Labor Day Memories at the Zoo

(In order to start off a little thread about our Labor Memories, I offer this. And we at the Zoo would like to wish everyone a safe and memorable Labor Day)

My first job was as a weekend dishwasher in the Burton Center at Lynchburg College in 1980. I was 14 years old and I learned to punch a clock early in life. We worked in a dish room around an automated dishwashing system full of steam and mostly unpleasant people. I was one of several who weren’t college students earning their way to a better stature in life. I was a 14 year old townie in a Private College sea of the entitled.

JB Allen ran the dish room. He was an interesting man. A large, local man, probably 40 at the time with this slicked back black hair that was always greasy, JB had a beer gut and a pick-up truck with so many rust spots you could crawl thru some of them. He ran the dish room like an ex-soldier would; laid back most of the time, but always no nonsense when it came to showing up for work. He was well liked and genuinely respected by all the workers; student and townie alike. After my parents divorced and my father was gone,he became like a surrogate father figure to me, over the years that I worked there, during the summers of my high school days. And when I was accepted a JMU, I think, in some way, he was proudest of all my true mentors.

When I finally returned to Lynchburg, I stopped in to see old JB and we spoke and drank for hours.

When I came back 2 years later, I went to visit his grave site, and cried for an hour. For an old washed up redneck with a beer-gut and a piece of shit pick-up truck.

The work was hard and fast since the college kids ate in shifts. Thousands of them would stream into the Burton Centers, cafeteria all at once and leave in the same fashion. For hours on end we would sort the various plates and glasses and trays and food garbage, and tuck the sundry items into racks then put them on the belt.

Twelve work stations were required to clean the debris these kids left and JB would put us one rotating shifts to break up monotony of the jobs. He would take his shift right there with us standing side by side with us in “the Pit”.

“The Pit” is where the food was banged off the tray and into this troth and then flushed away to the grinder. It was loud and smelly and even though it was stainless steel, filth would grow up on it. The flies used to hang out in “The Pit” and when you left work after a 12 hour shift of Pit Work, you smelled like nothing I have ever smelled since (except New York after a summer shower would get close).

But we used to laugh and joke the whole time we were back there, finding ways to take our minds off the hours of sweet and stink. I think it is where I developed my sense of humor, really. We would fling horrible crap at one another, till JB got tired of it and barked at us to “quid it”.

It was the best worse job I ever had.

JB invited me to spend a Labor Day with him and his buddies one year. I think I was 16. I got hammered around an old boat out in the sticks of Amherst Va. On a little lake in no-where America, I learned what Labor Day is all about.

It’s about beer and stories and not taking yourself or your job seriously. It’s about getting a sunburn with a bunch of people who should never take off their shirts. It’s about spending a few of the hard earned dollars with people that you would gladly give them to just to show them you would. It’s about family and it’s about friends and it’s about remembering that you aren’t the sum total of the things in your possession or the time you spend “punching in” or “punching out”. But rather what you do in between.

JB Allen worked hard and long and at his funeral, even his children stayed away. But he will always live here, on Labor Day, with me. I drink a cheap beer, and try to remember one of his tired jokes, and thank my lucky stars for my time in the Pit.

31 thoughts on “Labor Day Memories at the Zoo

  1. This is a lovely piece. And these are the jobs we hear Americans “won’t” do any more. I don’t believe that is true but that nobody will pay Americans an extra dollar when they can pay less to an illegal they will complain about later. And the sad part is these first, challenging jobs (mine was nurse’s aide) stay with us a lifetime in ways that teach us humility and that many jobs are more difficult than outsiders realize.

  2. Thanks for sharing that story Willy. It made me remember some of my early jobs. They were pretty awful but there were good things too – mostly the people. They were things I hadn’t thought about in a long time. Thanks for triggering those memories.
    Wish I could write like that..

  3. Talk about alcohol on the job:

    I worked one season at the Munich Oktoberfest. I took pics of drunks, put them into little frames with a keyring attached and tried to sell the lot to the respective drunk.

    This went quite well until what they call Mason’s Monday. All the construction companies are renting tables then and there are like 10 000 very drunk, very, very drunk machos in the tent. They had no intention of spending money on anything else but beer (not even food, and surely not nice pictures in frames with a keyring). When the first fly was unzipped and the stench of musk overwhelming, I called it quits, started drinking with some of the more civilised guests and waited for my man to pick me up.

    This job was not liver-friendly at the best of days, but forget about Mason’s Monday.

  4. willy, great story.

    Ol’ JB reminds me of the Chef d’ Cuisine in the first restaurant I worked in. I was about the same age as you when I started (14, I lied about my age. It was before the I-9 forms came out and you had to prove your age), and I had applied just to be a dishwasher.

    The Chefs name was Joe Newberry. He was a Korean War era Navy vet and had to be all of 60 when I first met him. Tall and lanky and just had the best sense of humor ever. I remember our initial interview. After talking to the restaurant manager, he introduced me to Joe. Joe grabs us both a cup of the darkest, thickest black coffee I have ever seen to this day. He sat across the table and with a stern look in his eye; he said “I have one question for you Bob. (I have never gone by the name Bob in my life) How fast can you beat your meat?”

    With out skipping a beat, I look back and said “It depends on which hand I use.”

    He looked over to Tom, the manager and says “I think I found my new sous-chef.”

    Mind you I was 14 and had zero experience in restaurants. I could barely fry an egg and this guy wanted me to help run his kitchen! But over the Next 3 years Joe taught me so many things, not just about kitchens, but about life.

    I think that is why I still, to this day, have such a passion about cooking.

  5. The food business is risky. When I met my husband I was tending bar at a Mexican restaurant but he says he found me swimming in a bottle of tequila. Needless to say there were days I could be quite cranky and everybody but me spoke Spanish. The only time I ever knew what they were saying is when they were swearing at me, I don’t know what they said, but the same words would come out whenever they were really pissed at me. They were all guys but each of them acted like my mother, looking out for me when the bar got loud and cooking for me like each meal was my last.

  6. the restaurant biz was MY first job also… as a waitress… at a holiday inn… i lasted one day…

    we had to do the huge tray balancing act… i didn’t drop the thing but it was so intimidating, and i was so shy and scared… i just couldn’t go back…

    to this day, i have a HUGE admiration of wait staff and i appreciate what it takes to be a good waiter…
    i was awful… i did the service a big favor…
    heh…

  7. to this day, i have a HUGE admiration of wait staff and i appreciate what it takes to be a good waiter…
    i was awful… i did the service a big favor…
    heh… – mkaty

    That’s why I had to tend bar, I could never carry one of those trays or even more than two plates at a time.

  8. My first ‘real’ job was when I was 13 in California. It was packing peaches out in a field in 95 – 100 degree (plus) heat 7 days a week from 5:30 am till 5-6:00 pm. We had to stack boxes on the pallet after we packed them too. We had a half hour lunch. By the end of summer I had made $500. I also had some pretty big muscles in my arms..
    It was a gross job but it was fun finally making some money. I think now it would be illegal for a 13 year old to work like that.

  9. Zookeeper was much better — I saw the poo coming at me then….I can respect someone who flings poo at my face, rather than at my back. 🙂

  10. In truth, the worst job I ever had was doing “market research” over the telephone. When they hired me, they told me they did a lot of political polling, and I thought that might be bearable. I never saw a political poll the few months I worked there.

    I felt like shit making the calls I have always hated to get myself.

    I’ve also in the past worked for wages that I considered dismal for some really heartless employers, and that sucks.

    OTOH, I have had some really great jobs. I worked one summer co-managing a youth hostel in San Luis Obispo. I have built Fender guitar amplifiers. I have worked in a couple of great record stores. All of these were great experiences I wouldn’t trade for the world. My current employers are the best as well.

    I bore easily and have a difficult time sticking with a job long term. But I am grateful for all the experiences I have had.

  11. Other than delivering newspapers, my first “real” job was the summer I was 16 and worked in the kitchen at a Methodist youth camp in the Catskills (the Jewish Alps). I was a dishwasher, except for Thursday nights when I was “third cook”. That summer I started smoking and got to third base for the first time (and the last, for a long time after). Thursday night was also club night. One of the cooks was a local boy and knew everyone and everywhere. The drinking age was 18, I looked 12, and I drank rye & ginger at the club in Monticello. Most of the acts we saw were second tier, groups like the Dixie Cups (big hit that year was “Iko, Iko”). But one night, the MC mentioned that we had a celebrity in the audience, and called Little Richard up on stage for a couple of songs. What I remember most clearly about him was that he was wearing blue jeans and an old Army jacket, no makeup, no flash; he didn’t need any of the glitz to rock, though.

  12. Zooey, the worst job I had was right before my daughter was born. I was a closer for a title company where attorneys/members were supposed to do much of the title work. The good attorneys were awesome, did their work and everything went smoothly. The bad attorneys didn’t do the work they were supposed to, spent the whole closing telling their clients how great they were as attorneys and blaming me for everything that wasn’t done and went wrong. Paid lots of money but was definitely not worth it.

  13. Eggy, I can relate. I’m 54 years old and don’t know what I want to do when I grow up. That’s why I can’t write my bio, can’t make a decisions.

  14. worst job: corn detassling…

    oh. my. gawd.

    it was all the rage, for good bucks and good friends… but i should have thought it through…
    i have major hey fever/allergies… whoddu thunk that pulling down pollen laden tassles from 8′ heights would’ve had any affect??? … not me!

    another 1 day job… i was barely breathing by lunch time, let alone seeing through my swollen shut eyes… another girl had a seizure… now THAT job is a bitch! … they’re still at it… only the hardiest!…

    a TP regular mentioned one of his kids doing it…
    i forget which…

    my most fun job: assembly and boxing of Discwasher products, in columbia missouri… ever heard of a discwasher? … a special pad on a walnut handle used to clean records… wonder what ever happened to that outfit… the original owner got very rich off his idea and inventions… he was a major music aficionado… we had the best music system piped in… i got fired… having too much fun… how can you not dance to leo sayre’s “you make me feel like dancin'”??? … that was the excuse – but mostly the mormon v.pres didn’t like me ’cause his lesbian sister had a crush on me…
    poor barb… i know all about unrequited love…

    as to the lack of troolls here – thanks!
    i do believe if you want some of that, the ‘hot air’ thread at TP would suffice… i couldn’t get past the 10s…

  15. Great comment, katy.

    I am familiar with Discwasher, having worked in record stores for a good percentage of my life.

    But I thought they had more products than just one. I’m pretty sure that’s the name brand of a line of products we sold.

  16. correct gregg…
    discwasher expanded lots after i left… but it started with the cleaner and solution…

    we were in a basement of an old building close to campus, then moved to an empty furniture store… THAT was big time… i have no idea if they are even made anymore, but given that many people still have their vinyl records i would assume they are… i was there in 76-77… good times…

Leave a comment