

24 thoughts on “The Watering Hole, Tuesday March 31, 2015 – Environmental News and Food Politics

  1. Kentucky Gov. Steve Beshear says the state’s ban on gay marriage should be upheld in part because it is not discriminatory in that both gay and straight people are barred from marrying people of the same gender. Chessmate, libertardos.

  2. I got my hair cut today by a woman who, like me, was born in 1944. I’ve used her services 3 or 4 times during the last 3 or 4 years. Today I was her first customer and we had an unhurried conversation. I asked her if she uses Goggle and she said she had never used a computer but that her husband does have a computer and emails and stuff. She pined for a return to the 1950’s and balked at my suggestion that younger generation was better equipped to change the social and political problems that our (her’s and mine) generation has created.

    I realized that I don’t even know this woman’s name but will endeavor to remember to ask her when I return in a couple of months. I will also suggest to her that the best thing about the 1950’s is that people with mental problems were treated by doctors then, not elected to office.

    • best thing about the 1950’s is that people with mental problems were treated by doctors then, not elected to office.

      This!

    • I love that there are “a couple of months” between your haircuts. 😉

      Of course, I might get a trim once a year, so…well nevermind.

    • "NASCARDecries Indiana Anti-Gay Law". And when NASCAR calls you homophobic, you are homo-friggin'-phobic.— God (@TheTweetOfGod) March 31, 2015

      The Man weighs in…. he is also claiming to have struck a certain religious school in Indiana in the March Madness earlier this week as judgement …

Comments are closed.