The Watering Hole, Saturday, June 4th, 2016: (R)s vs “Modern Technology”

Is there something about Republican politicians’ brains that makes them forget that modern-day recording technology exists? And when I say “modern-day recording technology”, I mean everything from plain video cameras to audio tape recordings to “smart” phones that record audio/video unobtrusively.

Over the last decade and more, Republican politicians and pundits have continually denied saying or doing certain things, when video and/or audio recording of their words or actions proves that they did.  How can they continue to deny, deny, deny, and often continue to deny even when confronted with the actual evidence?  Perhaps they are so against any kind of progress that they can’t even admit to the existence of even such ‘ancient’ technological breakthroughs as video cameras?  Psst…(R)s…they DO exist–have you ever seen a “movie”?

Sometimes the Republicans’ unfamiliarity and discomfort with technology can have humorous results – remember “it’s a series of tubes!”, and Strom Thurmond asking a hearing witness to “speak into the macheeeeene”?  And no one used video evidence directly contradicting someone’s lies better than Jon Stewart, whose “roll 212” meme was comedic gold, particularly in the infamous Jim Cramer interview.

These days, with The Donald and his Trumpets (or Trumpettes, if they’re female) lying then denying on a daily basis, it’s more important than ever to remind the liars of their lying lies. And, while I’m still not a Hillary Clinton devotee, I have to admire the fact that her campaign put together a handy reference guide in advance of her “foreign policy” speech the other day, providing the exact Trump quotes on which she based her comments in the speech. A few examples:

[Clinton] “He has said that he would order our military to carry out torture…”

TRUMP: “Don’t tell me it doesn’t work — torture works… Waterboarding is fine, but it’s not nearly tough enough, ok?”

and

[Clinton] “He says he doesn’t have to listen to our generals or ambassadors, because he has – quote – “a very good brain.”

TRUMP: “I’m speaking with myself, number one, because I have a very good brain and I’ve said a lot of things…my primary consultant is myself”

and

[Clinton] “He says he has foreign policy experience because he ran the Miss Universe pageant in Russia.”

TRUMP: “I know Russia well. I had a major event in Russia two or three years ago, Miss Universe contest, which was a big, big, incredible event.”

It would be nice if the “news media” and “journalists” would remember, and remind their audiences, that actual reality-based non-partisan proof exists that puts the lie to what any candidate for the U.S. Presidency claims, but particularly in the case of such a delusional arrogant professional liar like Trump.  It is vital to our nation’s future that Trump and his ilk be thwarted, and that their bigoted, bullying, ignorant “philosophy” (yes, I know, “philosophy” is too cerebral a word to use in this case, but…) be relegated back to the fringes of our culture where it belongs.

 

This is our daily Open Thread–what’s on your mind this weekend?

47 thoughts on “The Watering Hole, Saturday, June 4th, 2016: (R)s vs “Modern Technology”

  1. Well, at least I can ‘like’ posts and see replies to me with this new rig. Whatever WordPress did to screw up my old one must be compatible with Windows 10.

  2. Repubs have ‘tremendous’ and ‘beautiful’ brains. Memory. Perfect. Always. Remember how Obama brought on the Great Recession? Remember how he pulled out of Iraq and brought on ISIS in the process? Remember how he wrecked the economy and cost millions of jobs?

    Remember how hard it’s been for Bitch BcConnell and his R-cohorts to repair all that damage? How Obama stands in their way on everything? How he uses his imperial executive orders to thwart Repub goals of prosperity for everyone? Remember how he’s opened our borders for Mexicans and terrorists? Remember how he claimed to kill bin Laden but clearly was lying? He’s trying to destroy Amurkkka and ONLY THE REPUBLICANS can stop him! And remember, it was George W. Bush who saved Amurkkka from the horrific taxes and budget deficits that Clinton imposed! Remember?

    YAY GOP!!

    Remember?

    Neither do I.

    • Alas. A great many of them do create their own version of history and it has little to do with the cause and effect universe inhabited by sane people.More Louisiana GOoPers, for example, blame President Obama than blame Dumbyya for the botched response to Katrina. You can’t fix stupid and you can’t argue with a loony toon so our only hope is to outnumber them.

      http://www.nydailynews.com/news/politics/lousiana-republicans-blame-president-obama-hurricane-katrina-response-article-1.1433096

      • I’ll bet we could find a significant percentage of idiots ‘out there’ who would blame Obama for the Tet Offensive, too. And Iran Contra.

        I personally find it more than a little fascinating to ponder the vast numbers of uninformed and prejudiced stupid shits running around out there on the loose. Where the hell do they all come from? I’m beginning to think there may be some truth in that old theory that the earth is an intergalactic penal colony for the criminally insane. That would explain a lot. Even Republicans. Even Drumpf, for chrissake!

        • Another theory is that the human race came into being with a fixed amount of intelligence to share between them so the average IQ drops as the IQ points are shared between more and more people.

      • Yes, 29% blame Obama, 28% blame Bush, and 44% aren’t sure. Which means only 28% know that Bush was to blame for the fed’s poor response. “Not sure” is not the correct answer.

        • I’m willing to cut the 44% a little bit of slack on the assumption that some think Dumbyya didn’t deserve all the blame. The sheer magnitude of the disaster meant that an effective response, at least one that satisfied everyone, was probably impossible and there is blame to spread around outside of Dumbyya’s inner circle. For the 29% who blame Obama? Anyone who can’t even figure out how to read a calendar is beyond help.

    • I have to admit that I would cash the check for 13 cents, but I agree that Trump should never be allowed anywhere near DC.

  3. I still don’t know why he hasn’t blocked me yet, unless he muted me a long time ago.

    That’s the thing. If you block me, I’ll know as soon as I try to look at your tweets. If you just mute me, you won’t see my (snarky) tweets and I won’t know I’ve been muted.

  4. ‘God paid him back with Parkinson’s disease’: The death of Muhammad Ali brings out the trolls

    Here’s just one of many. Hard for me to come to grips with the clear and obvious FACT that such a large number of Amurkkkans have clearly elevated themselves from their obviously shallow roots all the way to the level of pond scum.

    F. Jeffery (F.J.)
    ‏@MrPolyatheist

    Stop praising Muhammad Ali – he was no hero. And don’t back down when liberals call you a racist or an Islamophobe for telling the truth.

  5. OK, since with Windows 10, alt-e-v no longer moves a file, what does?

  6. “You know why Trump puts his name on all his buildings? So the banks know which
    buildings to take back. Really a humble guy. Don’tcha think?”
    Some New Jersey comic who’s name I didn’t catch.

  7. Thanks to the French Open tennis final, y’all can not watch Meet the Press an hour earlier than usual today. I’ll have one less program on the DVR to replay later.

  8. Trump’s racist attack on the federal judge presiding over his Trump U lawsuit, according to Newt Gingrich, ‘is one of the worst mistakes he has made’.

    • Yale law school professor Dan Kahan’s research paper is called “Motivated Numeracy and Enlightened Self-Government,” but for me a better title is the headline on science writer Chris Mooney’s piece about it in Grist: “Science Confirms: Politics Wrecks Your Ability to Do Math.”

      I would say ‘Being a politician wrecks your ability to do math’.

      The ONLY way this country will ever dig itself out of debt is if the lowest paid people make a whole lot more money, and are then able to pay a lot more taxes. It’s clear that the wealthy are never going to pay their fair share, and that leaves the rest of us to foot the bill.

      • Me: Well shit. My eyes are green.
        Subject: No they’re not.
        Me: You’re color blind along with being a Republican. (And male)
        Simple.

    • I’ve not yet read the link, but making a guess in advance. The most depressing discovery about the brain, ever: NO REPUBLICAN HAS ONE!!

      OK, off to the link.

    • I’ve decided to use this story as a launching off point for tomorrow’s posts. It turns out this article originally appeared on Alternet in 2013.

      http://www.alternet.org/media/most-depressing-discovery-about-brain-ever

      I know the Raw Story re-print is new. I’m glad they republished it, but they should be more clear on the fact that it’s a 2-1/2 year old article.

      Thank you, crypto, for posting it. It explains a lot of things. A lot. But you’ll have to read tomorrow’s Watering hole (or my Brain when I post it right away) to see what I think about it.

      • I knew of the original publication, as a friend (a therapist who had some involvement in the research) told me about it. I pretty much forgot about it. Fast forward to earlier this year and voila! It appears on Rawstory. This time I saved it. 🤗

  9. Sorry, sorry, SOOOOOOOOO sorry I missed the Sunday Roast AGAIN. I had to make a soap delivery to the coast shop today. I know, I could have done the post last night, but my brain thought differently. :/

    To make up for it, here’s a video of a baby elephant playing in the ocean. Awww!

      • I still haven’t seen the pig on the beach, but I did see a lady walking with a parrot on her shoulder. Almost as good!

Comments are closed.