The Watering Hole, Wednesday, August 12th, 2015: Chuck Should Listen to George (Bonus: Birds!)

I started this post (a few days ago) thinking that I would rebut Senator Chuck Schumer’s reasoning, as reported in this NY Times article by Jennifer Steinhauer and Jonathan Weisman, for his opposition to the Iran Nuclear Agreement.  But that would have taken too long and wouldn’t have been good for my mental and physical health.  Suffice it to say that Chuck’s ‘arguments’ against the deal are specious and unfounded, and the final quote in the article is, quite literally, nonsensical:  “To me, after 10 years, if Iran is the same nation as it is today, we will be worse off with this agreement than without it.”

Then I got distracted (once again) by President Washington’s Farewell Address, with his  warning against aligning the Nation with any particular nation(s) at the expense and enmity of any other nation(s), and at the expense of our country’s interests.  (If you’re interested, the pertinent discussion starts at “Observe good faith and justice towards all nations; cultivate peace and harmony with all.”)  I wanted to scold Schumer with these two sections in particular:

“Sympathy for the favorite nation, facilitating the illusion of an imaginary common interest in cases where no real common interest exists, and infusing into one the enmities of the other, betrays the former into a participation in the quarrels and wars of the latter without adequate inducement or justification.

~ and ~

“Excessive partiality for one foreign nation and excessive dislike of another cause those whom they actuate to see danger only on one side, and serve to veil and even second the arts of influence on the other. Real patriots who may resist the intrigues of the favorite are liable to become suspected and odious, while its tools and dupes usurp the applause and confidence of the people, to surrender their interests.

Then, for a bit of crazy, there were a couple of stories on RightWingWatch about Michele Bachman “predictions” and/or supposed validation of previous “predictions.” 

Finally, I ran across something to wash the bad taste out of your minds: a story about birds from DailyKos.

This is our daily open thread, so talk about ‘such and stuff’ (as my mum used to say.)

56 thoughts on “The Watering Hole, Wednesday, August 12th, 2015: Chuck Should Listen to George (Bonus: Birds!)

    • When I first heard what Jeb! said, all I could think is how much better of we’d all be if the elder George had practiced premature withdrawal.

  1. WorldNutDaily:

    God May Use Donald Trump To Usher In Second Coming Of Jesus

    Jeremiah Johnson:

    Some Christians appear to be absolutely infuriated at the thought or prophetic word that God is going to use Donald Trump as a Trumpet to expose darkness and bring truth because of His moral background and political views. Perhaps God not being limited, subjected, and dependent to who human beings think He should use for His glory reveals their own issues with God, not a prophetic word.

    I, like many of you, was shocked by the word I received regarding Donald Trump. Trust me when I say it was given with fear and trembling. Again, I am not called to prophesy what I think or what my opinion is. I simply deliver the word of the Lord and encourage the saints to test and judge what has been spoken.

    I will publicly repent to the body of Christ if what was prophesied does not come to pass.

    • Jeremiah wondered “How long shall there be lies in the heart of the prophets who prophesy lies, and who prophesy the deceit of their own heart ”
      Forever, apparently.

  2. Arrrg!!

    My laptop, the one I purchased from Peckerhead Pete, came with Windows 8 which I updated to Windows 8.1. Then I took advantage of Microsoft’s free Windows 10 upgrade. After the up grade I was unable to connect to the internet. I spent a day trying to resolve the problem but was unable to make either a wifi or cable connection. So I returned to 8.1 and was able to connect to the internet. Then I downloaded updates and ran all the troubleshooters in Windows and downloaded Windows 10 again. I was connected, but was getting security certificate errors on some websites, including the Zoo. So I returned to 8.1 but was still having certificate errors on some sites.

    I’ve saved all my files, about 50 gigs, on thumb drives and am currently awaiting the reset to factory settings. I’m also drinking Heineken which will perhaps lead to inebriation before trhe reset is finished. Meanwhile. do any Zoo Critters have any computer insight on my problems?❓

    • So far, Windows 10 seems to be a solution in search of a problem, so it creates its own.

    • I about ready to open my 4th Heineken and the reset is at 92%, I’m curious as to who will be finished 1st!

    • Three general rules for Windows.

      1. The really bad stuff tends to skip a generation.
      2. Always make sure you have a clean backup.
      3. Always wait a while after a new release to let others find the inevitable bugs.

      • Actually no. Peckerhead bought the thing and brought it to me to set it up. I had never seen Windows 8 nor used a touch pad. I suggested Pete take a course at the local Community College, which he did. The instructor was teaching Windows 7 and told Pete to come back next semester. He sold it to me instead.

  3. This does not sound good.

    Statement from Former U.S. President Jimmy Carter

    Recent liver surgery revealed that I have cancer that now is in other parts of my body. I will be rearranging my schedule as necessary so I can undergo treatment by physicians at Emory Healthcare. A more complete public statement will be made when facts are known, possibly next week.

    • A great, great man!
      Metastasis is not a good sign.
      Wonder if he’ll choose chemo a/o radiation therapy, or just palliative care.

  4. Someone who wants to be president just tweeted the phrase “Tell us in 3 emojis or less.”
    Sweet Jeebuz.

  5. Speaking of student loan debt…

    Why financial aid might make college more expensive

    College is expensive. Financial aid is supposed to help. But what if it doesn’t? What if the fact that students can get help from the federal government to pay for college just leads colleges to charge more?

    A recent paper from the Federal Reserve Bank of New York finds that for every extra dollar a college gets in Pell Grants, the school charges 40 cents more in tuition. For every extra dollar in subsidized student loans, tuition goes up 65 cents. The effects were much more pronounced at private colleges.

    The new research adds to a pile of sometimes conflicting evidence about how much effect financial aid has on college tuition. Over the past 20 years, studies have shown that increases in some types of aid correspond with some colleges increasing their prices. But there’s no consensus about what types of aid, or which colleges are most affected.

    So students who pay more of their own way, get charged a higher average, because the lower income students get help. No wonder the ‘Bennett Hypothesis’ appeals to the Charles Koch Foundation. If we gut student aid to the less fortunate, college will be cheaper for the other students whose parents likely vote conservative.

    Then there’s the conflict of the issue. The same people against college aid will argue in favor of vouchers for primary and secondary education, as though the same principle wouldn’t apply.

  6. Something went boom; Big Bada Boom!

    Catastrophic explosion in Tianjin, China: what we know

    On Wednesday, social media users in China posted videos and photos showing a massive explosion — or what appears to potentially be a quick series of explosions — in Tianjin, a port city in the country’s northeast. Within minutes, it became clear that this was a major incident:

  7. Yikes! I just ran into my flying buddy, Craig, and found out that he had a pacemaker installed last Friday. Typically, he didn’t tell anyone before the fact. Apparently, they had to hit him with the defibrillator a bunch of times while he was strapped down so he looks like he got the crap beat out of him. He’s basically one giant bruise from the waist up. I realize that the only alternative to getting old is dying young, and it’s too late for me to take option two, but sometimes i find myself wondering if getting one’s life extended through better medicine is all that great an idea.

    • I imagine Craig, once he’s over the pain, will be grateful they were able to insert the pacemaker.

    • That happened to my dad back in ’81. He conked, was defib’d a few times, then had a pacemaker installed. When he was out of the hospital and back to business as usual, he said to me, “I guess when my heart stopped I was technically dead.” He paused, then added, “If that’s all there is to dying, ain’t nothing to it.” A few days later, he died for real. Woke up in the morning, then *poof* — nothing to it, I’m sure. The rest of us didn’t see it that way, of course.

  8. Julian Assange Expected to Be Set Free Next Week as Rape Allegations from Sweden Expire

    The Times of London is reporting that Julian Assange is expected to be set free next week as three of his sexual assault claims are set to expire. The Wikileaks founder was never charged with any of the crimes, but prosecutors have had a warrant for his arrest for questioning — which many believed to be a precursor to formal charges.

    (snip)

    Julian Assange has long claimed his innocence, insisting that he would be willing to talk to Swedish officials so long as they promise not to hand him over to the U.S. government – a condition Sweden has rejected. U.S. officials have not-so-secretly been planning a prosecution against Mr. Assange for espionage among other crimes.

    So supposedly Assange can leave the Ecuadorean embassy and MI5 won’t nab him and extradite him immediately directly to the US? This I will have to see before I believe it.

  9. Oh, I forgot the big news! I am getting a contractor job starting Monday, so I won’t be around much while it’s daylight, unless I can finally get the I-Phone my ex says I’m supposed to get. I’m hoping this counts as a change of status so I can get an ACA policy without having to wait until January.

      • Thanks. I’m glad I’m going to the same shop I worked for 2000-2007, and 2011-2013, so it’s familiar. The big surprise was the RWNJ supervisor was no longer there. He left about a week ago.

      • They are more concerned about you hearing the cutter than watching. There is so much cutting fluid splashing on the part you will hear the edge breaking down before anything is visible. Generally, the cycle times give me plenty of time to lurk and occasionally comment.

  10. Straightening out an account, on-line:

    – “How do you pronounce your middle name?

    Me: “Rose”

    – Oh. Is it spelled “Reoese”?

    Me: No.
    – Is your first name K or C? Is there an ‘e’ after…

    Me: No ‘e’ in my first name.

    (apparently it was an ‘e’ letter day for whoever set up the account)

    (now I’m wondering if I’ll have two accounts)

Comments are closed.