The Watering Hole, Saturday, October 22, 2016: Anniversary Edition Open Thread

Jane and I can’t believe it, but it was 28 years ago today, a rainy day much as we’re experiencing right now, that we got married in a restaurant near where we both grew up. The restaurant has since changed name and ownership, and I don’t think we’ve even eaten there since we got married. Maybe once.

So we’re gonna relax and take it easy today. I got a call from someone who wants to come by and give me the rest of the money to buy my old, broken down van. It’s a Honda Odyssey, and since we’re both huge fans of Stargate SG-1, we often referred to it as the X-301. (SG-1 fans will get that. The rest of you will turn your head sideways like a confused German Shepherd. That’s okay. I get that reaction a lot from people.) So if he does come through, I get to sit around doing nothing and get paid a couple of hundred dollars for it. Nice work avoidance if you can get it.

This will be our open thread for the day (or possibly the weekend.) Relax and enjoy yourselves, and don’t vote for any narcissistic orangutans promising to roll the clock back fifty or more years to when white men ruled everything in our society. It was not a good time, no matter what the old white men tell you. Unless you were one of them.

Tell us how you’re celebrating our anniversary. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Wayne A. Schneider. Bookmark the permalink.

About Wayne A. Schneider

I'm a Liberal, Libertarian, Atheist Humanist. I believe that though the world is a dangerous place, it can be made better if we stop dividing ourselves by how we're different from each other, and reach out to each other through what we have in common. And that is that we are all human beings on this planet. Please remember that.

27 thoughts on “The Watering Hole, Saturday, October 22, 2016: Anniversary Edition Open Thread

  1. The New York Daily News is going all out to stop Trump from becoming President.

    http://interactive.nydailynews.com/2016/10/daily-news-editorial-bury-trump-in-landslide/

    The rival New York Post, owned by Rupert Murdoch, backed Trump in the primaries. I wonder how they feel today. If they made another endorsement, I haven;t seen it yet. Not that I would buy that piece of crap paper. Even the cartoons they run are usually unfunny. (Mallard Fillmore?) I usually only bought it for my mother when there were no Daily Newses to buy. And I made sure she knew I wasn’t happy about it.

    http://nypost.com/2016/04/14/the-post-endorses-donald-trump/

    • Pretty cake! Ours was a two-tier devil’s food cake with white icing, with that draping like the above, and lilies of the valley around the sides. A woman who was a local town clerk, who I knew through working for that engineer, made it for us. I don’t have any photos of it on my computer, but was just as lovely as this one.

      Thank you, Lady Z! 🙂

    • Normally, yes, but the van can’t be driven. It won;t go into reverse. I was lucky to able to get it into my driveway when I drove it for the last time. The guy’s buying it just for the parts and having it towed away at his own expense. And considering that I made no effort to sell it whatsoever and just waited for someone to make me an offer, I think I came out ahead. 🙂

    • Thanks Z. Actually though, I really don’t look at it anymore as a ‘birthday’, but more as an anniversary. Makes this year, for example, the 53rd anniversary of my 21st b-day. Slows down the aging process a bit. Sort of. 😉

        • Wow. That was the day I made my first “adult” visit to Las Vegas (I was a student at ASU back then). Went there with college buddy ‘Jimbo’, and that night we stopped by the lounge in the Riviera to watch Lionel Hampton do his vibes thing. After a few minutes, three or four young ladies walked in and sat at the table next to ours. They were all lookers, but one of them was the most stunning blonde either of us had ever been that close to. Even Lionel Hampton noticed when they walked in, and as soon as he finished the piece he was performing, he grabbed his mic and said something like, “Ladies and gentlemen, I see we have an incredible guest here that just walked in.” He motioned to the stunning blonde next to us and said, “Mary Travers …” She stood up, smiled, and acknowledged the applause and cheers.

          Jimbo and I, meanwhile, damn near died. 😉

Comments are closed.