Sunday Roast: Rebooting the American Dream

Truthout is publishing one chapter per week of Thom Hartmann’s new book, Rebooting the American Dream: 11 Ways to Rebuild Our Country.  This week’s post is an introduction, and the next twelve weeks will consist of one chapter of the book.

When Washington became president in 1789, most of America’s personal and

industrial products of any significance were manufactured in England or in its colonies. Washington asked his first Treasury secretary, Alexander Hamilton, what could be done about that, and Hamilton came up with an 11-point plan to foster American manufacturing, which he presented to Congress in 1791. By 1793 most of its points had either been made into law by Congress or formulated into policy by either President Washington or the various states, which put the country on a path of developing its industrial base and generating the largest source of federal revenue for more than a hundred years.

We need a modern day do-over of Hamilton’s 11-point plan that made America great, and in his book Thom Hartmann is offering up his own plan to do exactly that.

These are the chapter we can look forward to over the next weeks:

Chapter 1, “Bring My Job Home!” covers how economies work and why we need to heed Alexander Hamilton’s advice.

Chapter 2, “Roll Back the Reagan Tax Cuts,” points out how when top income-tax rates on millionaires and billionaires are above 50 percent, not only does the gap between the very rich and the working poor shrink but the nation’s economy stabilizes and grows.

Chapter 3, “Stop Them from Eating My Town,” covers the ground of monopoly- and crony-capitalism, an economic system born and bred when Reagan stopped enforcing the Sherman Antitrust Act of 1890.

Chapter 4, “An Informed and Educated Electorate,” begins by showing how badly our news media has deteriorated, how it only caters to what people want and not to what they need, and how important it is that we take our media back from the profit-hungry corporations that have abandoned the public-service mission of media.

Chapter 5, “Medicare ‘Part E’—for Everybody,” points out how a nation that liberates its citizens from worrying about getting proper medical care is a nation of entrepreneurs, innovators, and stress-free families.

Chapter 6, “Make Members of Congress Wear NASCAR Patches,” tackles the problem of our private money–fueled electoral system and all the havoc it has wreaked.

Chapter 7, “Cool Our Fever,” shows the incredible problems that arise from our own addiction to oil, especially in transportation, and it calls out the corporations and the billionaires who are making fortunes by pumping carbon into our atmosphere, putting all life on earth at risk—including us.

Chapter 8, “They Will Steal It!” is based on one of the greatest foreign policy insights I’ve ever gotten, shared with me by activist and comedian Dick Gregory at around 3:00 A.M. as we were well into our third glass of wine and about five miles above the Atlantic Ocean on our way to Uganda.

Chapter 9, “Put Lou Dobbs out to Pasture,” addresses the problem of what’s popularly referred to as “illegal immigration,” when, in reality, it is a problem of economics and illegal hiring by American companies.

Chapter 10, “Wal-Mart Is Not a Person,” tells the story of how back in the 1880s corporations—then the railroad corporations, the giants of the Robber Baron Era—turned to the U.S. Supreme Court to give them human rights under the Constitution.

Chapter 11, “In the Shadow of the Dragon,” tells the story of a visit to the Mondragon Corporation headquarters in the town of the same name in the Basque region of Spain in late 2009.

The conclusion, “Tag, You’re It!” is about tried-and-true methods—most that we’ve used before in this country and all that we’ve at least flirted with—that can bring back a strong middle class and restore America to stability and prosperity without endangering future generations.

It’s up to us, people.  Sure, it’s going to be tough, especially in the face of such powerful corporations and monopolies.  But hey, we Americans fought a war for independence against the greatest military might in the world — the British.  This was a war we shouldn’t have been able to win under any circumstances, but the British underestimated us and we won that war.  We can do it again!  Maybe I’m a Pollyanna, pie-in-the-sky nutter, but I’m not ready to give up yet.  It sure as hell won’t be easy, but things worth doing are rarely easy.  We already know Corporate America underestimates us — let’s not underestimate ourselves!!  If we don’t try, we will certainly fail.

Check the Sunday Roast for the next twelve weeks, we’ll be posting links and commentary on each chapter of Thom’s book.

This is our daily open thread — discuss!!

40 thoughts on “Sunday Roast: Rebooting the American Dream

  1. Excellent post, Zooey. Will we get out of this mess? Without a commitment from the younger generations to make change happen, I don’t feel confident that we will change courses. And, Democrats and the President need to stand for something other than “compromise”.

    Just finished watching the story of Huey Long. Yes, he was corrupt and still people loved him because he stood for something. When Huey made a promise, he delivered it.

  2. Washington couldn’t find a suit made in America because in the years prior to the American Revolution, the British East India Company (whose tea was thrown into Boston Harbor by outraged colonists after the Tea Act of 1773 gave the world’s largest transnational corporation a giant tax break) controlled the manufacture and the transportation of a whole range of goods, including fine clothing. Cotton and wool could be grown and sheared in the colonies, but it had to be sent to England to be turned into clothes.

    So what exactly are the tea bag wearers protesting? I’m confused. They were complaining about taxes but I haven’t heard them complain about off shoring American jobs.

  3. Apologies for the off-topic and semi-self-promotion, but there’s a group I volunteer for here in Prescott that works at helping animals. Lots of S/N assistance, plenty of fostering (I’m picking up a foster cat myself this afternoon), adoption events, help with food and medical for low-income folks, some TNR. Anyway we are having a fundraising auction online right now. Some of the stuff is interesting, several genuinely collectible pieces (a rare imprint of Epicurus I’d love to have, and I can barely stand bringing an actual book into the house since I got my Kindle). Some of the stuff is a tad “bric-a-brac” for my tastes, but others might find just the collectible they’ve been wanting.

    Anyway, the link is here, and the money goes to a good cause. (There are no middle-men here, so it is all us.)

    http://www.biddingforgood.com/auction/AuctionHome.action?vhost=uafauction+

  4. By the bye, per Cats’ comment about Washington’s suit: This was the explicit mercantilist philosophical basis of the colonial and imperial agenda. Prior to independence in the 1940’s, it was still illegal for Indians to weave their own cotton into garments. It is also essentially the reason why the IMF and Worldbank refuse to permit 3rd world countries under their thumbs to enact any protections for native industries. In the name of “free trade” they require that these countries remain enslaved to transnational corporations and industrial superpowers.

  5. Back from sunny South Dakota after a week of fun and games. Now all I have to do is play ketchup on a week of news and such. I hope things have gone well for all.

  6. Gary, the old “free” just remit $13.95 for shipping and handling. Obviously it isn’t ‘free’.
    There is no ‘free trade’

    ——-

    I’ve bookmarked the UAF site – for donation purpose- as I don’t need/nor do I have any room for anything.

    Good Luck with your bid on the “Epicurus”.

    I’ll die with some books. Before moving went through my bookcases and boxes donating those that I could find on-line or at the library.
    There are books I’ll never part with – out of print and not likely to be re-printed in my life time “(nor ever find them on-line).

  7. Hooda, your presence has been missed – welcome home!
    Do tell all – or most that’s fit for publication – about your fun and games in ‘sunny S.Dak.

  8. Thanx, ebb. It was so exciting trying to get a ridiculous conveyor system, built on the cheap, to play nicely with the other systems that haven’t been finished yet by way of a system controller that also hasn’t been finished yet.

    About the only real ‘fun’ I had was finding a place in Rapid City named Philly Teds. Best Philly cheese steak I’ve had since the last time I was in Philadelphia. Oh, and I got to drive through a nice snowstorm in SW Minnesota yesterday on the way home.

    And some ideas for a few rants. The first is up on my site and available for use here.

  9. Hooda, You must have driven through zxbe’s area, this from yesterday’s watering hole:

    When the power came back on around 4:30, I heard a very loud bang from inside the house, and the distinct odor of melting electrical parts.

    Took a while to isolate it, but a surge protector blew out completely. Burn marks around one of the plugs and the backside and even the power cord. A pretty good scorch mark on the carpet too. The only thing that had been plugged into that strip as a table lamp, and it had actually been off.

    In checking my other strips, I see the warning lites show that most of them tripped, so I’ll be needing to replace those.

    Snow is a four letter word ;>

  10. ebb, I believe zxbe lives north of where I was. I crossed MN on I90 and ran into snow for about the western half of the state. Zxbe is further north IIRC.

  11. One of the things I did in my off time out in SD was watch some TV. Not something I do at home. I flipped the TV on and it was on TV Land and they were showing an old episode of Bonanza. I almost changed the channel until I realized it was about a local race for mayor in Virginia City and a Chinese/American who got accused of murder.

    I seldom watched Bonanza as a kid but the whole theme of the episode caught my attention. I have a rant coming up on it but part of it is just how surprised I was.

  12. Ya gots to love little kids. The grandkids sat down to a chicken soup supper and they asked, ‘Grandpa, why are the potatoes orange?’

    I told them that potatoes now come in several colors like yellow and purple and orange. Its a miracle of science. So far they love them. Eventually, I will tell them they were sweet taters.

    • Whatever works, right?

      I have a friend who makes food for her kids, put it down in front of them, and says, “You’re not going to like it.” Then she’s surprised when they won’t touch it. 🙄

  13. My mother had a hand bell she rang to call the 7 kids home for dinner. When we showed up all of our mouths were watering, just like Pavlov’s dogs.

    • Our neighbor used to play a tune on the trumpet to call her kids home for dinner. We ran home at the same time, which ended up training my mom to have dinner ready at the sound of the trumpet. 😀

  14. Yeah, my grandson doesn’t like mushrooms. I told him they were frog scales. Then it became a contest between him and his sister as to who found the most.

  15. I should have mentioned – didn’t preview that last post.

    I was the second child but first in my gender.

    There were five boys and five girls.

  16. Frog scales – I like that – when do you suppose they’ll figure out frogs are…scaleless.

    Speaking of frogs – The Mark Twain Autobiography will be release tomorrow (15th November).

  17. I am the second of the seven but I am the number one son, ah so. I was the pick of the litter, smartest of the bunch and the best looking by far.

    I’m the only college graduate, most intelligent, most talented and funniest of the group.

    Oh, and my shit doesn’t stink either!

    In spite of all that my cat still loves me.

  18. There was a Calvin and Hobbes cartoon in which the mother is making dinner, stuffed bell peppers. But Calvin is already convinced he doesn’t like them, so mom says they are stewed monkey brains.

    At this point, Calvin is ravenous. Trouble is, when they sit down to dinner, the husband is totally freaked out about stewed monkey brains (“I thought we were having stuffed bell peppers!!”) and won’t touch it.

    *facepalm*

  19. Apropos to nothing, other than this is an open thread.

    Anyone else notice the fake ‘dr’/motor mouth attempted to rile by again using uc@davis?!

    He must be so damn frustrated – his posts go down so quickly he can’t even argue with himself.
    I kind of miss those good ol’ days – well, not really!
    It’s quit amusing to see him attempt getting traction on any thread – it just doesn’t happen!

    Karma – karma – karma –

Leave a comment