The Watering Hole, Saturday, December 19, 2015: Monkey Washing a Cat, Instead

I can’t write anything today. My oldest nephew and my late brother’s first child, Jimmy, who was born five days after my sixteenth birthday, suffered a very, very severe stroke a couple of days ago. My sister told me that because of severe weather at the time, they could not airlift him to a hospital, and so he had to be driven down there by ambulance. When they were finally able to operate, they found that a large clot was blocking the major artery going to his brain, and that his brain had been deprived of oxygen for far too long. As of now, he is on a ventilator and a feeding tube and it appears that he can only blink his eyes. He can’t move anything else. His mother and her other sons are grappling with the most difficult of decisions a family can make, and that is whether or not to discontinue life support and let Nature take its course.

I thank you in advance all for your kinds words and support, and for your good wishes for my nephew and his family. As with all open threads, feel free to discuss what you wish. I don’t think I’ll be around much this weekend.

I really can’t think about anything else right now, so here’s a video (made famous by David Letterman’s frequent use) of a monkey washing a cat.

This entry was posted in Open Thread and tagged by Wayne A. Schneider. Bookmark the permalink.

About Wayne A. Schneider

I'm a Liberal, Libertarian, Atheist Humanist. I believe that though the world is a dangerous place, it can be made better if we stop dividing ourselves by how we're different from each other, and reach out to each other through what we have in common. And that is that we are all human beings on this planet. Please remember that.

9 thoughts on “The Watering Hole, Saturday, December 19, 2015: Monkey Washing a Cat, Instead

  1. Speaking as one who knows well the effects of a MILD stroke on an OLD guy, I can’t imagine what your nephew is going through. I’m guessing his best chance will be a miracle of appropriate sort, so I hope for whichever miracle is needed. Meanwhile, a family together is a good thing. Best to everyone, and if ‘hope’ from strangers helps, mine is there.

  2. Oh my god, Wayne, I’m so sorry to read this news. You and Jane have had far too much grief over the last few years. I wish I could be there to hug you both so tight.

Comments are closed.