The Cheat Goes On – A Song Parody

Today’s open thread is going to be a song parody suggested to me by Alert Reader houseofroberts. (Thanks, house.) It’s a parody of Sonny and Cher’s “The Beat Goes On,” and it’s about (insert favorite insult here) Donald J. Trump.

The Cheat Goes On
Original words and music, “The Beat Goes On” by Sonny Bono, 1967
Additional lyrics by Wayne A. Schneider, 2016

The cheat goes on, the cheat goes on
Just keep sounding a victim to their brains
Donny, Donny, deke, Donny, Donny, dumb

Commodore was once the rage, uh-oh
Boastfully he turned a page, uh-oh
The branding crap’s the current thing, uh-oh
Tinyhander is their newborn king, uh-oh

And the cheat goes on, the cheat goes on
Just keep sounding a victim to their brains
Donny, Donny, deke, Donny, Donny, dumb

Democracy more’s the super sport, uh-oh
Listen, girls still make their marks, uh-oh
And troops will keep on marching off to war
Electorally they keep a dismal score

The cheat goes on, the cheat goes on
Just keep sounding a victim to their brains
Donny, Donny, deke, Donny, Donny, dumb

Koch boys sit in chairs and moan and piss
Trump keeps chasing blacks to get a kiss
The lies keep a-coming faster all the time
Some folks cry, “Hey, Donny, did you do a crime?”

And the cheat goes on, the cheat goes on
Just keep sounding a victim to their brains
Donny, Donny, deke, Donny, Donny, dumb

And the cheat goes on, and the cheat goes on
And the cheat goes on, and the cheat goes on

That’s it for our show. You’ve been a great audience. Don’t forget to tip the veal and try the waitresses. Talk about what you wish.

18 thoughts on “The Cheat Goes On – A Song Parody

    • I was very sad to read this news today. One could argue that his collaborations with Mel Brooks produced the greatest comedies in American cinema history.

      I didn’t know that he was suffering from Alzheimer’s. That’s a really shitty way for one of the greatest wits, ever, to go.

      Be at peace, Gene. You gave the gift of laughter to millions and it’s hard, if not impossible, to do better than that!

    • I have often thought that the world would be a better place if evolution had just stopped after cats; large and small. Sure. They are vicious predators with a complete absence of mercy but they are also graceful, intelligent, and have a fantastic sense of humor.

      BTW. My, much-beloved, “Banzai Kitty” has a new trick. If he decides that I would serve him best if I’m awake? He will jump up at the light switch and turn on my bedroom light. I’m not yet certain which part is more remarkable. Is it the part where he figured out how to turn the light on or the part where he knows that I will wake up if he turns on said light?

  1. If Steve Kornacki became the regular host of Hardball, I might just stop calling it Hairball.

      • I’m going to watch some kind of news in the evening, but I just can’t imagine it being CNN. I could watch BBC World News in a pinch I guess.
        Kornacki is so much less annoying than Tweety. I usually skip Tweety, but tonight I happened to see it was Kornacki because there was no Let Me Finish segment, so I backed up the DVR and let it play from the start of the hour. If I fall asleep before I get to Rachel, I’ll catch the replay before First Look in the morning.
        If MSNBC wants to clear out the liberals, they’re going to take a helluva hit in the ratings to do it.

  2. Sunday morning I picked up something that had tiny fire ants on it. By the time I realized their presence on my skin it was too late. I’m surprised that my body has delayed the response of tiny pimples appearing where bitten until tonight! The ones on the web between my fingers are the worse.

    I wonder if anyone has ever tried to isolate whatever it is in fire ant venom that causes swelling? Seems like there might be a market for such a product!

Comments are closed.