Daily Gnuz

Daily Gnuz for a Wednesday on October

Daily Gnuz for

Flake stuns with fiery exit
H/T The Hill
Sick of the BS that passes for politics, another R Senator declines to participate. Perhaps the Democrats can pick up a seat, if the state of Arizona doesn’t rig the election…

And

Service members see white nationalism as a bigger threat than conflicts in Iraq and Syria
H/T Raw Story
And this Vietnam veteran agrees with them.

Finally,

2-Party System? Americans Might Be Ready For 8
H/T NPR
I’m ready to throw both the bought and paid for political parties under a fleet of busses and go with a more parliamentary system that FORCES politicos to form coalitions and negotiate.

Open Thread, take it or leave it or do something gross with it.

RUCerious @ TPZoo

16 thoughts on “Daily Gnuz

  1. In re Jeff Flake:

    I applaud the stance he’s taken and his critical analysis of Trump. For a conservative Republican, he done good. I was living in AZ when he first became visibly politically active. Never voted for him because of his politics, nor would I today, same reason. Still, he done good. He obviously has what most of the GOP tossed years ago: character and empathy.

    He was from a little town in the mountain foothills of E. AZ, called Snowflake. Snowflake was named after its two Mormon ‘founders’, Mr. Snow and Mr. Flake — Jeff’s familial linkage suddenly obvious. He was born in late 1962, just before I finished my junior year’s first semester at ASU in Tempe. I believe he graduated from BYU in Utah, also did his Mormon missionary stint someplace in Africa.

    Conclusion: I might never agree with any of his politics or religion, but in view of what he did yesterday, I salute him.

    • One of my biggest shocks of living in Northern Arizona was that it was hugely Mormon. Really really Mormon.
      I had to inform flight students that there are certain airports you do not fly to. Like Colorado City.

      • There were Mormon pockets all over AZ, from S and E to N and W, Mesa (Phx area) included. Yuma area (SW) didn’t have many, nor did Navajo/Hopi land (NE). But you’re right, Colo. City (Az, NOT Co!) was about the worst. It was a weird Mormon sect that had been excommunicated by the LDS, and it was largely ignored by Az law enforcement, in spite of the fact that old guys would often have a dozen “wives”, most of them teenage girls. They finally got cracked down upon, though.. Haven’t heard much about them since, what with all their “leaders” doing time.

        Not all Mormons are bad, though. In my forty-plus years in Az, I met at least two (out of a couple thousand, I’d guess) that were really fine folks.

    • Yep. Flake may say he’s resigning over the fractured republican party but it doesn’t stop him from giving us the middle finger one last time.
      I suspect he has a sweet banking job lined up and the party disarray is just a front.
      McCain? He’s always been a windsock and can be bought.

      • I basically agree. Republicans ALWAYS vote on the side of money and power, never for The People. But I still gotta give Flake credit for his ‘speech’ yesterday. What he said was true, and it’s driven lots of the news for 24 hours in a way that’s gotta be embarrassing for POS Trump. My only regret is that Flake was too polite, didn’t name names. Calling him Num Dong Don would have been the perfect fit.

          • AZ has plenty of Nazis, no argument. There are also, though, plenty of voters who will go from middle to mod. left. Mix those with the progressives from Flagstaff, Tempe, and Tucson, and improvement could indeed happen. I won’t hold my breath in anticipation, but it could happen.

            • I hope it does happen, frugal, but I won’t hold my breath. It, from here in the Midwest, looks like the real opposition to McCain and Flake is coming from the farther right. These two guys could do our country a great service by proclaiming that the GOP is FUBAR on their way out but, despite the fact that they are on the way out and have nothing to lose, they continue to polish the GOP turd.

            • Flake’s popularity is less than 40%, so his re-election was in doubt anyway. McCain probably won’t live till his term is up, what with his brain cancer. So both have opened their yaps a bit about Num Dong Don and have accurately started to define the problem — and Num Dong — in the process. Not enough, so far, but at least they’ve opened the door.

              I’m no longer familiar with any of AZ’s Progressives or Liberals. Rep. Gallego was on the news recently, and he sounded like a good possibility. Raul Grijalva is great, but getting up there in age. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see. One thing, when McCain dies, I believe the wingnut governor has something to do with determining successor. That ain’t good, but I assume the appointment is temporary till a special election, so maybe things can still work.

              One thing to hope for — that ALL of Az’s extensive Hispanic population votes, and votes in their best interests. I don’t know the details of how the anti-Arpaio vote worked in 2016, but work it did. I understand Bannon has been trying to get Arpaio to run for the Senate, and he just might. I don’t think he could win a statewide election, however.

              Vamos a’ver. We shall see.

          • Bruce Babbitt and Janet Napolitano were Dem govs, and they remain standouts when compared with any or all the GoOPer govs. I’m no longer familiar with most current candidates, but I’ve long thought — and still think — that AZ isn’t that far from swinging R to L.

Leave a Reply

