The Watering Hole, Saturday, May 9th, 2015: Overload

I have next to nothing today, simply because there’s way too much crazy shit out there and I’m just overloaded.

Looking at:  the several Republican 2016 Presidential hopefuls who have come out of their nutshells just this past week alone; the freaking HUGE sums of money being thrown at them and other possible candidates by the Kochs, Sheldon Adelson, and “interest groups” (aka front men for the Kochs, Adelson, and powerful ne’er-do-well corporations); the newest batshit crazy delusions that they’re all spouting; not to mention the frightening impact that climate change is already having and knowing that there’s worse to come; on top of way too fucking many murderous “law enforcement officers” and dead young black men…well, I could go on and on, but the point is that my brain just can’t take in much more.

Last night, while watching the Star Trek Next Gen episode “Tin Man”, I felt a kinship with the character Tam Elbrun, a Betazoid whose unnaturally strong telepathic ability has caused lifelong psychological problems because he hears everybody’s thoughts, all of the time, and cannot shut them out. Tam is brought on board the Enterprise for an unusual first-contact mission, an attempt to communicate with with an alien “ship”, nicknamed “Tin Man”, which turns out to be the last surviving member of a sentient species of space travelers. Tin Man is saved from suicide by its contact with Tam, and Tam decides to remain inside Tin Man. Traveling through space with Tin Man enables Tam to eliminate all the thoughts hurled at his mind by humans and humanoids.

Most of the times that I’ve watched this episode in the past, I couldn’t really empathize with Tam Elbrun.  These days, I envy him.

This is our daily Open Thread – talk about whatever you want.

13 thoughts on “The Watering Hole, Saturday, May 9th, 2015: Overload

  1. Any time there’s more than two options, Jane, when the flip of a coin is inadequate, it pays to have a dart board.

  2. ~!~ International Migratory Bird Day ~!~

  3. GOP Proposes $300 Million Cut To NASA’s Earth Science Budget

    The vote on the NASA bill came just a week after the same House committee approved major funding cuts to the National Science Foundation’s geosciences program, as well as cuts to Department of Energy programs that support research into new energy sources. As Michael Hiltzik, a columnist for the Los Angeles Times, noted, the committee is “living down to our worst expectations.”

    IOW, ‘maybe if we just quit studying all this crap nobody will talk about it any more and then global warming and climate change will go away. Plus the Kochs will really like us a lot, and we all know what THAT means!’

    I can’t decide if Republicans are stupid, dishonest, or both. I’m guessing both.

    • I remember when Life of Brian came out. I lived in Phoenix then, and the local paper letter section was crammed with anti-Brian and anti-Python crapola. I laughed so hard the first time I saw the movie that when DVD’s showed up I got one of Brian, still watch it at least once a year, still laugh my ass off when I do.

      I wonder why the world didn’t end? Of course, we did elect Reagan shortly thereafter, and I guess that could pass as the end of the world. The civilized part at least.

  4. Andy Borowitz

    Unemployment has dropped to 5.4%, but the real number is actually much higher if you hate Obama.

Comments are closed.