The Watering Hole, Saturday, January 30, 2016: Bruisin’ From A Cruz-in’

As a human being, you are capable of believing whatever you want to believe whether it has any connection to factual reality or not. For example, while I don’t think either is real, I would believe that The Matrix is real before I believe any crazy story about a mythical being creating the universe and everything in it. At least The Matrix makes some sense and explains better why I seem to encounter several examples of the same kind of thing on my way to work on any given day. Like that car that goes by with one headlight out. I might not see a car like that for several days or weeks, and then one day I’ll see three or four go by me, all on the same drive. Or a car who wants to go slower than I will pull out of an intersection ahead of me before turning off down a side road, but not before another pokey pulls out in front of him, for the obvious sole purpose of keeping me from getting where I want to go in my lifetime. I could more easily accept that these are subroutines being repeated in a computer program than I could that some omnipotent, omniscient Being is trying to send a message to me through bad drivers. (A more effective technique might be to leave a message in green lipstick on my bathroom mirror, knowing that my wife has no green lipstick nor any intention of ever wearing any. I’m more open-minded on the subject.) It makes zero sense to believe in Creationism. And in order for it to make any kind of sense at all, you have to attribute so many contradictory rationales to the Being responsible that it ends up making even less sense. Does God really care if I masturbate or not? Do you really think Jesus never masturbated as a young teenage male? After all, Jesus didn’t find his calling until the last few years of his life. So he wouldn’t have grown up thinking he was God’s personal offspring, or that his “special purpose” really had a special purpose. It just doesn’t make any logical sense. People tell me I say that because I lack Faith, and they’re right. I do lack Faith. Because I need to see evidence, backed by science and observation. It’s true that I will accept something as true just because Neil deGrasse Tyson or Bill Nye says it’s true, but that’s because I know they base their beliefs on evidence, backed by science and observation. And I also know that if evidence based on science and observation proves them wrong, that they’ll change their views. And hearing them explain why they now believe what they didn’t before, I’m more likely to change my views, too. Before you counter with that’s an Appeal to Authority argument, I’ll tell you why it isn’t. First, I’m not arguing any point in particular and telling you it’s true just because NdT says it’s true. Second, I wouldn’t say something is true just because he said it was, but for the reasons he said it was true, which I know derived from evidence based on science and observation (not the millennia-old speculations from scientifically illiterate people.) So I wouldn’t be making an argument that appeals to authority, I would be making one based on the same evidence that appealed to my authority.

But you can’t do that when you insist on accepting something on Faith alone because, by definition, you are accepting it without evidence based on science and observation. And Faith demands that when the evidence proves you wrong, you discard the evidence and continue to believe the now disproved thing. How can anybody live that like? How can you go through life believing things proven to be false, or follow the advice of a book proven to be self-contradictory and scientifically inaccurate in so many ways? As just one example, bats are not birds, no matter what any religious text tells you, even one followed by two major religions. How could such a text possibly be “the inerrant word of God” when it contains such a blatant error? If the error is entirely attributable to the flawed human who put the words to paper, then how can it be considered “inerrant”? And if it was transcribed exactly as God intended, then how could God not know bats are not birds? Something has to give in to logic and reason if it is going to be a valid argument.

In an interview earlier this week with Dana Loesch (a famous conservative who, by standard conservative reasoning, must fear me quite a lot because she actually blocked me on Twitter, and she would say that if I blocked her, it must have been because I feared her), Rafael Cruz, the foreign-born father of foreign-born US Senator Ted Cruz, actually said this when asked if it was “difficult to see people go at” his son

“It is, Dana, but at the same time, you know, if you are not making a difference, if you are not having an impact, nobody’s going to attack you,” he said. “Jesus said, ‘They persecuted me, they will persecute you.’ When you are having an impact on America, those who disagree with you are going to come out lashing at you with everything they’ve got. But you know what, we get encouraged for seeing that we are making a difference, Ted is making a difference, that truth sets people free. And he’s speaking the truth and those who don’t want to hear it are going to lash out.”

I’ll let the fine folks at PoliticusUSA, FactCheck and Politifact recall just a few of the many lies Ted has told, but I want to respond to a few of the inanities his dad said here. I’ll begin with “…if you are not making a difference, if you are not having an impact, nobody’s going to attack you.” First of all, Conservatives (especially the Christian kind) equate attacking a person’s position with attacking the person himself. So when they don’t like someone’s position, they see no problem with attacking the person himself. Being projectionists, it’s what they would do, so they assume it’s what everyone else is doing to them, even when it clearly isn’t. Second, people are attacked and even murdered all the time, and it has absolutely nothing whatsoever to do with that person’s impact on anyone else, other than they had the misfortune of being near their attacker at the wrong time. So it is simply, factually untrue that “nobody’s going to attack you” if you aren’t making a difference. This is just pure, delusional, Christian Persecution Complex thinking at work. Raffy then goes on to claim that he and his son “are making a difference, Ted is making a difference, that truth sets people free.” Now I can’t tell if this one is the result of Conservatives not knowing what words mean, not caring what facts are, or a combination of the two, but it’s not true for two reasons. One, nobody’s mind is being changed by the Los Cruz. Nobody is listening to either man for the first time and saying, “You know, he makes a lot of sense. I’m going to start following him.” No, the people listening to them have already made up their minds that what the two men go around saying is true, so they show up to listen for the reinforcement of their own set of beliefs. And, two, Ted isn’t telling the truth (as PoliticusUSA, FactCheck, and PolitiFact have been trying to tell us.) He lies constantly, so how can what he says set anyone free? “And he’s speaking the truth and those who don’t want to hear it are going to lash out.” He’s not speaking the truth, and we are not trying to “lash out” at him, we are pointing out that the things he says all the time are factually incorrect. We’re attacking the things he says, not him personally. Except for the fact that he continues to repeat false things, so we have to question his motives, sanity, intelligence, honesty and character along with them. If Ted would stop repeating lies, nobody would have to attack anything he says, and we certainly wouldn’t have to attack his character. Los Cruz can end the persecution they feel simply by admitting they’re both bearers of false witness. But that’s one Truth about themselves they’ll never face.

This is our daily open thread. Feel free to discuss logical reasoning, something Rafael Cruz might have said, or anything in between.

7 thoughts on “The Watering Hole, Saturday, January 30, 2016: Bruisin’ From A Cruz-in’

  1. Religious fervor has two facets: fear, and the money/power available to those who learn to milk the fear cow. Beyond that, zip zilch. No data, no proof, only made up stories and “faith,” i.e. the ability/desire to believe in holy malarkey. Interesting that the higher animals have no such burden — proof that mankind has “descended” and now has attained his long-sought goal, the one where his obvious inferiority reigns supreme. I wrote about that li’l human insufficiency a couple decades ago, my view on the matter in brief summation:

    Paradox of Humankind:
    Superior Inferiority

    Brash vanity ordains that Mankind be
    Superior to all other life on Earth,
    And curious source of this Mythology
    Derives from Bible’s unintended mirth.
    Thus bold is he who advocates the case
    Of Genesis errant, where metaphor,
    As whimsical devise, cannot replace
    Realities which each confirm the Core
    Of Life: that every living form appeals
    To Duty greater than itself alone.
    A single moment’s intellect reveals
    One Truth, as if inscribed in tempered stone:
    Each bird and beast, each flowered weed, each tree
    Expounds on Man’s Inferiority!

    Add the Cruz clan to the ‘proof of thesis’ part.😆

    • YOUR’RE GONNA BURN IN HELL FOR ETERNITY!!!
      Unless, of course, you send me a check for several thousand dollars, so I can absolve your blasphemous sins..heh.

      • Back in the fifties in a tiny town in S. MN, my dad and I walked over to the Post Office during a blizzard. Pop knew the Postmaster (George) who was working the window, and when we walked in, George said, “Vern, is it cold out there?” Pop answered, “No, it’s GODDAMN cold out there!” as George handed him his mail.

        Just then, the guy who ran the local weekly newspaper — a Christer — came around the corner from the PO box area and said, “Vern. Do you think you’ll get to heaven when you talk like that?” Pop looked him in the eye and said, “I dunno, Ben. Do you think you’re going to heaven?”

        Ben said, “Well, yes, of course, I worship God and . . . ”

        “Well then I don’t want to go,” pop said, loud enough for all to hear, as we walked back out into the blizzard.

        I still laugh when I recall that pretty typical reflection of my dad. He was always quick with the putdown, esp. with Christers who had earned it. I learned some stuff from him.🙂

  2. And Faith demands that when the evidence proves you wrong, you discard the evidence and continue to believe the now disproved thing. How can anybody live that like?
    Having Faith means that Gawd is right (per whatever version of buybull or clergy says) and everything else is not.
    It gives them comfort, knowing that they will have something to do after they die, and makes this life less miserable for them. It’s a simple way of rationalizing everything away, and just not giving a shit about reason and science.
    They need our pity, not our scorn. Except, of course when they are attempting to turn our nation into their distorted vision of The HandMaid’s Tale.

Comments are closed.