The Watering Hole, Friday November 20, 2015 – Music Night

Genre- bending…

 

 

35 thoughts on “The Watering Hole, Friday November 20, 2015 – Music Night

  1. I’ll see your Steve’n Seaguls “Thunderstruck” and raise you one “Ace of Spades” by Compressorhead.

    • That is fookin brilliant! I lost it when I saw the drummer’s four arms and the little guy under the cymbals!

  2. Don’t know if this a genre-bender, but I just bookmarked it last week for some reason.

  3. Oh yeah! Love that opener from Nonewhere – the harmony is so fun…..

    Ok my faves, I think you know for genre bending …… also big on the accordion ….Clyde Forsman and Those Darn Accordions do Hendrix.

  4. Not genre, but gender-bending …. I stretch to include as I just got my ticket…. Dec 5th at the Tractor in Ballard! Yeah baby! Zepperalla does the Levee

  5. Talking Heads did some nice covers that updated the original … not quite a genre bend from the soul….

  6. Another accordion …. these fellas were Steve n’Seagulls before there were any Seagulls…. in England the hill-billys are all from the West Country of England

  7. Covers are not really genre-bending, but 10,000 Maniacs covering Bruce while Unplugged still gives me goosebumps….

  8. Joe Jackson a very unheralded songwriter started genre-bending his own stuff after years of playing it – check out these three versions of “is she really…?”

    An acoustic version – hope the link works – its from the live 1980-86 album – there are three versions of this great song on the same double – Joe doesn’t apologise for it, but calls attention to his need to create and recreate instead.

    A more recent but full powered version

    “Er with a lone tambourine … he can’t sing, he has to do something”>

Comments are closed.