Daily Gnuz

And here’s the gnuz for the day, even some that isn’t worth printing, or typing, or exposing to oxygen…

http://thehill.com/homenews/senate/343379-senate-healthcare-bill-appears-headed-for-failure
h/t The Hill
Failure. Pretty well describes the entire ‘Republicans try to govern’ last six months of blah.

And

Jeff Sessions: I didn’t talk with Russians about the Trump campaign. New report: Yes, he did.
h/t Vox
Just another Trumpscumbag appointee, lying every time his lips move.

Finally,

‘You know that’s not true’: ABC host nails Sanders for lying minutes after she vows to ‘absolutely’ never lie
h/t Raw Story
Just another Trumpscumbag appointee, lying every time her lips move… (echo)

Open Thread, enjoy one byte at a thyme
RUCerious @ TPZoo

18 thoughts on “Daily Gnuz

  1. I have seen the enemy and he is us.
    We don’t need a war on drugs, Islam, liberals, saturated fats or a war against anyone.
    We are destroying ourselves.

    My neighbors decided their lawn and shrubs weren’t green enough so they hired a lawn care company to come out and spray and do whatever it is that these better living through chemicals people do.

    Two days after better living through Monsanto inc. visits them, my bee yard is dead.
    Not just dead, stinking rotting festering death type dead.

    I take real good care of my girls. I don’t use any pesticides on my property, the neighbors that just moved in decided it would be a good idea because they were told that’s how it’s done here.
    I am now an expert in colony collapse. That doesn’t mean anyone will listen.

    Spray spray spray. Nature must be controlled.

    Cancer, birth defects, loss of habitat. I think I can explain a lot fairly easily but, people won’t like the explanation.

    We’re also very good at exporting our misery for profit, we meddle in affairs best left alone.

    Our enemies, real or imagined just need to sit back and watch us implode from our own paranoid ignorance and inability to comprehend the way the world works.

    • I humbly doff my hat and bow in the general direction of your dead bees. What a travesty. Unbelievable how deeply we’ve sunk into the mire that graces the very bottom of our own rat hole.

      For the record, we in this little household do NOT use pesticides. Nor herbicides. When I find, inside, a spider, or a centipede, or a bee, I do my best to show them the door, all the while explaining why it’s not a good idea for them to come into a house. Unfortunately, two centipedes didn’t make it; one fell victim to Shadow the cat, the other saw me and darted down the kitchen sink’s drain hole into the garbage disposal. I doubt he got back out (although if he did, I’d happily show him the door).

      I am not nice to houseflies or mosquitos, though. My bad.

      I don’t know how many petitions I’ve signed against Monsanto, but it’s been more than just a few. And so far, to no avail — Monsanto still does what Monsanto wants to do in spite of the horrid consequences that await.

      Do you have any means of filing an official complaint? One that will be heard? One that has at least the promise of possibility to be acted upon? Will anyone there listen? Hopefully “they” are not Republicans.

      Best of luck in any case. Persist. It’s the only way, anymore.

    • I had a similar experience with my hives. Pesticides killed all 6 of my colonies, and my neighbor knew they were there. So much for my apiary…..never again.

  2. My condolences vinylspear. As stewards of the planet, we are the equivalent to a crew of demolitionists aboard a sinking vessel, jackhammering and drilling the hull to make sure we have enough holes to sink it.

    • Thanks. I appreciate it.
      We have several “canary in the coal mine” species but the corporations that sell the chemicals couldn’t care less.
      Profit, at any cost.
      That’s how I see it.

  3. Great article on Vox this afternoon…
    In 24 hours, the Senate will vote on a mystery health care bill

    And, the salient quote
    “Republican senators are set to vote on a bill to repeal the Affordable Care Act Tuesday. They just don’t know what’s in it.
    It’s hard to capture what an absurd and somewhat unbelievable situation this is. Health care is a massive part of the economy. The ACA provides coverage to tens of millions of Americans. The Senate plans to vote on a bill Tuesday affecting all of that. And at this moment — 24 hours or so before they vote — they have no idea what the bill contains. “

  4. Today Trump said we’ve suffered from Obamacare for 17 years.
    We don’t have to hear anymore from the Reich about Obama’s 57 states.

    • Obamacare is death, he stated.
      If they repeal it, I will not be able to retire, or quit working, as my employer sponsored health insurance covers me and my family for a reasonable price.
      As a lung cancer survivor, I most likely would have this ‘pre-existing condition’, in addition to my age, that would be used by the for profit insurance company to gouge me to the point where I would insure my wife and kids, and pray that if I get sick, I just die quickly.
      Death? You Freaking Idiot! My death panel was the ‘tumor board’ at the hospital that told me I should wait 90 days and come back for more tests. I’d be dead nearly a decade had I not demanded the operation that found the tumor to be adenocarcinoma, the cancer that kills 85% of the people who have it.
      You don’t know about death Mr. Trump.

      • Trump clearly doesn’t “know about death,” but there are piles of us out here who wish him godspeed in the learning process, and hope he gets his final lesson — plus his B.S. reward — real soon.

        PS: How long till you’re Medicare eligible?

        • Already there, as well as VA eligible…I was 58 at the time I was diagnosed with the tumor…I’m planning on working another 5 – 7 years, having a 14 year old daughter and 8 year old son…The health care system will keep me at my desk for at least that long…Single payer is the only chance I’ve realistically got to retire…
          PS. not really complaining about being an elder dad, loving that part…just want to make sure I save enough for the wife and kids to stay insured as I stop working…

          • Yes, now I get it, I see your dilemma. My youngest graduated from college when I was about the age you are today — and I thought I was an ‘old’ dad!

            So your insurance problem is not you, it’s keeping and maintaining good coverage for your family. I get it now. Sounds like you don’t mind working to maintain things, so that’s good. Hopefully your employer won’t request “early” retirement! Hope the ship keeps on sailing, and avoids storms in the process.

      • I’m working through a recruiter since March. I don’t have benefits until I’m a direct hiree. That’s a lot less likely without the ACA keeping all policies above a certain standard for all ages. Many older workers will get let go if the law is repealed because they will cost companies more to insure again.

  5. Boy Scouts of America distances itself from partisan politics after Trump speech

    The Boy Scouts of America issued a statement distancing itself from partisan politics after President Donald Trump used his speech at the National Scout Jamboree to criticize former President Barack Obama, his former campaign rival Hillary Clinton, fake news and pundits.

    “The Boy Scouts of America is wholly non-partisan and does not promote any one position, product, service, political candidate or philosophy,” the group said in a statement Monday night, according to news reports. “The invitation to visit the National Jamboree is a long-standing tradition and is in no way an endorsement of any political party or specific policies.”

    Trump broke with eight decades of tradition Monday when he criticized rivals and others at the National Jamboree, which gathers tens of thousands of young people from across the world to discuss values such as serving your country and exchanging ideas.

    During the speech, Trump attacked Obama, slammed “fake media” and trashed Clinton for not campaigning enough in Michigan. He also told a rambling story about a home builder, William Levitt, who “went personally bankrupt, and he was now much older. And I saw him at a cocktail party, and it was very sad because the hottest people in New York were at this party,” according to news reports.

    They can deny it all they want. Yesterday the BSA officially became the 21st century Hitler Youth, uniforms and all.

  6. Here it comes….Here it comes, here comes his nineteenth nervous breakdown..
    Co-founder of firm tied to Trump dossier agrees to speak to Senate panel h/t The Hill
    salient quote
    “Fusion GPS came to the committee’s attention after a dossier it had commissioned from a former British spy during the campaign was published. The dossier contains salacious allegations about Trump that haven’t been verified.”
    Let the popcorn be popped, the butter melted, let the show begin..Trump borking young Russian girls and more…

Leave a Reply

