The Watering Hole, Monday, August 3, 2015: The Unhidden Racism of Donald Trump

Pelt-wearing Republican Presidential Wannabe Gadfly Donald Trump lent his voiceover talents to ABC’s This Week without George Stephanopoulos when he literally phoned in an interview with substitute host Jonathan Karl. Scrutiny was recently drawn to a tweet The Donald made last year about President Barack Obama. In it, he said, “Sadly, because President Obama has done such a poor job as president, you won’t see another black president for generations.” And there it is. Plain as day for anyone to see. Anyone, that is, except The Donald Himself. He seems to be of the belief that however Barack Obama’s performance may be, it will totally and exclusively reflect on any future African-American candidates for POTUS. If there were any validity to that, and if it was such a widely held belief among other conservatives, then why is Dr. Ben Carson running for POTUS (a decision the doctor himself has publicly questioned)? According to Trump, Obama has performed so badly that Carson could never get elected (much to the delight of Mrs. Ben Carson, who was looking forward to a nice, quiet retirement), and that it would be solely because of the color of his skin. FTR, by every account I can find, Dr. Ben Carson really was a brilliant pediatric neurosurgeon, and I never want to demean that accomplishment in any way. I do not claim that I could ever do anything of the sort, so I have nothing but respect and admiration for Dr. Carson’s medical career and accomplishments. It’s his viewpoints on things unrelated to medicine that concern me. But in no way, shape, or form, do I, or for that matter, almost all Liberals, think that Dr. Carson’s inability to be elected POTUS has anything to do with the color of his skin. It’s the fact that he’s a lunatic that makes him unqualified.

This idea Trump has, that there’s not only nothing wrong with judging a POTUS candidate by the color of his skin, but that it’s what everyone will do, is why racists often do not understand why they are racist. I think they honestly believe that everybody else sees the world as they do, so everybody in the world is as racist as they are (if they are at all), so what’s wrong with just saying what everybody’s thinking? I can field that one easily enough. We, the ones you hate so much because of the way we think, do not think the way you do. We do not look at someone’s skin color and decide everyone else just like him will be the same. What’s weird is that while this is exactly what you did in the case of Obama, you would never look at President George W. Bush, widely and accurately regarded as one of the worst presidents in our nation’s history, and say, “Sadly, because President Bush has done such a poor job as president, you won’t see another white president for generations.” You would never say it because for you, the accomplishments and failures of white people has nothing to do with the color of their skin. That only applies to People of Color in the minds of people who divide people by skin color – you know, racists.

KARL: So let me ask you about something you tweeted last year. You said of Barack Obama, “Sadly, because President Obama has done such a poor job as president, you won’t see another black president for generations.”

What did you mean by that?

TRUMP: Well, I think he’s been a very poor president. I think he has done a very poor job as president. We have $18 trillion right now in debt and going up rapidly.

KARL: But what did you mean? What —

TRUMP: Wait a minute.

The world is — we don’t have victories anymore. China is killing us on trade. Mexico’s killing us at the border and also killing us on trade. Mexico’s doing unbelievably against us in trade.

You look at what’s going on with Japan. You look at what’s going on with Vietnam. You look at Saudi Arabia, makes $1 billion a day and we defend them. We get nothing.

KARL: I understand your critique. But why do you say that means we won’t see another black president for generations?

TRUMP: Because I think that he has set a very poor standard. I think that he has set a very low bar and I think it’s a shame for the African American people.

And by the way, he has done nothing for African Americans. You look at what’s gone on with their income levels. You look at what’s gone on with their youth. I thought that he would be a great cheerleader for this country. I thought he’d do a fabulous job for the African American citizens of this country.

He has done nothing. They are worse now than just about ever and —

KARL: But —

TRUMP: — they are — excuse me. They have problems now in terms of unemployment numbers, look at their unemployment numbers. And you have — here you have a black president who’s done very poorly for the African Americans of this country.

And I think that I will win the African American vote and I think I will win the Hispanic vote. And if you see the recent polls that came out, Jon, you’ll see that because I’m leading in the Hispanic vote.

Naturally, because he had so many other important upon which he wanted to give quick questions for quick answers, he could not continue asking The Donald why he believes race is the sole determining factor for anybody’s assessment of a candidate? Instead, The Donald solidified his non-credentials to be the President of the United States. A longer version of teh trump Interview can be found here.

KARL: All right. We’re almost out of time. I want to go through a couple of lightning round, quick questions, to get a sense of what a Trump presidency would look like.

First of all, Supreme Court, who is your model for a Supreme Court nomination?

TRUMP: Well, I have a number of people that I like. But I will say this, when it comes to the Supreme Court, I’d want high intellect, and I’d want very conservative. I would like really high intellect and very conservative.

KARL: Would President Trump authorize waterboarding and other enhanced interrogation techniques, even torture?

TRUMP: I would be inclined to be very strong. When people are chopping off other people’s heads and then we’re worried about waterboarding and we can’t, because I have no doubt that that works. I have absolutely no doubt.

KARL: You’d bring back waterboarding?

TRUMP: …you mention waterboarding, which was such a big subject. I haven’t heard that term in a year now, because when you see the other side chopping off heads, waterboarding doesn’t sound very severe.

KARL: OK. I want to get a sense of what a Trump cabinet looks like, so very quickly, throughout a couple of names: Secretary of State. Who can we see? Who would you consider?

TRUMP: I wouldn’t want to put any names out there right now. I think it’s far too early. I want to see. And I’m certainly looking at the field. And there are certainly some tremendous people that we could put in, but it would be somebody that’s very strong, very smart, and you know what else would be important, very energetic. You need a lot of energy.

KARL: Runningmate: Sarah Palin said some very nice things about you, you’ve said some nice things about her. Will you consider her as a possible runningmate?

TRUMP: Well, I don’t think she’d want to, because at the — the answer is — you know, I like Sarah Palin a lot. I think Sarah Palin has got the very unfair press. I think the press has treated her very unfairly. But I would pick somebody that would be a terrific — you know, you have to view it as really who would be a good president in case something happened. But I would — there are many, many people out there that I think would be very good.

KARL: OK. Last question very quickly, Reince Priebus, chairman of the party, has said that all candidates should pledge not to run as a third party if they don’t win the nomination. Will you take that pledge this morning? Will you pledge not to run as a third party candidate?

TRUMP: I will tell you this, I am leading in every poll, and in some cases by a tremendous margin, and people are a little bit surprised, but I’m not surprised. And people that know me aren’t surprised, because they see what’s going on with this country.

If I’m treated fairly by — and don’t win, but if I’m treated fairly by the Republican Party, I would have no interest in doing that. If I’m not treated fairly by the Republican Party, I very well might consider that. And I would certainly not give that up.

KARL: OK. Donald Trump, thank you for joining us.

TRUMP: Thank you very much.

This is our daily open thread. Feel free to discuss Donald Trump, Ben Carson, other famous pelt wearers, or anything else you wish to discuss.

47 thoughts on “The Watering Hole, Monday, August 3, 2015: The Unhidden Racism of Donald Trump

  1. Trying to make sense out of Donald Trumps answers = Like teaching a fish to ride a bicycle.

  2. Egotism: excessive and objectionable reference to oneself in conversation or writing; conceit; boastfulness.

    Egomaniac: psychologically abnormal egotism.

    Donald Trump: See above.

  3. And then Karl said “Ok, now some more messages from our sponsors” and proceeded to wipe Teh Donald’s spooge off his face ….

    The only difference between the average person in the Republican base these days and the Donald? About a billion dollars.

    • I support the fact of evolution with one caveat in regard to humans:
      Excessive alcohol consumption leads to reproduction of the less desirable of the species because beer goggles make the opposite sex appear attractive.
      Trailer parks are the petri dishes of this theory.

  4. The only One on One with TrumpDuck that I’d be interested in watching is his comboverness vs. a pack of wild hyenas.

  5. Texas attorney general charged with fraud

    The latest on Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton, who has been charged with felony securities fraud (all times local):

    10:45 a.m.

    Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton has been booked at a Dallas-area jail on felony charges alleging that he misled investors before becoming the state’s top lawyer.

    Paxton arrived at the Collin County jail Monday to be processed on two counts of first-degree securities fraud and a lesser count of failing to register with state securities regulators.

    The 52-year-old Republican was fingerprinted and photographed before being released on bond.

    • The man who told county clerks they could ignore a federal law about same-sex marriages!
      Paxton now realizes what happens when usurping federal laws!

  6. Thom Hartmann just mentioned a Republican Candidates’ Forum that’s tonight on C-Span. It’s from New Hampshire, and starts at 6:30pm edt, then repeats at 9:30.

      • That’s the ‘Happy Hour’ debate on Thursday.

        Tonight’s event:

        2016 Republican Candidates “Voters First Forum”
        Jack Heath of WGIR-AM Radio in Manchester, New Hampshire, moderates a “Voters First Forum” with the 2016 Republican presidential candidates. All have been invited to this event sponsored by media outlets in New Hampshire, Iowa, and South Carolina.

        I haven’t been able to find out which candidates will show up.

    • AFAIC, the closest I’ll get to any one of those nonsensical jawboning events by that field of idiots will be to try not to read about it in the morning.

  7. I was going to put on my shirt and shorts, and go outside, but Lili is laying on them. I made the mistake of draping them across a cat bed neither cat has touched for weeks. She’ll lay on my clothes, AFTER I’ve worn them, if they’re laying on my bed. That’s why I draped them on the cat bed, thinking she wouldn’t get on them there. Kitty logic.

    • They have to show who rally is in charge, and it isn’t you!
      Sweet kitties love their human!

  8. Fair is fair. According to Gawker, this is Trump’s cellphone. Ask him how he feels about being boxed out from the Kochfest.

    • State attempts to cut off Medicaid funding for Planned Parenthood have been successfully challenged in court in the past.

      That’ll be the trial to watch, with the defendants having to justify their position with the discredited smear video, while the plaintiffs have precedent and facts on their side.

    • Each candidate gets one question, then the next gets a different question. No debating, no comparison and contrast between policies.

      • I shudder to think what the questions will be. I’m guessing they will go something like…

        “Since another Democrat president would kill us all, are you willing to strangle your opponent with your bare hands”?

        • No, they all want to strangle Hillary, but they’re still killing all the brown people in other countries so far.

    • You should have told us it was a former postal carrier of Bill Ayer’s parents!
      Now I can believe all that is written///

      …to bring 100 million Muslims to America and to spark nuclear war.

      Obama best get busy on the numbers.
      And why does Obama insist on diplomacy?

      • He’s trying to fool Amurkkka into thinking all is well. Where the whole thing falls off the edge is the concept of “thinking” in conservative Amurkkka.

  9. Alex Wagner loses her afternoon show and immediately subs for Chris Hayes.

  10. The nuts that want to divide California into six states – state of Jefferson is one of them.

    The irony: CalFire knocking down the conflagration in their ‘state’!
    (wonder if this will shake their faith in being able to sustain a state?)

Comments are closed.