I’m Briseadh na Faire, and I’m running for President, Part V

I’m Briseadh na Faire, and I’m running for President. Here are a few of my positions on issues important to the American People today. Between now and November 2016, I will post additional policy and platform statements.

Today’s topic du jour: Expanding Hobby Lobby.

One view of the Hobby Lobby decision is that where a corporation’s deeply held religious beliefs conflict with abiding a law, the religious beliefs prevail. The law cannot force a corporation to abandon its deeply held religious beliefs.

Well, corporations are people. So the natural extension of the Hobby Lobby decision is to apply it to people-people, too. The law cannot force anyone to do what goes against his or her deeply held religious beliefs. So, if your employer requires you to do something that is abhorrent to your faith your faith prevails over your employer’s dictates.

That’s why Wiccan/Pagan clerks don’t have to issue marriage licenses – they believe in hand-fasting. And why Jewish food inspectors can refuse to certify truckloads of bacon for human consumption, because all pork products are unclean. And why an Amish clerk can refuse to issue a gun permit. And why a Scientologist can refuse to fill a prescription. And why an adulterous four-times married clerk can refuse to issue marriage licenses based on her deeply held religious belief in the sanctity of marriage.

The separation of church and state in the First Amendment guarantees everyone the right to discriminate based on their religion, and the government cannot pass a law forcing religious folks to stop discriminating based on their faith. This is a natural and just extension of the Hobby Lobby decision.

And I believe that this is the only way our government can be saved. By matching people’s religious beliefs with their government positions. For example, when I’m elected President, I will appoint a Quaker to be Secretary of Defense; a Jehovah’s Witness to be Secretary of State; a Scientologist to be the Surgeon General; a Jew to run the Food and Drug Administration; an Atheist to run the Treasury; a Fundamental Christian as Secretary of Education; and an Amish to be Secretary of Transportation. And I will let each one freely practice their deeply held religious beliefs in the performance (or non-performance, as the case may be) of their duties.

What could possibly go wrong?

So, come 2016, vote Briseadh na Faire for President. I’m the only candidate for President who knows what’s best for America; the only candidate who acknowledges up front that I will break each and every one of my campaign promises, and, when I do, you won’t be disappointed!

I’m Briseadh na Faire, and I approve this message.

[BriseadhNaFaireforPresidentisnotaffiliatedwithanyPolitcalActionCommitteenorhas receivedtheendorcementofTPZoonoranyotherindividualbusinessnonprofitorganizationorgod.]

OPEN THREAD

84 thoughts on “I’m Briseadh na Faire, and I’m running for President, Part V

  1. On Rachel Maddow last night after Trump’s speech, the chyron says:
    >>Breaking News<<
    Trump "Policy Speech" delivers no policies

    Who's even the least bit surprised about that? What makes that 'Breaking News'?

    • The “breaking news” there might just be the fact that finally one of the major news outlets told it like it is in re Trump. I’m disappointed that they didn’t use the words ego-maniacal asshole, but maybe next time.

      • I believe Mr. Jindal has used a reference similar, but not as colorful. Madman doesn’t do TrumpDuck justice, and is a slight to those with profound mental illness.

    • The only ‘breaking’ part is the destruction of the concept of ‘news’, being ‘information’ that has ‘yet to be disclosed’…TrumpDuck is just grifting, a skill he has perfected over the many years of grifting in the landgrab (see snatch) industry.

    • Satire? Me? That’s like accusing Stephen Colbert of being a satirist! I admit it’s hard to out-do the current crop of Republican candidates, but I do try….

      • It surely MUST be hard to out-do this current lineup. I’m reminded of something Lily Tomlin once said:

        “No matter how cynical you become, it’s never enough to keep up.”

  2. Sanders…Faire…You’re making this a tough ballot casting call BnF, perhaps a Sanders/Faire ticket…

  3. Only thing I got for the atheist in the Treasury is “in God we trust” ? Yes? is that it? Other than that having an atheist anywhere in the government is highly unlikely in an elected position in this country. http://www.dailykos.com/story/2015/08/31/1417131/-Conservative-Nashville-mayor-candidate-attacks-opponent-as-anti-Christian#

    And apart from the fact you will get reality-based policies from the atheist.

    How about a Hindu ascetic? https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Asceticism

  4. Career politician (he says he isn’t) Scott Walker debated David Duke way back in 1992, and video of that shiatstorm has just surfaced:

    http://talkingpointsmemo.com/dc/scott-walker-david-duke-1992-debate

    Tonight’s debate is Walker’s last shot at staying at the adult table. Look for him to try and shed the Pawlenty milquetoast routine, and among other things, during the tonight’s debate he’ll blab on after his alloted time is up.

  5. I just found out I like Ben Carson. Not any of his positions, but he is so soothingly calm and relaxed. Maybe he is just a welcome break from the screeching.

  6. I tuned in to the “Kiddie Table” debate for a few seconds — long enough to hear Jake Tapper ask Sen. Butters about increasing the minimum wage.

    Butters went on — very nasally of course — how his parents, who owned a restaurant … a bar …. a pool hall … would have had a hard time staying in business if they increased the minimum wage.

    SMH.

  7. I’ve been checking some of the quotes from the kiddie table. Have I recently mentioned just how much I hate right-wing freaks? At least there are a few funny bits.

    Childless, unmarried, 60 year old Ms. Lindsay says that we “need immigrants” because not enough good white folk have children after retirement age like Strom Thurman.

    Rantorum doesn’t think that Hispanic voters are “real Americans”.

    Booby Jindal praises the “careful” cops who interrogated a 14 year old for bringing a clock to school and then dragged him out in handcuffs. Hmmmm. If anyone involved thought there was a effing bomb would not the “careful” response have been evacuating the school and letting the bomb squad deal with the “suspicious device”?

    I am sure there will be much more but I think I’m going to drink beer and play with the kitty instead of wading through more of the crap.

    Cheers!

  8. Fer crissakes, Donald Trump sounds like your enraged right wing uncle at Thanksgiving dinner.

    Literally.

  9. “On Tuesday, an ABC News/Washington Post poll revealed the most significant post-Davis data point yet—and the results don’t look good for Davis and her admirers. An overwhelming 74 percent of respondents believed that when a conflict arises between religious beliefs and equal treatment under the law, equality should win out. Moreover, 63 percent of respondents said that Davis should be required to issue marriage licenses despite her sincerely held religious beliefs. (That tracks an earlier Rasmussen poll, which found that 66 percent of Americans think Davis should follow the law and issue licenses.)”

    Huckabible backed the wrong horse.

  10. If anyone is watching this travesty, you have a stronger constitution (*cough*) than I do. I’m out.

  11. Okay, that’s the last time I check in. Jeb! was looking reasonable after responding to that Trump jackass, and that’s a mighty sad state of affairs.

    • Was it Andy Borowitz who said that Trump was basically Joe the Plumber with a billion dollars? That’s the best part of being born rich: it’s easy to do a victory lap when someone else has already given you the race.

  12. I can’t imagine how anyone could actually compel themselves to attend to this cockroach vomitorium. I read a few of the comments at Climate Progress, for example, and I come unhinged (one of the reasons I deactivated my FB account, I can’t comment. Coming up on two weeks CLEAN!!)

  13. via Climate Progress:

    Climate Denier Candidate Opens Debate By Making Joke About California’s Drought

    Sen. Marco Rubio (R-FL) mentioned the drought. But instead of talking about its connection to climate change or its devastating impacts, Rubio attempted a joke.
    “I’m aware that California has a drought, so I made sure I brought my own water,” he said, holding up a full plastic bottle.
    No one appeared to laugh.

    Damn good thing I wasn’t listening/watching

  14. Jeb Bush to Donald Trump: “My brother kept us safe.”

    Well, I guess W gets a Mulligan, eh?

    • If we had a functional press/media, much less a “librul press/media”, those pictures would run side by side on the front page of every major newspaper and at the top of every newscast.

  15. I hadn’t the fortitude to watch the debate. I’ll just assume it was sad and disgusting.

  16. PBS NewsHour ‏@NewsHour 7m7 minutes ago
    #GOPDebate
    Trmp 16:19
    Bsh 12:04
    Frna 10:44
    Crsn 9:48
    Crz 8:35
    Ksch 8:06
    Rbio 7:51
    Chrste 7:33
    Huck 7:13
    Wlkr 6:38
    Paul 5:39
    ht @DomenicoNPR

  17. Omar Ghabra won Twitter with these photos, and this quip: “An Arab-looking man of Syrian descent in a garage w/his accomplice building what appears to be a bomb. Arrest them.”

    Arab-looking man of Syrian descent found in garage building what looks like a bomb

Comments are closed.