Saturday Recipe Share – September 5, 2015

Tomato season is in full swing and tomato soup is one of my favorites.  I found a good recipe which of course I had to “doctor up” to suit my taste buds.  Here it is:

Tomato Soup with Garden Fresh Tomatoes

INGREDIENTS:

2 tablespoons of olive oil (for sauteing)

4 cups of chopped fresh tomatoes

1 onion chopped

4 garlic cloves chopped (let chopped cloves sit for 15 minutes before cooking)

2 cups chicken broth

Spices:  1 tbls. Cumin, 1 1/2 teas. Turmeric, 1 1/2 teas. Ginger, 1 teas. salt, Optional: sugar to taste, fresh basil, dash of hot sauce.

Roux:

2 tablespoons butter

2 tablespoons All-purpose flour (I use King Arthur flour)

DIRECTIONS:

  1.  In a 3 quart stock pot, heat the olive oil over medium heat.  Stir in the onions and saute until softened (about 5 minutes).  Place the lid on top of the pot and only remove to stir the onions.  Remove the lid from the pot and add the cumin, turmeric and ginger and stir for about 1 to 2 minutes.  Add the garlic and stir for another minute.  Add chicken broth and tomatoes.  With the pot covered, bring to a boil and gently boil for about 20 minutes to blend all of the flavors.  Remove from heat and either run mixture through a food mill into a large bowl or pan and discard any stuff left over in the food mill OR use an emulsion blender or heavy duty blender on the mixture.  I use the Blendtec as this will fully chop the tomato skins and seeds.
  2. In shallow pan or small pot, melt the butter over medium heat.  Stir in the flour to make a roux, cooking until the roux is a medium brown.  Gradually whisk in a bit of the tomato mixture, so that no lumps form, then add the roux to the soup which should be back in the stock pot.  Stir the mixture to incorporate the roux in with the soup.  Season with salt, sugar (if needed), fresh basil, and/or hot sauce.

I give this 5 Yums.

28 thoughts on “Saturday Recipe Share – September 5, 2015

  1. There’s no comparison between home-grown garden vegetables and store-bought!

    My wife uses the “square foot” method for gardening, and the food from that garden can’t be beat! Thanks for the recipe.

  2. Today’s open thread will be late. My car developed problems which delayed me getting this post ready sooner today. It may not be up until late this morning, possibly early this afternoon, but it will be up, and it will be worth the wait.🙂

    Thank you for your patience and understanding, and for your continued visits to The Zoo.

    • Is anyone checking with WordPress on why the interactive system is malfunctioning? The ‘reply alert’ never displays, and the ‘like’ doesn’t work. Something isn’t quite right.

        • I just logged in with IE, and it seems to work OK with that.

          I’m not set up to use IE on a regular basis, so they still need to fix whatever issue the site or WordPress has with Chrome.

          • It is a bit odd that Google owns Chrome (I think they still do) and that’s what is messed up after they ‘tweaked’ the Google logo.

  3. Not many good matchups in college football today, but Northwestern is ahead of Stanford at the half.

      • Yeah, too bad I missed it. Only I didn’t miss from where Temple tied the game and from there to the end. I told you I’d be checking on it in the music night post. See my commentary during the game on Wayne’s post. Y’all must have had one hell of a good time and congratulations!

  4. Comcast Experimenting With Data Caps On Home Internet Service

    This is what happens when you have a monopoly like Comcast does. You get to screw up NBC News television by making MSNBC a conservative wasteland in the image of Fox News, and you get to gouge your customers for going over the data cap in certain markets.

    Sounds like Comcast is planning to milk the internet cow now that cable TV is on the downslide. Sure glad I don’t have to mess with the buttcakes.

    • What patience? I got football on TV!

      Seriously, I admire your dedication to work this late on it.

      • Thanks, House. I started it this morning, went to get an oil change, found out my car was going to need a lot more work, and that totally messed me up, But I finished it because I also wanted to post it on my own blog, which I did. I hope people find it entertaining and/or enlightening.🙂

          • rear brakes were almost ground down to the metal, and the (whatshisname) serpentine belt (runs the alternator and other things, but it isn’t the timing belt) had cracks in it. The car is a 2004 Element. So it took longer then the routine oil change I went in to get.

            • Sounds like good preventative maintenance to catch those at an oil change. The belt was an easy inspection item, and checking the brakes is good practice as, if the car leaves without the repair, the shop noting it on the repair ticket limits their liability.

Comments are closed.