The Watering Hole, Saturday, July 18, 2015: White Be Not Proud

When the Confederate Flag was finally removed from the South Carolina Statehouse grounds, we saw how racists (who often do not understand why they are racist) in that state reacted – with more racism. A petition to remove the African-American Monument has garnered nearly 40,000 signatures so far. Their stated reason for wanting the monument removed? Because “this monument can and does serve to invoke in the white community feelings of shame, humiliation and offense, serving as a constant reminder of the dark history of slavery.” Which is, of course, the entire point.

Keith Harmon, the petition’s author, said the flag shouldn’t have been removed in response to a white supremacist’s massacre of nine black churchgoers. He said, “I think killing nine innocent people was completely and totally wrong, (but) it has nothing to do with the flag — nothing at all.” He could not have been more wrong. The Confederate Flag had EVERYTHING to do with this crime of despicable hatred. Like many lovers of the Confederacy who have been taught an alternate reality of history, Harmon thinks the flag can’t be a symbol of hate because his ancestors fought under it. “My great, great, great grandfather and ancestors fought in this war for this state,” Harmon said. Well, Harmon, your great, great, great granddaddy fought to preserve Slavery and the oppression of the black man.

Since you mentioned “this state,” Harmon, perhaps you should read up on your history. “This state” (South Carolina) seceded from the United States specifically, unequivocally, and indisputably because they believed in Slavery, and they were very upset that President-Elect Lincoln might want to end it in America. In fact, many of the states that seceded cited this very reason. And not only did they believe in Slavery, they believed that white people were superior to black people, and that the natural state of the black man was as a slave to the white man. It’s no coincidence that the people who primarily fly that flag today do so out of racism. In fact, the very thing that has Harmon so upset – the removal of the Confederate flag from the statehouse – was done to correct a wrong done about fifty years ago. The flag was intentionally put on the statehouse in protest to the Civil Rights movement, so there is ample reason to believe that today, in the 21st century, the Battle Flag of Northern Virginia is primarily a symbol of racism and white supremacy.

So the African-American Monument makes you feel ashamed as a white person? Good, it’s doing its job, because you should be ashamed of what your ancestors did in defense of Slavery. There is not and never was anything noble about Slavery, no matter who’s doing it or to whom. I sincerely hope that South Carolina’s official reaction to this petition is three simple words: “Go to Hell.”

This is our daily open thread. Feel free to discuss whatever you wish to discuss.

44 thoughts on “The Watering Hole, Saturday, July 18, 2015: White Be Not Proud

  1. I would support Harmon’s petition — IF the Nazi Swastika and the Soviet Hammer/Sickle flags were flown side-by-side and at equal height. They all stand for horror, after all, and if one is to be honored they all should be. Honored. Flown in honor of haters and idiots everywhere. Including those in S. Carolina.

  2. I get a lot of weird coincidences in my life that have begun to alarm me. Often there are legitimate, even obvious, reasons why you’d encounter the same thing twice in close proximity. A local sports team that had a favorite song just won a championship, so every local radio station is playing that song, and that’s why you’d hear it two days in a row or something. That kind of thing. But what if the coincidences involve things that have absolutely no connection to one another except me?

    Last night, on a total lark (because my humor is often spontaneous, in reaction to what happens), I playfully posted a video of William Shatner performing Elton John’s “Rocket Man.” It’s a classic, and if you’ve never seen it, I can honestly say you’re missing something in your life. I hadn’t heard the song in a while and, as I said, it was a spur-of-the-moment thing. This morning, as I was pulling out of my local supermarket, “Rocket Man” came on the radio. This kind of coincidence happens to me all the time.

    About an hour ago, I was flipping through the channel guide and saw that “The Monkees” was on. I changed the channel just as one episode was ending and as the next one was beginning, I was thinking of one of my favorite scenes in the silly show and I almost said something about it to Jane. I didn’t. It turned out that very episode we watched had that very scene I was going to tell Jane I always liked. I hadn’t thought about it lately. I had no idea that “The Monkees” was being run on any channel at that time slot. I do not recall hearing any reference to that bit on any media I heard that the person at that network who decides what episodes to show might also have heard, and picked it to run today (which would explain why I saw it.) No reason whatsoever that I can think of to explain why something I thought of (clearly and distinctly enough to get ready to mention it to someone else) should end up happening immediately after.

    Oh, and last night I asked Curtis Granderson to lead off the Mets game with a home run, and he did. I’m sure I’m not the only one who wished him to do that, so that could easily be somebody else’s coincidence, too. I’m often wrong, too. I asked him to hit his 45th leadoff homer. It was only his 33rd.

    I’m afraid to think.

    • Wayne, concentrate and repeat after me: ‘Danica will win at Loudon tomorrow, Danica will win at Loudon tomorrow.’

      Hey, it’s worth a shot!😀

      • Well, to be perfectly honest, I was flipping through channels and happened to see a NASCAR thing was going on, but it was just practice. And Danica was the one they were showing. So you may have just fulfilled my Danica coincidence for the day.😆

        • I can’t be sure if it works that way or not, frugal. There have been times in my life when i was short of funds, and I’d unexpectedly get a check in the mail that helped out big time. Of course, there were a hell of a lot more times when no such check arrived.

          Besides, no matter how many times I’ve though of you frugal, I’ve never gotten a million bucks.

          Also, you don’t want a bunch of deer running around your yard, so be careful for what you wish.🙂

          • Deer be cool, and they don’t eat much!🙂 Actually, on Thanksgiving eve 2009, four of them spent the night out there. Better them than our local bears, that much for sure!

    • Bill McKibben’s plenary address at the recent 2015 International Whitehead Conference, in Claremont, CA. (I delivered two papers myself, none as well attended as McKibben’s.) The theme of the conference was “Seizing an Alternative: Toward an Ecological Civilization.”

      McKibben’s body language is interesting to me — he is clearly not comfortable on the stage. (The auditorium where he delivered his address probably had over 2,000 people in it for this presentation.)

      • After Rachael’s report, I looked at the area on google maps and saw how close you are. I was hoping you might know someone who drives the Taconic State Parkway past there to keep us updated on the signs.🙂

    • More fuel for the fire:

      McCain became a prisoner after his plane was shot down. Bush I was called a hero after his plane was shot down and he wasn’t captured by the enemy.

      I wonder if Trump is a hero for his deals that went belly up!

    • “He’s not a war hero,” Trump said. Sarcastically, Trump quipped, “He’s a war hero because he was captured.” Then, he added, “I like people that weren’t captured.”

      Ergo, Trump likes Hitler.

  3. You’ll hear about this. Black Lives Matter is disrupting the candidates’ forum at Netroots Nation. Martin O’Malley’s portion was completely shut down for ten or fifteen minutes, Now they’re shutting down Bernie Sanders’ turn.

    • Bernie got through it without losing his temper, but he was close to it. I think his segment got cut short. The forum host said during the O’Malley segment that he was undocumented, and seemed to want to dwell on immigration issues, which would get the Black Lives Matter protesters to start chanting.

      This incident smacks of Republican dirty tricks. There must have been agent provocateurs in the crowd.
      They shouted Bernie down (as they did O’Malley) even when he tried to address their issue. Remember the summer 2009 town halls? This was teabagger tactics.

      • The host was Jose Antonio Vargas, I found out just now. Checked his twitter, and netroots’ twitter. They must be embarrassed about this , because it’s not mentioned.

      • Black Lives don’t matter to Teabaggers or, apparently, to Russians (not that there’s a hell of a lot of difference between one fascist group and another fascist group):

        Fan Yells Monkey Noises At Black Soccer Player, But Only The Player Gets Kicked Out

        Ghanaian midfielder Emmanuel Frimpong was kicked out of the opening match of the Russian Premier League season on Friday after shouting back at fans in Moscow who were chanting monkey noises at him. The incident calls attention back to players’ threats to boycott the 2018 World Cup in Russia — already stained by corruption charges against FIFA — unless the country starts to rein in its virulently racist fan culture.

  4. Obama’s Donors Flocking To Sanders, Romney’s Going To Rubio

    Bernie Sanders is drawing more of Barack Obama’s 2012 campaign donors than Hillary Clinton.

    (snip)

    These are the findings of Crowdpac, a San Francisco-based political data-mining firm which analyzed the July presidential campaign finance reports.

    The Vermont senator has already received contributions from 24,582 of Obama’s donors; whereas Clinton has only tapped just over 9,000 of them. Martin O’Malley, the former Maryland governor, has grabbed 383 Obama donors.

    That means Sanders has nabbed 72 percent of the 34,340 Obama donors who have given to a candidate in 2016, according to Crowdpac.

    • That site never finishes loading. No matter how long I wait, the swirly thing never stops circling.

      • That site has a lot of ads that run on Shockwave Flash, which craps out a lot. I use Google Chrome. When Shockwave stops working, I get a notice to stop the script. When it pops back up with the notice to re-start the plugin, I close it without activating. I then see a bunch of “Oh, snap” failures where the ads would have been. It rarely causes the main video to not work.

        • I’ve been getting the same thing, Wayne. I figured out to not refresh until I had a chance to look around, but once you do refresh, the same problem re-occurs.

          Raw Story is different. I have trouble getting the page to let me scroll up and down with the scroll wheel, and I get intermittent burps of audio from some ad I never can seem to find. Even so, the site keeps trying to load the whole time.

Comments are closed.