Federal “so-called” Judges. Can they be fired for ruling against Trump?

“The judicial power of the United States, shall be vested in one Supreme Court, and in such inferior courts as the Congress may from time to time ordain and establish. The judges, both of the supreme and inferior courts, shall hold their offices during good behaviour” (U.S. Constitution, Article III, Section 1.)

“Good behaviour” is undefined in the Constitution. So the bottom line is: Federal Judges can be impeached. Right now, Republicans control the House. They have the power to ramrod through impeachment of any judge that rules against Trump.

They don’t have enough votes in the Senate to convict and remove from office. But nothing’s to stop them from making political footballs out of federal judges, then blaming the Librul Democrats in the Senate for refusing to get rid of judges who, in their mine, rule against the Constitution – i.e. “bad behavior”. It also sends a message to the judiciary – rule in our favor or we’re going to haul you to Washington and make a public spectacle out of you, putting you in the worst light possible. These are the tactics of an authoritarian government to make the judiciary cow to the Commander in Chief.

And if I could think of this, you can bet your bottom dollar Steve Bannon has given this more than a little thought.

29 thoughts on “Federal “so-called” Judges. Can they be fired for ruling against Trump?

  1. Jane’s post has been unstuck. Personally I feel the sticking should only be done to Private threads, so that those who can see them can. If you don’t go through previous posts and unstick them when you post a new one, they’ll never get done. And if you stick a post and someone who doesn’t post often posts something, nobody will see it if it isn’t sticky. I used to have to unstick almost all previous posts when I did one. But that’s not my problem now, but I’m just offering a suggestion. Sorry, I didn’t realize I didn’t finish the sentence the way I wanted to when I first posted this comment.

  2. If Republicans start impeaching judges, whether or not they successfully remove them, nobody will want to be a federal judge. Our court systems will get clogged beyond repair, and Justice will be denied to millions.

    • And if that happens, ordinary Americans have a responsibility stated succinctly by President Obama, to stay engaged, and use their electoral power to remove those legislators who are destroying our democracy.
      If Americans fail in that job, we’re toast, and I’ll be taking my family to a country that still understands what it takes of a citizen to protect their political heritage.

  3. While awaiting execution, Dietrich Bonhoeffer recorded a number of his thoughts in a work we now know as Letters and Papers from Prison. One of these essays, entitled On Stupidity, records some of the problems which Bonhoeffer likely saw at work in Hitler’s rise to power:

    “Upon closer observation, it becomes apparent that every strong upsurge of power in the public sphere, be it of a political or a religious nature, infects a large part of humankind with stupidity. … The power of the one needs the stupidity of the other. The process at work here is not that particular human capacities, for instance, the intellect, suddenly atrophy or fail. Instead, it seems that under the overwhelming impact of rising power, humans are deprived of their inner independence and, more or less consciously, give up establishing an autonomous position toward the emerging circumstances. The fact that the stupid person is often stubborn must not blind us to the fact that he is not independent. In conversation with him, one virtually feels that one is dealing not at all with him as a person, but with slogans, catchwords, and the like that have taken possession of him. He is under a spell, blinded, misused, and abused in his very being. Having thus become a mindless tool, the stupid person will also be capable of any evil and at the same time incapable of seeing that it is evil. This is where the danger of diabolical misuse lurks, for it is this that can once and for all destroy human beings.”

    • The stupid person was never burdened with the institutional knowledge of how the government was really MEANT to help people, to work for the benefit of the most, and at times the most vulnerable. That makes it easier to accept the evil as normal and to aid and abet the evil.

    • I don’t think stupid is the right word here. People who once buy into a lie, in order to protect their ego from being wrong, adopt the lie as truth, in spite of all evidence to the contrary. Indeed, evidence to the contrary merely hardens their position, and their belief, that such evidence is false.

      This, then, is the effectiveness of ascribing “alternative facts” and labeling media accounts to the contrary as “false news”.

      People who are wrong, and know they are wrong, lash out, sometimes violently, at those who point out they are wrong.

  4. I have to apologize, I really wanted to post a new thread today, but I’m sick as a dog, nasty cold/coughing. A few people at work have been going through this, too – and only a couple of weeks ago we had a small epidemic of employees, including Wayne and I, out with some sort of flu. Not a good beginning to the year.

    The fucked-up weather didn’t help, either – we reached 50 degrees on Wednesday, then a foot of snow on Thursday. Possibly more in the next day or two.

    If there’s a Sunday Roast tomorrow, then I’ll wait ’til Tuesday to do a new thread.

    • Trump now saying he’ll cut costs on his wall by getting involved in the negotiations.
      With who?
      Hiring undocumented Mexicans to build it? Buying Mexican cement? At least he should stipulate that all building materials and labor should come from the good old make amurka grate folkses.

  5. Hi, guys. I’m just checking in. I’ve been spending a lot less time thinking about politics and the state of the union and a lot more time doing just about everything I can think of to avoid thinking about politics and the state of the union.

    I’ve been building and flying model airplanes, ice fishing (I caught the biggest large-mouth bass of my entire life about a month ago. Two pound test, 4 inch hole in the ice, 23inches, and almost 7 pounds!), open water fishing on a beautiful Saturday two weeks ago, tormenting my cat, walking enough to lose 17 pounds since October!!! and I have even decided to make a little income by making custom kitchen knives for some of my friends and neighbors and sharpening the knives of all my friends and neighbors. I also just might have the cleanest aquarium in the history of aquariums.

    There is something therapeutic and satisfying in making a dull knife sharp again and, if I need more satisfaction, I take a grinder to a big chunk of wood until I release its inner beauty and functionality. If that doesn’t work? I break out the varnish and vodka! I have informed my nearest, and dearest, friends that they should take me out and shoot me if I start drinking the varnish and “huffing” the vodka.

    I am, by no means, ready to make knife making a business. I lack start-up costs and I am only allowed to earn virtually nothing without jeopardizing my Social Security but I would like to tell a little more; just in case I go into full production and any of my Zoo friends ever need a nice kitchen knife. My “rates” for friends, local and virtual, are; cost plus shipping. Period! I really can’t afford to make a profit but I enjoy doing it.

    The biggest problem with most kitchen knives is the handle so that’s where I am focusing my efforts. I have found a supplier that offers a line of decent, unfinished, $10.00 chef knife blades and the one $25.00 blade I got is really, really, nice quality. (It’s every bit as good as any $75.00 knife I bought while I was running restaurants. I am sorely tempted to get one of their $75.00 blades just to see how good it really is!) Then, with a couple basic measurements using a toilet-paper roll as a model, I produce a handle from the wood of your choice that fits your hand and sharpen the blade to razor perfection. I have built 9 knives and none of them have been plunged into me, yet, and I have been sharpening blades for about 6 decades and haven’t had a complaint in more than 2 decades!

    I am not seeking to drum up business. When I get a few orders I can cut my shipping costs to the point where I can justify ordering an extra blade to fill out the weight limit and that’s where I could possibly offer a product on a mail-order deal. I just received five blades and I’ll take a bunch of pictures before I deliver them; just in case there’s any interest. And? If you have a really high quality knife that needs a new handle and/or a thorough sharpening; I could help you out if the shipping cost doesn’t make it counter-productive.

    I hope everyone else is well or, at the very least, coping. I keep repeating my Dad’s mantra. “Things are almost never as good as we hope or as bad as we fear.” I am, ever and always, hoping they aren’t as bad as we fear.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

